Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillside Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 718 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

Hillside is a wonderful and warm environment. Principal Mr. Brazina and Vice-Principal Mr. Dickersheid are dynamic and pro-active, trying to build team spirit from the get-go. My kindergartener looooves Mrs. Armstrong, who is an amazing teacher. Considering you have kids of all levels in kindergarten, I am so impressed with how she integrates everyone with care and concern while truly teaching them. After 8 weeks of school my 5 year old is starting to read words and can count by fives through 100! Really impressive, but the care she shows the students and the sense of belonging are what I like the best. The cohesive student body is diverse, including kids with food allergies, but everyone is included and part of the Hillside team. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Hillside Elementary is an excellent school. Both of my children absolutely love going to school each day. The staff is amazing and they always go the extra mile if you need any help. The front office staff is great as well and they will always answer any questions you may have. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I have had one of more children attending Hillside for the past ten years and can honestly give this outstanding Elementary school a 5 star rating. Our new principle and VP are excited and energetic. They are personable and involved and outside greeting the students and parents each morning and afternoon. Their attitude has added a huge influx of positivity from teachers and parents alike. I have without exception found the teachers to be caring, kind and competent. Many teachers and specialists have gone above and beyond their job descriptions to help my child who has some visual impairments. Parents are very involved in volunteering in the class rooms and for PTO activities. My children love attending Hillside and I love the spirit of cooperation and unity I see there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Very happy with the principle and vice-principle who started in the 2012-13 school year. That said, I'm sad to see there isn't more technology built into the learning systems and tools for the students and the teachers. A Promethean Board in the classroom does not make the school "tech savvy". Given that we live in the wealthiest county in the nation you'd think we could get more computers available. We are falling behind in the technology realm already. I'd be happy to be a part of a working group of parents to see how we make this happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2012

Had to put up with a old woman for last 3 years. It has been terrible. Just wish that front office staff Beth be gone. She is still trying to keep up with the old principle legacy by which a mean a unfriendly, rude, prison like environment. \Teachers are terrible there. Only by chance or luck if your child get one decent average teacher out of the batch in each grade. PE teachers and Cafeteria staff all rude. Too much bullying among the kids. No control over them. I think its because of too much trashy parents not disciplining there children at home and the kids end up behaving that way. If you have a choice don't put your child here. My son suffered for 3 years. Also, teach minimal expect parents to full time tutor them. I will give this school poor poor rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

My son went to Hill Side for one year in 2009 school year as his zoned school was full and could not take any more 4th graders. He ran into several bullying issues based on his race (Asian Indian) and customs. When he stepped up (he is a big boy and play nose tackle in Football) he was punished and labeled as insubordinate by principal and the kid who was responsible for this was let go. We were very worried and did some research..We found that hill side school is in "not so" diversified part of the Ashburn community with predominant number of students are from white community. This lead to tolerance and acceptance issues stemming from principal/vice principal. Our son was back to original school (Legacy elementary) for lone year for 5th grade and had no issues. He was happy, Straight A student and moving on to middle school this year. We are glad we did not got zoned under this school where we would have left with no choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

I agree, bullying is to be addressed strongly. The bully writing an apology to the bullied is a first right step, I wish all the public schools insisted on uniforms then we would not have this peer pressure about being "dressed in fancy brand name" clothes for school. There would be uniformity among all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

Fabulous school. Teachers are very caring and its amazing how much the kids learn while there. My daughter loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

We have two kids ,they are in 3rd grade.we have very good experiance with staff teacher and the principal.Hill side is a good in all manners.love the teachers and their relation with parents and kids.we are moving out from this area i know my kids and myself will miss Hillside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

We have been very pleased with the overall experience at Hillside. We're have maybe 10 teachers and one of the was disappointing. My only area for improvement is encourage increased usage of new technology. The teachers still send paper notes home to the parents in the students backpack. There should bea robust portal for parents and students that allow access to grades, attendance, assignments, profile info, etc. Overall, great job and great school. 4.5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

Hillside is a wonderful, family-oriented school. The administration and teachers sincerely care about the students and create a wonderful environment for learning and nurturing. Some of the teacher are absolutely the best we've ever seen! I have had 4 children in Hillside over the past 5 years and have had very few complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Hillside's teachers are the best!!! They go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure their students get the best education that can be provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Hillside Elementary is a family, the staff, the students and the parents all work together to achieve an enriching environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The start of the 2009-2010 school year is the 9th year our family will be a part of the Hillside Elementary Family. I say family because over the years the relationships with teachers and staff continues to grow and amaze me! From Mrs. Green throughout the school it is a warm, welcoming enviroment that welcomes all. I am also constantly impressed with the parents who choose to make a difference by volunteering their time and resources for the school and their children. With pride I would like to recommend Hillside Elementary for America's favorite school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Wonderful teachers who really care about the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

They have a wonderful staff & the kids gt to experience the spirit of Xmas and all the winter holiday because Mrs Green allows the schooll to have spirit
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

We love the true sense of community from the parents, students, teachers and staff. Everyone really pitches in and works as a team! The teachers are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Parents and Teachers are awesome!! Not to mention the Students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

The school is very good I have 2 kids that attend this shool. The teachers are great and communicate very well. I have trouble with kids bullying and the teachers tackle this very well when it is brought to their notice but a lot of things get said and done during recess and lunch new techniques need to be developed to improve on this area . I as a parent am trying to find as much info as possible to provide the teachers and I urge other parents to do the same. The parents of the bullies should make the bully write an apology letter to the kid that is bullied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

Great school, teachers are very friendly, our Kindergarten class had so many parent volunteers. The teachers go out of the way to listen to each student whenever one has questions -- so it was good ratio. Although our class wasn't assigned much homework throughout the year, we know our son has learned a tremendous amount of things throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students82%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students83%
Female students79%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students97%
Female students95%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students83%
Male students67%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students78%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students89%
Female students92%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students89%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students83%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students77%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

English: Writing

All Students90%
Female students88%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Math

All Students78%
Female students72%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students88%
Female students85%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43000 Ellzey Dr
Ashburn, VA 20148
Phone: (571) 252-2170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Boyd School
Broadlands, VA


St. Theresa School
Ashburn, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT