Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Arlington, VA
 

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oakridge Elementary School 1

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
This school is in Arlington County, which means it has a ton of money being poured into it and it has a stellar reputation. You'd think this school would be incredible. It's far from it. I had my child there for 3 years while living in Arlington and I couldn't be more disappointed in this place. The principal is a total joke, the teachers are lazy and can't grade your child's school work accurately (parents, get ready to add the job title "teacher" to your resume because the teachers here don't teach), and there is absolutely NO discipline in any way for the kids who are being mean/bullying. Like I stated above, the principal is a joke and literally does nothing to help your child succeed unless you're a millionaire and kissing up to her, like many of the moms do.

Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
Oakridge is a great school, I have two children, one who went through Oakridge k-5 and is now in Middle school. She was very well prepared for the higher level math as well as juggling taking 7 classes. My younger child loves Oakridge and all her friends. Each year she starts the year wishing she could stick with her beloved teacher from the year before but a month or two in she has a new favorite teacher. Can't say enough good things about the teachers at the school. The PTA is active and contribute greatly to the school hosting many events and a big school carnival every year. With a fair number of military and diplomatic families moving in and out each year, there is terrific cultural diversity and a very welcoming environment.


Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
We LOVE Oakridge. Its a great neighborhood school within a wonderful and supportive neighborhood. Our daughter is in Mrs. Madison's kindergarten class and we have been so impressed with the instruction and nurturing environment. The PTA is also great with really inviting activities throughout the year. Both our daughter and our family have felt very welcomed. We love that we can walk her to school and its fun seeing all the kids and parents as we walk back and forth each day.

Oakridge Elementary School 3

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Well, my kids transferred from another Arlington County Public elementary school within the last year. Unlike the other school that embraced us from day 1 until the time we left and afterwards for some administrative issues (to include the principal and VP), we unfortunately have had just the opposite experience here. We're hoping this gets better this year.

Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
Such a breath of fresh air, diversity of staff and students in Arlington is tough to come by, Oakridge is by far the best school we have been involoved with. While there are one or two "top of the ridge" parents who are upset about not recieving special treatment from the principal, from our perspective they were just upset that all the "poor" kids went to "their" school, even telling some that their children should have been forced to attend other schools. Other than that the community as a whole has embraced us from the start. The PTA always puts on great family friendly events that are well attended by staff.


Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
LOVE, love, love Oakridge Elementary. Our kids are not only learning they are having fun with so many after school activities and good field trips. We're lucky since we have neighbors who walk their kids to schools so ours sometimes join them. Summer school/camp is also offered. The school is in a quiet neighborhood. Teachers have been spectacular (Ms. Burgin, Ms. Guevara, Ms. Dickerson, Ms. Flannigan and her assistant Ms. Bayne): you can tell they love being there. Ms. Burgin has a goldfish that my son's class got to watch grow up. The annual Science Fair is awesome. Always enjoy the friendly welcome from the Principal, Ms. Wright at every event. The annual "Oakridge Spring Fling" is also a blast. Academics are good - there are a lot of activities, parks and libraries around Arlington as well to keep kids occupied.

Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
This is a great neighborhood school. Both of our kids have had fantastic teachers who are involved and responsive. There are good after-school activities, the neighborhood is safe (our kids walk to school or take the bus as we're about a mile away) and the school is nicely tucked in the neighborhood away from the main roads. We were new to this area, absolutely love our neighbors, and like being close to the school, library, and many parks including the new Long Bridge Park! Our kids are thriving here.

Oakridge Elementary School 3

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Parental involvement and Teachers are great. Principal is awful...Dr. Wright divides and conquers both staff and parents. Vice-Principal just resigned due to disagreement (cover story is for illness). Some parents fear retribution on their children and will not confront her; many teachers feel the same way. Dr. Wright would best serve Oakridge by leaving it.


Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Amazing school in S. Arlington. My son has been here for 4 years. Every teacher he's had has been engaged, positive, and communicates regularly with us about his progress. From the principal to the teachers and staff to the parents and kids - this is a wonderful, safe neighborhood school with an active PTA, teachers who like their jobs, and kids who walk and bus to school together. Love it

Oakridge Elementary School 1

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
I would not recommend this school, for the administration there. The teachers, if you get a great one, are amazing and they do seem to really care about the kids and try their best within the constraints placed on them by the admin and the county/state. I've seen poorer district schools run better than this school. There is no running allowed in PE, only skipping, fast walking or galloping. There are NO school celebrations allowed- because of a few exuberant parents and an overreacting principal, which they tried to claim was related to food allergies(but wasn't), which was made worse by the lack of clear and concise communication from the school. If you are new to the neighborhood, forget about fitting in-the PTA won't help you, nor will your neighbors. There is an obvious snob factor involved between those who have lived here their entire lives and those who haven't. A parent was ripped to shreds at a school meeting last night because she bravely disagreed with the party line. There are much better run schools in Arlington. Choose wisely.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakridge Elementary School
1414 24th St S, Arlington, VA  22202
(703) 228-5840
Last modified Oakridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oakridge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top