Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Arlington, VA
Students enrolled: 578

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Claremont Immersion 3

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Great school until 5th grade. I encountered few incidents with a new teacher since she was constantly bringing my child down. Not everyone has the passion to teach. Other than her, they have great teachers.

Claremont Immersion 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
I couldn't be happier with this school. I am lucky to have my son in Claremont. The staff is great, the vice principal and principal are outstanding and even the school itself is beautiful and special. Special that is the best way to describe this school! I am a happy mom!


Claremont Immersion 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Claremont Immersion has exceeded my expectations since 2008! The teachers and staff are wonderful and parents are very involved. It's a great community.

Claremont Immersion 5

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
We have a 3rd grader, 1st grader, and a future montessori 3 year old. We moved from California and couldn't be happier at this school. The facaulty and parent involvement is the main reason.

Claremont Immersion 5

Posted September 04, 2011
- a parent
My child attends this school since kindergarten. I had some concerns at first, if he could advance in math and science because, these are subjects that are taught in Spanish, but I think the teachers of these subjects are wonderful and have made my son a bilingual child. I recommend this school 100%


Claremont Immersion 5

Posted February 25, 2011
- a parent
For anyone concerned about math and science instruction in Spanish, my son has excelled in these subjects. He's not a native Spanish speaker. He is going into the most advanced math classes available in Middle School. I'm not saying that all experiences are alike - but that in our case the language was no barrier whatsoever. I also feel that science has been implemented extremely well at Claremont, especially over the past 2 years.

Claremont Immersion 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
Claremont is an excellent elementary school. The instruction is stellar and the teachers are enthusiastic and make extra efforts to work with your child. Science is taught through a hands-on approach by teachers who only teach science. Despite the fact that we don't speak Spanish at home, my 5th grader is fluent in English and Spanish and excells in subjects in both languages. The principal is especially accessible to parents and students. She listens to and communicates well with parents and students and holds her teachers and staff to the highest standards. The school population is diverse and the emphasis on learning about other cultures has broadened my childrens' horizons. The parents are also very involved and compliment the efforts by the teachers and the administration. I would highly recommend this school.

Claremont Immersion 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I am generally pleased with the school. The 3rd Grade Teachers win all GOLD medals in my book, particularly Mr. Staten. Parent involvement is tremendous in a positive way. I enjoy the activities and events held to encourage camaraderie amongst and between the parents and students.However, I wish the Spanish Immersion aspect of the school could be changed so that the most important subjects, Math and Language Arts and Science could be instructed in ENGLISH...Perhaps having the Music, Art, and even PE be the classes where strictly Spanish is spoken would be a better way Immerse the children, they'd still be hearing & speaking the language & learning those concepts in Spanish, This way, they don't lose out on their mastery of the most important subject matters because of a lack of understanding of Spanish. Overall, the school, teaching and Extended Day Staff are great!.


Claremont Immersion 3

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
I wish science was better implemented. Having a child lose interest in science during school each year is not fair. Luckily we provide summer enrichment. The art program is spectacular and the changes to give more time in Spanish have worked really well.

Claremont Immersion 3

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
Thanks 3rd grade teachers! My child enjoys school again. Still, the changes in classes/teachers so frequently during the day seems to make science less than exciting. I suppose this is set up so that Spanish and English homeroom teachers can collaborate. It seems to be working nicely this year and I hope it continues through 5th grade - but it seems that 5th grade test results each year for 3 year in a row don't show that this is working. Low math, English and science scores worry me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Claremont Immersion
4700 S. Chesterfield Rd., Arlington, VA  22206
(703) 228-2500
Last modified Claremont Immersion is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Claremont Immersion Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top