Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
130 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Savior Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Sterner the kindergarten teacher was always teaching to do the right thing when no one was watching.

Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
My kids are finishing kindergarten and 3rd grade and I am extremely satisfied with the education they got at OSLS. We are enrolling them in next years classes. They teach homeschool courses with respect and love. The individual attention they needed to do well was there and they let us know right away when our kids were struggling. Very happy with this God centered school.


Our Savior Lutheran School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
The students genuinely care for each other and form lasting friendships across grade levels. My son's babysitter is a middle school student - when we joined the school we joined a community.

Our Savior Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
The staff models forgiveness and caring for the students, following the Love and Logic model for school discipline.

Our Savior Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
The students learn about the great heroes of the Bible and our country every day in class and in chapel. Every year, the school picks 10 "character traits" to focus on, one each month.


Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
I decided to enroll my son after hearing from several friends about the positive, encouraging learning environment at Our Savior. My high expectations have been met! The new principal and staff are completely dedicated to the children and responsive to parental concerns. The smaller class sizes are a great plus, with the individualized attention my son is receiving. I have already recommended this school to another friend, who is sending her children to Our Savior this year.

Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 22, 2015
- a parent
My 2nd and 5th grader just finished another amazing year at Our Savior Lutheran! As both of my children have attended this school since Kindergarten, each year just gets better and better. Having lived in Arlington most of my life I am aware of the various different schooling options in Arlington. While Arlington has a lot to offer, no other school compares to Our Savior's excellent teaching, nurturing environment and goal to develop students with excellent character and compassion. This school truly is a hidden gem in Arlington and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable Christian day school that is above all others!

Our Savior Lutheran School 1

Posted June 11, 2015
- a community member
Few resources, old books, and worst - a principal and administration that aren't interested in helping students.


Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
Small school on a quiet street in a crazy city. Teachers and staff go above and beyond. This is not a job but a calling. Most of the staff comes from a Lutheran education system and attends the church. We are not Lutheran and did not attend the church, but felt involved and included. Christ centered learning inside and outside the classroom. My 7th grader went on a mission trip in DC to serve the homeless for a retreat. My 4th grader went to multiple historical sites with his class - making history come alive. My kindergartner was loved, hugged, and encouraged every day. As a military family we loved the daily Pledge of Allegiance and prayer in school.

Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
So, so so happy with this incredible school- its small, Christ-centered, dedicated staff, most who have been there for 20 plus years- its literally a family- with strong academics, student-focused approach, in a nurturing environment building character and instilling values. You can't beat the student/teacher ratios- and for a smaller school, we are amazed at the amount and level of student and family activities, sports, events, and a strong PTL with truly dedicated parents and staff. If you're in the Northern Virginia/DC area, and looking for a safe, nurturing, strong academic, Christian environment, you have found it at Our Savior Lutheran School. We have several friends who home-school, and knowing that is a growing trend in the US, we like to say that because of the values, ethics, and moral character building that your child gets at Our Savior, we call it "Home-schooling in the House of God!"

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Savior Lutheran School
825 S Taylor St, Arlington, VA  22204
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (703) 892-4846
Last modified Our Savior Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top