Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Lane Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 752 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2013

As a former student of this school, I can honestly say this place was incredible. I stayed every year, from Kindergarten to 5th grade. The teachers were absolutely perfect. The school is really nice and clean too. Everyone there was just full of energy, motivated, and excited to learn which is what kids need to be in elementary school. I remember how amazing the assemblies used to be, how fun the choir concerts were, and making lasting friendships. If your child or someone you know goes here, they are lucky, because this really is the best school in the county. Trust me ive seen the other ones.I wish I could have stayed forever. Love you Cedar Lane. LIONS RULE!!!!


Posted May 2, 2013

I volunteer a lot at Cedar Lane. I cover K-5, the atmosphere is very positive. The students receive Paw Prints for demonstrating acts of kindness. The Principal, Mr. Marple and Vice Principal, Mrs. Hines are active with the student body, staff and parents. I think the expectations of a school starts at the top. Mr. Marple defiantly sets the tone with a happy, supportive environment. He has an open door policy and is very easy to talk with. He works hard to have a team atmosphere. And it shows! Of course, kids have disagreements, however, these are taken care of immediately. I have 3 children. We have been at 2 other schools in Ashburn. And to tell you the truth, we have enjoyed all of them, however, Cedar Lane has a family environment. There are fun programs happening and everyone is involved. There is even a club for people who have English as their 2nd language. They pair up families that speak both languages. And toghether they attend the school programs. So bullying a problem...No, not at all. Just the opposite. Congratulations to the entire staff who make Cedar Lane a positive place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

This school lacks what many of the other Ashburn schools have. It's breeds a tolerance of bullying. The kids aren't properly supervised on the playground so when bullying issues occur, it is always one childs word against another and nothing is done. The bullied kids can't go to the administration and have no recourse but to switch schools. Very disappointed in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

We have been at Cedar Lane for almost 5 years and it has been an amazing experience. There are many schools that can boast great test scores, but Cedar Lane is more than that. The school is a very special environment of tolerance and inclusion which is important for all students - from special ed to the gifted. The culture starts with the amazing administration and is pervasive throughout the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

Mr. Dallas won Principal of the Year! He also is the recipient of the Washington Post's Distinguished Educational Leadership Award! We are so proud of you Mr. Dallas! Cedar Lane is blessed to have you. The leadership of our school starts at the top and filters through the teachers, staff of the building, students and parents. All the staff, students and parents rise to do their best due to your commitment toward education. Thank you for all that you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

I have 4 children in Cedar Lane.. My 4th actually just graduated so I now have 3. From day one if I have ever had any issues or questions they are addressed and handled immediately. From the ladies in the office to Mr. Dallas and Burns to the cafeteria ladies to the bus drivers.. I wouldnt trade this school for anything!!! LOVE IT!!!! From all the teachers we have had I truly have LOVED all of them 15 so far total with 4 kids... (Only 1 did I not care for!! ) This is an AMAZING school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

Awesome! All three of my children have bloosomed at Cedar Lane. The teachers are wonderful. They not only teach a subject, they have the students aply the information, by completing fun projects. This way the information stays with them for life. I also think the teachers, parents and principal make a great team! I'm proud to be a Lion Parent. Thank you everyone for all your dedication and hard work to make Cedar Lane such a great place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

We have 2 children in Cedar Lane (2nd grade and 5th grade) and have been very pleased. Even the bus drivers are top notch. Principals Mr. Dallas and Mr. Burns truly care about the children and their quality of education. Keep up the great work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2006

Our children have attended Cedar Lane from day one. We have seen both leaderships. Mrs Mc Manus and Dr. Hall. The other elementary schools that came after Cedar Lane have used this school as a benchmark (most of the original staff presently teach at these schools). Prior, to coming in this area, we were a little sceptical about public schools but Cedar Lane helped us relax. The level of parent participation is consistent with excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

We had a wonderful first year at Cedar Lane in First Grade - my daughter did not attend Kindergarten here. Second Grade was also good, but left a little to be desired. Third Grade has seen my wonderfully passionate positive child go to pieces with pressure and attention only to the Standardized Tests. This has been very disappointing and we have not had a great response to our issues with the pressure that seems to have been visited on these very young children. We have considered other options and will see the year through - but have questions of concern as to whether our particular issues have been addressed or ignored. My child has also been dropped several reading levels although she is a very advanced reader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

This school is wonderful...you will be very happy here with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

I have two children at cedar lane - one in 1st grade and one in 3rd. Both teachers are young but have so much patience and spend so much time with the kids. Both my children had reading issues and were put in reading programs that made an incredible difference
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

We have been very happy at Cedar Lane for the last 3 years. We have found the teachers to be very responsive when our child has had issues at school. The teachers show a true interest in helping our child succeed. There are many opportunities for parent involvement in the school and many activities planned throughout the year for all to participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

My daughter has had an excellent three years in this school. Teachers we have had have been excellent and my child is blooming. I have found the new Principle Dr. Hall to be fine addition to this school. She is reponsive to both student and parents needs. Such a fine school makes my thinking of moving out of the area difficult. We will be challanged trying to find a comparable match in a new area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We have had a wonderful 3 years at Cedar Lane. We will miss Mrs. McManus greatly but the new principal Dr. Hall seems to be doing a good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My child had a better year overall in third grade than in second. First grade left a lot to be desired, so all-in-all I'm pleased with the progress. I'm somewhat concerned about how the school will fare with its beloved principal, Nancy McManus, taking a position elsewhere, but ... here's to hoping that all goes well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2003

Cedar Lane did not prove to be a 'Toadally Awesome' (this years motto) school this year. My child's kindergarten experience was less than challenging. The children did not learn anything new. Everything my child was exposed to this past year was covered in pre-K. If I had the opportunity to do it over again, I would place my child in a private kindergarten program.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students76%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students93%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students68%
Female students69%
Male students67%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students79%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English71%

Science

All Students92%
Female students91%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students82%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students74%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students31%
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students80%
Female students80%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students96%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students78%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students79%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

English: Writing

All Students83%
Female students89%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students79%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students71%
Female students73%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students86%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Science

All Students85%
Female students75%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students86%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43700 Tolamac Dr
Ashburn, VA 20147
Phone: (571) 252-2120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Theresa School
Ashburn, VA




The Boyd School
Broadlands, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT