Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Savior Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 130 students

Our school is best known for our quality Christ-centered education

 
 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $360,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

A hidden gem in the heart of Arlington! As a past student and now a mother of two current students, I cannot be more proud to be a part of this school. The involvement of the teachers and their true care and concern for each student is heart-warming. Our Savior has been a growing school for over 60 years. The school thrives on the dedication of the teachers, parents, principal and church members. This school in definitely one of a kind and a great find in Arlington County. Come take a tour, meet the students and faculty and see for yourself what an incredible and affordable find this school really is!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

Small school on a quiet street in a crazy city. Teachers and staff go above and beyond. This is not a job but a calling. Most of the staff comes from a Lutheran education system and attends the church. We are not Lutheran and did not attend the church, but felt involved and included. Christ centered learning inside and outside the classroom. My 7th grader went on a mission trip in DC to serve the homeless for a retreat. My 4th grader went to multiple historical sites with his class - making history come alive. My kindergartner was loved, hugged, and encouraged every day. As a military family we loved the daily Pledge of Allegiance and prayer in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

So, so so happy with this incredible school- its small, Christ-centered, dedicated staff, most who have been there for 20 plus years- its literally a family- with strong academics, student-focused approach, in a nurturing environment building character and instilling values. You can't beat the student/teacher ratios- and for a smaller school, we are amazed at the amount and level of student and family activities, sports, events, and a strong PTL with truly dedicated parents and staff. If you're in the Northern Virginia/DC area, and looking for a safe, nurturing, strong academic, Christian environment, you have found it at Our Savior Lutheran School. We have several friends who home-school, and knowing that is a growing trend in the US, we like to say that because of the values, ethics, and moral character building that your child gets at Our Savior, we call it "Home-schooling in the House of God!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

We have been at Our Savior for K and 1st grade and have been happy with our son's experience. He is making great progress academically, helped by teachers who care and understand that young kids need chances to get their energy out. The interactions with his teachers and principal and the nonacademic activities keep him happy to come to school, which is nearly as important to us as what he is learning. The small class and school size gives the teachers the flexibility they need to help each child succeed according to their individual traits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

HOMESCHOOLING IN GOD'S HOUSE -- "Our Savior Lutheran Church began a Lutheran school because it values Christ centered education. We believe that in partnership with the home it is important to address the needs of the whole child through our educational program. This is done to prepare each child for the next step of his or her development." A philosophy statement doesn't get better than that!


Posted June 26, 2013

Our Savior Lutheran has an excellent faculty. They are nurturing, yet they challenge the students to strive for academic excellence. Not only does the school provide a quality education, but the environment is unmatched. The students are surrounded by a caring people, and they are taught Christian values by the example set before them by the faculty and staff. You will not find a better school for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

This is a top-notch school that focuses on the child as a whole. You will not be just another number - everyone from the principal to the extended day staff will know you by name. Individualized attention, diverse student body, rigorous academics, affordable tuition, AND close to Pentagon, Army National Guard Training Center and State Department (NFATC). Wow, wow, wow. A fabulous Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

this school is the best school I 've ever been to. I am currtenly a student at our savior and I'm enjoying every minute of it every morning I'm so excited to go to school. this school is a great place for a student to grow spritually, mentally, emotionally, and phisically I love this school and all the teachers , factly and staff everyone is great
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2008

We have 3 boys at Our Savior in grades 3, 4 and 6. They have all been students here since the oldest started Kindergarten. We couldn't be happier with the entire experience. Not only are they getting all of the tools they need to succeed academically, but the values we teach at home are reinforced each day as well. The staff is caring and knowledgeable and we have found them to be a great source of support. I could go on and on and on...I highly recommend Our Savior to everyone I talk to about education in our area. It doesn't get any better than this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

Teachers are wonderful, Principle is first rate. Small caring environment with personal attention to each family and each child. My daughter loves this school! Very supportive and nurturing. The military child will thrive here with understanding and support. Thanks OSLS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

We love this school. We needed a school for our children during a one-year stay in the D.C. area. We are so glad we found this school. Our kids (K and 8th grade) fit in immediately and have thrived in this environment. The class sizes are small and each child is valued. We will miss it when we leave, but can wholeheartedly recommend it to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

This school is fantastic! After researching all of our options, we found OSL to be perfect. It is a hidden gem in the heart of Arlington, close to DC, the Pentagon and Ft. Myer. Tuition is affordable, along with an extended day program; and the small student body is both diverse and close knit. Because OSL is small, it does not have the extra-curricular options of a larger school, but there is everything imaginable in the DC metro area. The faculty does an unbelievable job using the resources that they have available - very devoted. The communication is outstanding, academics are strong and development of an individual s character is important. I have, and am encouraged to use, my daughter's teacher's home email address ! Added bonus, the students begin each day with the Pledge of Allegiance, followed by singing 'My Country 'Tis of Thee.' We love it !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2007

OSL has been a blessing to me and my two children. Being military and having to consider DC schools as an option, I was very worried about finding quality education for my daughters (1st and 8th grades), but I found that in OSL. Small classes provide in-depth instruction and quality one-on-one attention. Homework is minimized because they can concentrate on that in school. Teachers and administrators are wonderful and all this with one of the lowest tuition costs in the entire DC-metro area! Both of my kids love this school and will miss it when we move. You cannot go wrong with OSL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

This wonderful church school has it all! Small class sizes, caring teachers, before and after care, foreign language, music, full accreditation, a state-of-the-art computer lab and very reasonable tuition all in a christian setting. If you're looking for a home, this is the place for you and your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

The faculty members are outstanding and very accessible. We have our two kids (k and 3) in the school and feel that the academic program and the personal care that they receive is exactly what we hoped for in a school. The tuition is very affordable. The parent participation is excellent and we feel our children are in a fantiastic Christian envioronment which will support them throughout their education and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Arlington SAVR Gold (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Barbara Huehn
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Self Contained Classrooms
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • County Youth Sports
Girls sports
  • County Youth Sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Foreign language club: French
  • Geometry Club
  • National Honor Society
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • It is the mission of Our Savior Lutheran School to build character and instill values through a quality Christ-centered education in a nurturing environment. We have a strong sense of family between students, teachers and parents.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arlington Public High Schools
Fairfax Public High Schools
Area Catholic High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

825 S Taylor St
Arlington, VA 22204
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 892-4846

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Claremont Immersion
Arlington, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT