Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Swanson Middle School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
Swanson is an awesome experience fot middle schoolers? Solid academics and elective experiences that round out the whole student. Music depaartment is absolutely surperior!!!

Swanson Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attended 8th grade at Swanson after we moved to the U.S. It was her first time in the American school system. We were so pleased with Swanson--the teachers, the principal, the curriculum. She felt so supported and really matured during the year. The communication between students and teachers and teachers and parents was excellent. We could not have been happier!


Swanson Middle School 5

Posted February 17, 2012
- a parent
The school and teachers are overall fantastic. The school superintendent Patrick Murphy is bad. He is trying to change to block scheduling - 90 minute classes - for children. It's not proven to work. It has been tried and failed in high school. He did it in Fairfax schools. When he left Fairfax they dropped block scheduling. It didn't work. We have a successful school with achieving children. He is trying to narrow the learning gap by lowering the achieving children to close that gap. He should leave the school and school district alone. Murphy will make this school and others NOT Great Schools.

Swanson Middle School 5

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
My child attends Swanson. She got sick with a strep infection that attacked her brain resulting in many challenges. The Swanson staff were unbelievably responsive and compassionate. This was a very high-performing child, that overnight had to deal with very complex symptoms. The school teaching staff, Administrators and support staff have worked with us to adjust her schedule and accomodate her needs. Swanson is awesome!

Swanson Middle School 5

Posted January 13, 2011
- a parent
I am a new resident of Arlington County, My grandson attends Swanson Middle School. The teachers, staff, and all members of the school are doing an excellent work with him. I have notice improvement is a short time. Keep Up The Good Work.


Swanson Middle School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
I've had one child attend Swanson for 6-8th grades and now another is in 7th grade. We are very, very pleased with the school. The teachers care and take teaching seriously. The principal, Chris Forrester, is very wise and understands Middle Schoolers. The counseling staff are top rate. I could go on and on.......

Swanson Middle School 5

Posted July 20, 2010
- a parent
This is a fantastic school. The teachers are truly dedicated and the staff is extremely helpful. The students were very welcoming to our kids when we moved here last year. What an incredible opportunity for our kids to attend this amazing school.

Swanson Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 08, 2009
- a student
This school is one of the most positive, helping schools i have ever attended.And that says something. The teachers are always kind and helping and the quality of the education they offer is equally impressive. They also have programs that talk about how bad drugs and alcohol is and talk about bullying with the kids as well. There are not many problems we have here. The students are acheivers that reach for the stars, and with the help from the teachers skills and knowledge most of them are honor role with great, deserved grades. I highly recommend this school for any student.


Swanson Middle School 5

Posted July 07, 2009
- a student
This school has a tendency to make students who have a history as slackers and turn them into a strong willed student. This year 75% students in the 6th grade got honor role which include either b's or a's. It is a positive environment with great supportive staff. The teachers have been to colleges such as harvard, yale ect. Im a student that attends this school and i will say it is amazing and i couldnt of gone to a better middle school!

Swanson Middle School 5

Posted January 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Swanson Middle School
5800 N Washington Blvd, Arlington, VA  22205
(703) 228-5500
Last modified Swanson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Swanson Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top