Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jamestown Elementary School 4

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
My son attended K here and will start 1st grade soon. Overall I think this school is very good. His teachers have been great and caring. Living in the area has its benefits as they've taken several trips into DC to visit monuments and museums. He's told me on several occasions that "I love going to school!" and I don't doubt it. The things that I'm not overly enthused about is all the smart board and tech time they have, only because he's already so exposed to that at home as many kids are now a days. They do use it for education and learning and really not that much different than the old transparencies that I grew up with. We did have an incident with a child earlier in the year who was a little too aggressive and also some who were not the best influence on him but that I also assume is something everyone needs to learn to deal with through the course of their educational lives. It's been a positive experience and we're hopeful that 1st grade will match our expectations.

Jamestown Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
Biting in the classroom - what kind of compassion is that? Bullying in the lunchroom, classes and playground - doesn't sound nurturing to me.


Jamestown Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
The classes are way too big with special need kids who need more attention so the teachers are seriously class managers.

Jamestown Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
When my daughter was in first grade, she got a lot of homework. At that age, the kids should be learning socially. Instead the teachers just prepare them for accessments.

Jamestown Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
When a classmate bites another classmate - there's an issue. The teacher just told the boy to bite food and not peers. Obviously this boy needs a bit more help.


Jamestown Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
The principal is awful - she fell asleep at one of my friends iep meeting. We pulled out daughter out due to bullying. One classmate bite my daughter - clearly this boy needs to be in mipa. We pulled our daughter out and she's so much happier, however the private school was concerned about her academic standing. The teachers to focus on the SOLs.

Jamestown Elementary School 1

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
Bullying happens a lot here. The staff says that they are on top of things but when your kid comes home crying every day, telling the teacher and going to the counselor and nothing is done - that's outrageous! I talked to the principal and nothing was done. The class sizes are way too big so the teachers do they best they can but there are too many kids.

Jamestown Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
To Feb 11, the TV was in the kindergarten class and it was put on a lot while I was in the room - once being on halloween when the kids had to change into the customs. The parade is nothing to brag about. In regards to iPads, kids get too much screen time as it is so why is the school adding to the kids screen time? For budget cuts they should be cutting iPads, where most kids have access to them at home, then other areas. As for the FLES program, its great to expose the kids to a 2nd language, but where the system fails is when your kid goes to middle school can can't continue the language. My neighbor was too advanced when she went to Williamsburg and taking spanish there was a waste of time.


Jamestown Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
This school is AWFUL!. The classes are so overpopulated that the teachers just try to prevent chaos. The students that need extra support, or need to be in MIPA, aren't and as a result there were 4 kids in my sons class that were disruptions. One would constantly sharpen a pencil with an electric pencil sharpener, another was always quarantined, and the other two were running around wild. One of the kids asked to go the bathroom and was denied. He spent the rest of the day in soiled pants and the school told the mom that they did not know. Move to another county or go private.

Jamestown Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
My child attended Jamestown from K-5. I can't say enough great things about the school. We had remarkable teachers, some were truly life-changing. We would have paid private school tuition for the experience we received at Jamestown.

Nearby schools

Jamestown Elementary School
3700 North Delaware St, Arlington, VA  22207
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (703) 228-5275
Last modified Jamestown Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top