Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newton-Lee Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 969 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

We feel very fortunate to have picked a neighborhood that feeds into such a wonderful Elementary School such as NLE. The Teachers, Administration and PTO are top notch! I'm a full time single working Mom and wish I could be more involved but feel blessed knowing that my children are getting a great education in such a wonderful environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

I have never come across a more diverse school and ALL children are treated equally We are a British family and my daughter has good friends at this school from all different nationalities and backgrounds My daughter has loved both her teachers and all staff have been wonderful when we need any information There's a strong parent presence in the school and they do some fun PTO events This is a school for the all the community it serves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Our children's school is amazing, from the front office staff to the teachers and even the custodial crew are invested in making our kids experience the best it can be. A majority of teachers are invested in the teaching our children not just to SOL standards but to standards that will help them transition smoothly into middle and high school. I like the fact my children have exposure to computers, tablets and other technology as well as the traditional learning styles. I would love to see more parents involved in the PTO to learn how much our school does for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

This is a fantastic school with a wonderful Vice Principal and staff. The front office seems to run very smoothly and I absolutely adore the school's nurse - she is so sweet and caring! LOVE HER!!! Newton Lee takes into consideration the safety of the students as a paramount issue - this is something I really appreciate. -Parent of a 4th & a 5th grader
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

We have 2 kids in Newton Lee and absolutely love the school. We have moved several times in last 5 years and this is the 3rd elementary school for my son, so we know the difference between excellent and mdeiocre schools. As with everywhere, some teachers in Newton Lee are better than others. But overall its a great school with an outstanding Principal and staff. Its amazing to see how solid parent involvement is, diversity is also a plus factor. In case we ever move, we will definitely miss Newton Lee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2012

Wholeheartedly disagree with the totally subjective post belowl Newton-Lee has quite a diverse population. Why would the staff choose to treat this one person differently? And why would they treat the same person suddenly better when they wanted to enroll their child? This is not a private school. This is not the Ritz. You will not recieve white-glove service at the front desk. They will not receive more money if you enroll your child. In fact, it will only add to the overcrowding situation. Enroll your child somewhere else and leave room for our children who come to school for the excellent education/top-notch staff, extracurricular activities, etc., not the empathy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

Was receieved by the staff with an extremely prejudice "I'm better than you" arrogance, although Newton-Lee has a vast majority of students from different backgrounds. However, when the staff thought I was a parent of a child (on a different occasion) they were extremely friendly and welcoming which really put me off, because I knew it was fake. I am not going to enroll my child into this kind of a school, and have warned my friends from it as well. While the world isn't all one race, gender, nationality, and religion - our children should be taught to be open-minded and accepting of people's differences. From this school, they will simply be taught to be rude/arrogant to diversity, unless it compromises their status. I was astonished by how rude they were before, compared to how friendly they were when they thought I was going to enroll my child in this school. Everyone else's review is solely based on being receieved by the staff as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

Unbelievable school community with a very dedicated staff. Just look at the parking lot before and after school. The lot still has many many staff cars long after the day is over and before it even begins. They are dedicated to providing the very best for the students. My child has benefitted greatly from the team approach and has really blossomed at Newton-Lee. The events are of very high quality, especially the Music programs and their annual field day is always tied to a curriculum theme. There is so much good to say about this school. Its is an excellent learning community! Take a walk down the halls sometime, the displays are just amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

Newton-Lee is an amazing school witha wonderful Principal, Administration & Teachers/Staff. They are ALL very dedicated to the best education for all students! We have been very happy with all aspects of NLE. My husband is always impressed with the PTO events and how much school participation there is from students and parents! We love it at Newton-Lee Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

Newton-Lee is a great school! My kids have attended in private schools before and I have to say that we didn't experience any quality issues with this school. We are very pleased and our kids love this school. The teachers and staff are friendly and firm when needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

What happened to my review? I said nothing that was against the review guidelines. I said that Newton Lee expects a lot from the children and parents. I said that an average student may struggle to keep up if they don t have a lot of support at home. I said that I get frustrated when trying to help my child because so much has changed since I was in school. I agreed with another review here that a staff member in the main office is very rude to both parents and students. I said the PTO is excellent. The majority of the teaching staff and the administration are excellent as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2010

My 4th grader has been attending since kindergarten. Each and every year I am amazed with the academic standards and the sincerity of the faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

Outstanding Principal and teachers!!! This is a great school and I think the Principal and teachers are consistently doing their best to improve the quality of education delivered to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

One of the teachers at Newton-Lee is beyond ruuude, and so is the majority of the office staff. The Principal is friendly, so I am at least pleased with that. However, I am a firm believer that the school staff should be setting a greaat example for our children. After all, little kids look up to adults. If the staff at a school is treating the parents in a rude manner, then I guarantee you that they are treating some of the children in the same way. Don't expect a friendly, nice environment if you are considering to move to this area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

Moving out of the area and the school is the reason I'm sad to leave. It is a very safe and loving place to send you little ones. New Principal that has been a great addition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Outstanding leadership and teaching staff. Great facilities and PTO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers, students and parents are all on the same team and together we win! I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great teachers! The children are happy to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It is a high performing school in a great neighborhood.


Posted September 16, 2009

I love Newton-Lee Elementary School because my nephew attends school and has a great attitude about school, he loves it there.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

156 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students95%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students96%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial79%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students90%
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students87%
Female students88%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students96%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial79%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students90%
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students94%
Female students98%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial93%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students90%
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students90%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students81%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students92%
Female students89%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students92%
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students85%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students98%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

English: Writing

All Students88%
Female students87%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students87%
Female students85%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students91%
Female students91%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students98%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School counslor
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43335 Gloucester Parkway
Ashburg, VA 20147
Phone: (571) 252-1535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Virginia Academy
Ashburn, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT