Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Denis J O'connell High School

Private | 9-12 | 1100 students

Our School is best known for its commitment to Academic Excellence
 
 

 
 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $595,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2007

This IS an overall good school and it IS a good value for its price in Catholic and private education. There are some excellent teachers.Would we do it again for our child? No. It was the wrong school for our child, because the kids who shine here are the super-brains or they are the star athletes. The other students, while for the most part, are ALL good students, can often struggle to shine or find their identity here. The emphasis lately is more on creating efficiencies in running the school - outsourcing the book store and food service, but less on the students and teacher recruiting (especially in science). My child has excellent grades, some AP credits, is going to attend a good college, but I think would have had more confidence if had attended a different school. We chose public school instead for our second child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

I agree with the person who commented about the sports and bringing in out of state players. I would rather see the school focus more on academics than sports. Other than that, the school was recommended to us and we have been very happy with its quality. No regrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2006

Looking back now, I thank my parents for sending me to DJO. O'Connell couldn't have prepared me better for college. O'Connell is a very tight-knit community with strong parent and student involvement. The Superdance for Cystic Fibrosis is a testament to the outstanding generousity of the school. As I read the alumni newsletters and other publications, I'm amazed at how far DJO has come since I've graduated...the President/Principal model seems like its worked wonders for the school, and from what I read in the papers and hear on the news, Bishop O'Connell has earned a stellar reputation in the DC Area. I will without a doubt send my kids to Bishop O'Connell High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 19, 2006

I am an alumni of DJO and love the changes I am seeing with the new President! I think the school is headed in the right direction, and I have even been motivated to get involved in the alumni association. Academics seem to be the focus now, with caring teachers and a great community. Of course, the sports are still great too!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 8, 2006

In high school, I expect my children to enjoy academics, social opportunities, and extracurricular activities. My biggest disappointment in O'Connell is the 'recruiting' done to bring out of state athletes onto the school teams. Students who are not able to compete against these blue chip athletes are left on the sidelines. While there is an impressive set of championships on display, this college level emphasis on athletics leaves me cold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

I am an O'Connell alumnus, and I have been nothing short of impressed with the school. Absolutely terrific environment. Teachers are extremely caring and attentive to my daughter's needs. Amazing sense of community among the students and families. I would highly recommend DJO to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

I was considering many local public and private schools when I moved to the area from Texas. I chose Bishop O'Connell because everyone we talked to had nothing but positive things to say about the school. It's smaller than a public school, but not too small where it doesn't feel like high school. My guidance counselor and teachers were quick to ask how I was adjusting, and if I needed any help. To be honest I wasn't looking forward to going to O'Connell because I had met friends who attended other schools, but I am so glad that I did choose DJO. There are many ways to get involved, and my only advice is to take the initiative. The school isn't going to come to you and ask you to do things...you have to take interest! that is what I learned. I'm so happy I chose Bishop O'Connell High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2005

This school will hire clearly incompetant teachers, and even when their incompetance become obvious the school still refuses to fire them. I hated this school and would never go back. Oh and they still send me stuff in the mail even though i have specifically requested that they stop. No room to even discuss the drug abuse in that school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2005

'I'm a Junior at O'Connell that made a switch from Langley High after my sophmore year ended. All I can say is that O'Connell was the right path to take. The enviroment has a positive feeling to it and the kids enrolled there are easy to get along with. The student body has a very active social life with dances, clubs, sports, and so on. The teachers there do take the time to make sure your student is on the same page and understanding the material. Langley was basically the opposite of O'Connel; Enviroment had a negative feeling, wasn't always easy to get along with others, teachers don't have the time to help most of the time, because of SOLs. Though tution is high for some like me, it's well worth the money and I'm glad my parents were devoted to do use that money for my benefit in education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2004

This school is too large to give real personal attention. It's a step up from the public school in many ways but it was not a good choice for me. It might work well for some, but for an artistic, sensitive person it is not the best choice. In many ways I was misguided and over-looked, much of my potential went down the drain while I was at O'connell. I would never send my children there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 9, 2004

I transferred from PVI during junior year. It was the best decision I could have made. The teachers and administration were so caring to me. I became involved with the school's legendary Superdance where we raised over $200,000 for CysticFibrosisFoundation. Unlike PVI, there is a real atmosphere of community, and the teachers care more about us learning than giving detentions. The principal was outstanding! After the principal retired, the school has a new President&Principal which everyone seems to like. I graduated last year, and am doing superb in college because of the efforts of O'Connell. 99% of my class went on to college-that says alot about the school!(esp. compared to public schools). I only had one regret about O'Connell- and that is I wish I had gone there to begin with so I had more time there. To students who are debating between PVI and O'Connell, I know you'll love O'Connell.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 27, 2004

The school provided an excellent curriculum with a dedicated teaching staff. After success in the classroom, above avg. SAT scores, and several college credits due to AP exam scores, my student will be very prepared for college. The religious influence is not overpowering for young adults but, rather, offers them a chance to put their faith in action through numerous community activities, service requirements, and extracurriculars. The school was extremely sensitive and caring during the 9/11 tragedy. Prayers were offered over the PA system, and students were allowed to use the office phone or personal cell phones to check on their families. Only downside--some of the guidance counselors could be more helpful. Rather than creating a portfolio at the end of Jr. year (which doesn't appear to be used), students/teachers/counselors should be required to fill out the common app. forms. Much of this could be better performed electronically, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2004

High quality school with a legendary principal. Most friendly and supportive atmosphere. Heavy on sports but catching up in the arts. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2003

My child received a very good education at O'Connell High. He was challenged academically and was accepted into a very good college. 98% of the students at this school go on to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

We live in Maryland, but are sending our daughter to Virginia at additional expense and inconvenience because we feel she will obtain the best education possible. Choices of Catholic High Schools are limited in Maryland, which led us to look out of state. So far I am very impressed and pleased with everything about Bishop Denis J O'Connell H.S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Outstanding athletic organizations (all sports); Skilled, caring teachers; Sense of community among students, always felt safe.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Virginia
Virginia Tech
George Mason University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Catholic Honor Roll School of Excellence (2014)
  • Blue Ribbon School (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French, Spanish, Latin, German

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
  • It's Academic
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Vorbach
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (703) 237-1465

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Arlington
  • Marymount University
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Field hockey
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Amnesty international
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: French, Spanish, Latin, German
  • Forensics club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Game club
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • It's Academic
  • Literary magazine
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 23, 2015

 
93
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$13000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Virginia
Virginia Tech
George Mason University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6600 North Little Falls Road
Arlington, VA 22213
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 237-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Yorktown High School
Arlington, VA


George Mason High School
Falls Church, VA




Stuart High School
Falls Church, VA


Stratford Program
Arlington, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT