Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Arlington, VA
Students enrolled: 594
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jamestown Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
Biting in the classroom - what kind of compassion is that? Bullying in the lunchroom, classes and playground - doesn't sound nurturing to me.

Jamestown Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
The classes are way too big with special need kids who need more attention so the teachers are seriously class managers.


Jamestown Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
When my daughter was in first grade, she got a lot of homework. At that age, the kids should be learning socially. Instead the teachers just prepare them for accessments.

Jamestown Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
When a classmate bites another classmate - there's an issue. The teacher just told the boy to bite food and not peers. Obviously this boy needs a bit more help.

Jamestown Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
The principal is awful - she fell asleep at one of my friends iep meeting. We pulled out daughter out due to bullying. One classmate bite my daughter - clearly this boy needs to be in mipa. We pulled our daughter out and she's so much happier, however the private school was concerned about her academic standing. The teachers to focus on the SOLs.


Jamestown Elementary School 1

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
Bullying happens a lot here. The staff says that they are on top of things but when your kid comes home crying every day, telling the teacher and going to the counselor and nothing is done - that's outrageous! I talked to the principal and nothing was done. The class sizes are way too big so the teachers do they best they can but there are too many kids.

Jamestown Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
To Feb 11, the TV was in the kindergarten class and it was put on a lot while I was in the room - once being on halloween when the kids had to change into the customs. The parade is nothing to brag about. In regards to iPads, kids get too much screen time as it is so why is the school adding to the kids screen time? For budget cuts they should be cutting iPads, where most kids have access to them at home, then other areas. As for the FLES program, its great to expose the kids to a 2nd language, but where the system fails is when your kid goes to middle school can can't continue the language. My neighbor was too advanced when she went to Williamsburg and taking spanish there was a waste of time.

Jamestown Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
This school is AWFUL!. The classes are so overpopulated that the teachers just try to prevent chaos. The students that need extra support, or need to be in MIPA, aren't and as a result there were 4 kids in my sons class that were disruptions. One would constantly sharpen a pencil with an electric pencil sharpener, another was always quarantined, and the other two were running around wild. One of the kids asked to go the bathroom and was denied. He spent the rest of the day in soiled pants and the school told the mom that they did not know. Move to another county or go private.


Jamestown Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
My child attended Jamestown from K-5. I can't say enough great things about the school. We had remarkable teachers, some were truly life-changing. We would have paid private school tuition for the experience we received at Jamestown.

Jamestown Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
To Jan. 16 I have had children at Jamestown for 5 years and have never seen a television in the lunchroom. I think you may be putting too much stock in what your 5-year-old is telling you. Jamestown offers: -- FLES. Spanish language education from K. -- Annual school play. A lot of work is put into this, and the production has become a community event. Kids from all grades are involved, from art/performance/marketing/backstage perspectives. -- Award-winning music program. The chorus wins top ratings every ear, and the band for fourth- and fifth-graders is excellent, too. The Orff Ensemble is magnificent to listen to. -- Tech focus. Kids integrate technology seamlessly. My second-grader wrote a book on a school-issued iPad. -- Reliably consistent performance -- Governor's Award of Excellence, awards from Apple computers. -- Kids still play TAG on the playground. There is a Halloween parade every year with COSTUMES. None of the Draconian restrictions that seem to have afflicted other schools. -- Caring and effective teachers. I often see them at evening events, supporting students in choir performances, the play, etc.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jamestown Elementary School
3700 N Delaware St, Arlington, VA  22207
(703) 228-5275
Last modified Jamestown Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jamestown Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top