Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sanders Corner Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 630 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2014

Our first 2 years at Sander's Corner has been absolutely wonderful. The staff is excellent, the class sizes are good, the PTA is active and they have great events for our kids to attend. I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2014

Sanders Corner is fantastic. We have two kids there and couldn't be happier! Communication between school and parents is great, looking forward to a couple more years here. ES - Ashburn, VA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

This is the best school that I could have wanted for my son. We moved to the area when my son was in grade 2, now he is in grade 4 and thoroughly enjoys his teachers and school environment. I volunteered throughout his grade 2, teachers were amazing and never made me feel unwanted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

Sanders Corner is a great school. We have been at the school for two years and have nothing but positive things to say about it. Our children are now in First and Second grade, The Principal really sets a positive leadership tone and is extremely visible and accesible to the students and parents. I am impressed that she knows each of my childrens' names in a school with over 600 students. Our class sizes this year are under 20/class which is much better than our old school in Loudoun county. Also, one of our children has an IEP and the Special Education staff/resources are top notch. So glad we moved into this School area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

My daughter started kindergarten last year. In just one year of kinder she has improved a lot. Her reading , vocabulary and Maths skills are par to Grade 1 students. Miss Brockway is a dedicated and loving teacher and she has helped a lot in grooming my daugther.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

We are moving to this school district so can anyone tells me the timings of the school. And the kindergarten is full day or half day? Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Contrary to the May 15: Parents' involvement at school is good. But as a parent, we have to learn how to let go and let the school take care of our kids. Teachers will know when is a good time to volunteer at school. Just relax and leave all these duties to the teachers. For the SOL's preparation, I feel that school try to do their best to help the students to do the test. We don't want to see the kids are panic when the SOL test is coming around the corner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

Contrary to the Nov. 5 reviewers assertions, I'm not a parent who spoils my child in alarming ways or ruining my child. I have made myself available to volunteer for everything that is offered and I have been asked twice all school year to come in.My availablity on the parent volunteer form that was filled out at the beginning of the school year was Mon - Fri, all day. I would love to volunteer and be a visible face at school for my child, but it seems that those opportunities are only available to certain parents. I find the discipline there to be overly rigid and the constant ramming of the SOLs is ridiculous. A 3rd grade child should not be worrying in September about a test he/she will be taking in May. As someone whose children have attended another school, this is NOT the best school you can find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

This is the best school you can find. The teachers are well prepared and provide an excellent learning environment for our kids. I am a mother of four, wih three children at Sanders so far. The leadership of the principal is astounding. I wish we had the same principal in middle and in high school. Those parents who write negative reviews are those who spoil their kids in alarming ways and actually ruin their children by highly protecting them and not building strong and independent human beings. The discipline at Sanders is the best and builds positive personality, encourages high goals and enriches the best skills in our children. If you want to get involve in your children s education you do not need to go and teach at Sanders, you can do it at home. I congratulate the entire Sanders Corner staff for always acquiring the highest academic levels in the State of Virginia. Keep up these excellent efforts! Thank you!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

My 3 kids have all graduated from Sanders, kids loved the school, teachers, asst principal, guidance counselor. Teachers welcomed parent involvement, had lunch w/my kids, went on field trips. We drive by Sanders and they have very fond memories of their elem school days!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

We are very disappointed in Sander's Corner. As was stated in another review, the school does not embrace parent involvement. As a parent, I do not feel that Sander's Corner involves the parents as the partners in their children's education that they are. I also find the school much too rigid in terms of discipline. I understand that a school is a place for learning, but there seems to be a lack of understanding that kids also just need to be kids sometimes, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

My daughter studied at Sander's Corner for 3 yrs.She has already graduated out of Sander's corner. She enjoyed every bit of it. The only negative point I have is that my daughter's teacher in her final year was not experienced enough and was not aware how to handle sentiments of her students. She always complained that she (teacher) had only one favorite student in her class. Though I personally did not give much importance to that but it is certainly a failure on teacher's part to have her students such feeling about her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

My child was in kindergarten at Sanders last year and it was a negative experience. The school does not embrace parent involvement and leaves a parent feeling very shut out and uninvolved in their child's education. The moment you step through the front door you feel as though you are not welcome and an annoyance to all the staff who will not let you past the office to do something as little as drop off a forgotten item with your child. The kindergarteners were only allowed to have recess twice a week and the homework was inappropriate for the age group. The academic pressure is ridiculous and at what price are they keeping those test scores up? We are in a different school this year and it is so wonderful and different from Sanders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

we had a great overall experience with this school, the staff and the community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

Sanders Corner Elementary is the best! Three of my kids went there for 3 years, and it was great! The principal, vice-principal, teachers, and all staff down to the custodians are excellent. It was a pleasure going there. Everyone cares about the students, and teachers were so involved with students that it was impossible to fail. You felt that your kids were safe and taken care of 100%. I will really miss it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students83%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students89%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial91%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students87%
Female students87%
Male students87%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial100%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English89%

Science

All Students92%
Female students89%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students89%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial100%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students74%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students80%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students83%
Female students76%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students93%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students86%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students80%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

English: Writing

All Students88%
Female students90%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students60%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students87%
Female students81%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students96%
Female students96%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities94%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43100 Ashburn Farm Pkwy
Ashburn, VA 20147
Phone: (571) 252-2250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Boyd School
Broadlands, VA


St Theresa School
Ashburn, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT