Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wakefield High School 5

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
My son is a Senior at Wakefield & all 4 years have been amazing. Teachers are dedicated, principal is a great leader, class sizes are small.

Wakefield High School 5

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
It seems that people like to write reviews when and only when they have a problem with the school. Wakefield High School is one of the best high school's in the county. The teacher's care, and are highly responsive. I've had two children go through this high school. One of them is off to an ivy league law school, and the other is doing pre med at VCU. There's now way they could've been successful without the teacher's and faculty there. In all honesty, this school gets a bad rep because of it's large diversity and location. While their music programs and other programs do need reformation, this school is fantastic. Not only have the greatly improved in their academics, but they've hired some of the best teachers in the county. Washington Lee and Yorktown are good schools too, but there's something special about Wakefield. It's the reason why President Obama and many other dignitaries have visited on multiple occasions. This reason being that Wakefield has character and heart, (which seems to be lacking from the cookie cutter schools of North Arlington). Please seriously consider Wakefield as a choice for your son or daughter. They produce success stories, especially for those students who never felt they had a voice.


Wakefield High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
My daughter still keeps in touch with many of her high school teachers. They provide opportunities for her be it educational wise or in the workforce.

Wakefield High School 2

Posted April 24, 2015
- a student
This school is a joke. This school does not care about it's students. It is a numbers game at this school. You are not important, you are a number they are just trying to push you to graduate and get you out anyway possible. Expectations are at all time low. Very little involvement or care for student activities, well being and success both in and beyond school. Big reform at this school needs to happen.

Wakefield High School 1

Posted February 13, 2015
- a parent
This is a horrible school. I am surprised it gets 4 stars here. After two years, we finally had our son transferred. I knew the school had poor reputation, but I used to think how bad can it be? New, fancy building, AP classes... I was wrong. It is worse than one can imagine. A teacher tells the class that they are free to do anything they want, because they are losers anyway, and 'works' on his computer. School principal is one big disappointment. I wish I took serious bad reviews from the very beginning. My piece of advise to parents - If you love your kid, stay away from Wakefield High School.


Wakefield High School 4

Posted January 18, 2015
- a parent
we just moved here from NC . beautiful high school . newly renovated. good teachers . smart board in each classroom. very happy with academic program . son is in advanced classes. very friendly

Wakefield High School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. There are many cultural and economical differences in the school, so that the children see the reflection of America as it is. Opportunities abound for students to choose career paths and college level course work. Arlington is lucky to have it.

Wakefield High School 1

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
After tutoring a student at this school observed that his English skills and math skills were below average from 9-12. It was amazing how his teachers kept pushing him through with "A" grades.


Wakefield High School 2

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
My child has had an IEP since the seventh grade. After years of watching him struggle and trying to desparately to effectively collaborate with teachers and staff I came to the conclusion that the IEP was not worth the paper it was printed on and didn't provide any benefit to my son. While my experience was primarily limited to Wakefield the actual problem was with the Arlington Public School (APS) Special Education process. The particularly areas of weakness are Implmentation, teacher accountability, data collection and analysis strategy (undefined and poorly executed), progress monitoring, and progress tracking. The lack of defined process and procedures made it overly easy for the teachers and staff to be non-responsive and insensitive to the needs of the student, my child. My son is graduating this year. In restrospect I think that I did him a disservice and injustice by allowing him to be labeled as a Student With a Disability or Special Needs student.

Wakefield High School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a student
I am a recent student and am now a certified teacher. There is such a character to the school. Very little bullying incidents, very few problems with "clicks," the popular kids earn it b/c they're friendly with everyone. It is a great place for any student to grow up-if you want your student to have a happy high school experience-Wakefield is perfect. This is the BEST part of the school and it is so often ignored. Alumni genuinely look back and smile at their high school experience here. I have many friends from other schools who hated their high school. Yes, we have students who just don't do the work for a number of reasons (what school doesn't?) -but if your student can/does- there is no need to worry! They will excel! If your student doesn't do work- it probably won't matter what school they go to but WHS teachers will work with them. They have absolutely some of the BEST teachers. And the teachers are proud to work there and most of them have been there for years. An outstanding Advanced Placement program. Those exams are free to the students. Everyone is able to try out an AP class and see if they like it. Overall, the AP Network will prepare your student for college.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wakefield High School
1325 South Dinwiddie Street, Arlington, VA  22206
(703) 228-6700
Last modified Wakefield High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wakefield High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top