Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Arlington, VA
Students enrolled: 130
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
A hidden gem in the heart of Arlington! As a past student and now a mother of two current students, I cannot be more proud to be a part of this school. The involvement of the teachers and their true care and concern for each student is heart-warming. Our Savior has been a growing school for over 60 years. The school thrives on the dedication of the teachers, parents, principal and church members. This school in definitely one of a kind and a great find in Arlington County. Come take a tour, meet the students and faculty and see for yourself what an incredible and affordable find this school really is!!

Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
Small school on a quiet street in a crazy city. Teachers and staff go above and beyond. This is not a job but a calling. Most of the staff comes from a Lutheran education system and attends the church. We are not Lutheran and did not attend the church, but felt involved and included. Christ centered learning inside and outside the classroom. My 7th grader went on a mission trip in DC to serve the homeless for a retreat. My 4th grader went to multiple historical sites with his class - making history come alive. My kindergartner was loved, hugged, and encouraged every day. As a military family we loved the daily Pledge of Allegiance and prayer in school.


Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
So, so so happy with this incredible school- its small, Christ-centered, dedicated staff, most who have been there for 20 plus years- its literally a family- with strong academics, student-focused approach, in a nurturing environment building character and instilling values. You can't beat the student/teacher ratios- and for a smaller school, we are amazed at the amount and level of student and family activities, sports, events, and a strong PTL with truly dedicated parents and staff. If you're in the Northern Virginia/DC area, and looking for a safe, nurturing, strong academic, Christian environment, you have found it at Our Savior Lutheran School. We have several friends who home-school, and knowing that is a growing trend in the US, we like to say that because of the values, ethics, and moral character building that your child gets at Our Savior, we call it "Home-schooling in the House of God!"

Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
We have been at Our Savior for K and 1st grade and have been happy with our son's experience. He is making great progress academically, helped by teachers who care and understand that young kids need chances to get their energy out. The interactions with his teachers and principal and the nonacademic activities keep him happy to come to school, which is nearly as important to us as what he is learning. The small class and school size gives the teachers the flexibility they need to help each child succeed according to their individual traits.

Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a community member
HOMESCHOOLING IN GOD'S HOUSE -- "Our Savior Lutheran Church began a Lutheran school because it values Christ centered education. We believe that in partnership with the home it is important to address the needs of the whole child through our educational program. This is done to prepare each child for the next step of his or her development." A philosophy statement doesn't get better than that!


Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
Our Savior Lutheran has an excellent faculty. They are nurturing, yet they challenge the students to strive for academic excellence. Not only does the school provide a quality education, but the environment is unmatched. The students are surrounded by a caring people, and they are taught Christian values by the example set before them by the faculty and staff. You will not find a better school for your children.

Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
This is a top-notch school that focuses on the child as a whole. You will not be just another number - everyone from the principal to the extended day staff will know you by name. Individualized attention, diverse student body, rigorous academics, affordable tuition, AND close to Pentagon, Army National Guard Training Center and State Department (NFATC). Wow, wow, wow. A fabulous Christian education.

Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted October 18, 2008
- a student
this school is the best school I 've ever been to. I am currtenly a student at our savior and I'm enjoying every minute of it every morning I'm so excited to go to school. this school is a great place for a student to grow spritually, mentally, emotionally, and phisically I love this school and all the teachers , factly and staff everyone is great


Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted August 25, 2008
- a parent
We have 3 boys at Our Savior in grades 3, 4 and 6. They have all been students here since the oldest started Kindergarten. We couldn't be happier with the entire experience. Not only are they getting all of the tools they need to succeed academically, but the values we teach at home are reinforced each day as well. The staff is caring and knowledgeable and we have found them to be a great source of support. I could go on and on and on...I highly recommend Our Savior to everyone I talk to about education in our area. It doesn't get any better than this.

Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
Teachers are wonderful, Principle is first rate. Small caring environment with personal attention to each family and each child. My daughter loves this school! Very supportive and nurturing. The military child will thrive here with understanding and support. Thanks OSLS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Savior Lutheran School
825 S Taylor St, Arlington, VA  22204
(703) 892-4846
Last modified Our Savior Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Our Savior Lutheran School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top