Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cedar Lane Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Plummer helped us through some concerns with our child and we can't thank her enough. She is a Wonderful human being.

Cedar Lane Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
Bob Marple is the current principal. This school is packed with caring and smart teachers. This school also has a hometown feel and has great turn out for school activities, events and PTA functions. Not sure why the rating is a 7 currently but my feeling is this data is not correct.


Cedar Lane Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Please note that my rating is based on the new Principal and VP, Mr. Marple and Mr. Tracey and my child's 5th grade teacher. My child was at Cedar Lane from K-5. When Mr. Marple became the school Principal, the kids no longer switched classes from grades 3-5 for Math and English. For my child, this posed problems, as she has difficulty sitting for long periods of time and becomes distracted. And, put that together with a teacher that doesn't tolerate a child that is easily distracted and it's a recipe for failure. My child was singled out on more than one occasion by her fifth grade teacher. It was to the point that she was sending home notes about my child being a problem at least once a week. (My child, who has never had issues with teachers until this year). The teacher played mind games and bullied my child. The teacher was very young, she graduated early, and immature. And, when I went to seek assistance from the administration, I was made to feel as though the problem was my child, not the teacher. I asked them on numerous occasions to evaluate the classroom and they would not. Especially, since she was a new teacher. And, there was no previous history of any problems with my child (6 years at this school). The teacher would complain about my child's desk and her surroundings. She would smile if my child didn't do well. (i.e. The 5th graders were evaluated for math honors and when I went to pick up the results she smirked when she saw my child didn't make it in). The teacher accused me of assisting my child with projects. It was an absolutely miserable year. If it wasn't my child's last year at Cedar Lane, I would have removed her from the classroom or school. Mr. Tracey, VP, was brand new and didn't appear to have any experience dealing with these sort of problems. And, Mr. Marple took a backseat once Mr. Tracey came onboard. Even though Mr. Marple was cc'd on all the exchanges, he didn't feel it warranted his involvement. And, now my child is in the 7th grade and absolutely flourishing. The classes in her middle school are 45 minutes long and she's a straight A student, able to pay attention and retain information. No complaints from teachers.

Cedar Lane Elementary School 1

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
This school breeds a tolerance for bullying. The kids are not properly supervised on the playground infact their playground does not even have a fence. When issues occur it's one kid's word against another. However, the bullying does not just stop with the kids, the P.E. teachers are bona fide bullies themselves. I am vigorously looking for other schools to enroll my kid in. I would NOT recommend this school to anyone.

Cedar Lane Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
Awesome school, friendly environment, kind teachers who care, and a dynamic principal who is visible, engaging, and very approachable. Implementing Watch Dog Dads was a great move on the schools part! Video newsletters are very 21st century, not to mention a solid and regularly updated Face Book page and Twitter account! A new focus on technology is very visible in this school, and the teacher are working hard to embrace all student needs and learning styles!


Cedar Lane Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2014
- a parent
We are moving to Loudoun from out of state and have two children with IEPs. Based upon recommendations from other parents, we met with Mr Tracey to get a feel for the school and the admin. I was so impressed!! First, he took the time to read our kids' IEPs (!!!) before the meeting (keep in mind we hadn't purchased a home yet but were merely visiting schools to get a feel for things) and had a good grasp on my children's abilities and needs. He was enthusiastic about the school and gave us a personal tour. The school also houses an after school social skills group called Marvin's Club, which is based on a reputable program called Social Thinking. The concept had garnered the school many awards and accolades. This is so exciting because clearly, they invest in all types of kids! I would definitely recommend!

Cedar Lane Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2013
- a community member
As a former student of this school, I can honestly say this place was incredible. I stayed every year, from Kindergarten to 5th grade. The teachers were absolutely perfect. The school is really nice and clean too. Everyone there was just full of energy, motivated, and excited to learn which is what kids need to be in elementary school. I remember how amazing the assemblies used to be, how fun the choir concerts were, and making lasting friendships. If your child or someone you know goes here, they are lucky, because this really is the best school in the county. Trust me ive seen the other ones.I wish I could have stayed forever. Love you Cedar Lane. LIONS RULE!!!!

Cedar Lane Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
I volunteer a lot at Cedar Lane. I cover K-5, the atmosphere is very positive. The students receive Paw Prints for demonstrating acts of kindness. The Principal, Mr. Marple and Vice Principal, Mrs. Hines are active with the student body, staff and parents. I think the expectations of a school starts at the top. Mr. Marple defiantly sets the tone with a happy, supportive environment. He has an open door policy and is very easy to talk with. He works hard to have a team atmosphere. And it shows! Of course, kids have disagreements, however, these are taken care of immediately. I have 3 children. We have been at 2 other schools in Ashburn. And to tell you the truth, we have enjoyed all of them, however, Cedar Lane has a family environment. There are fun programs happening and everyone is involved. There is even a club for people who have English as their 2nd language. They pair up families that speak both languages. And toghether they attend the school programs. So bullying a problem...No, not at all. Just the opposite. Congratulations to the entire staff who make Cedar Lane a positive place to learn!


Cedar Lane Elementary School 1

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
This school lacks what many of the other Ashburn schools have. It's breeds a tolerance of bullying. The kids aren't properly supervised on the playground so when bullying issues occur, it is always one childs word against another and nothing is done. The bullied kids can't go to the administration and have no recourse but to switch schools. Very disappointed in this school.

Cedar Lane Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2013
- a parent
We have been at Cedar Lane for almost 5 years and it has been an amazing experience. There are many schools that can boast great test scores, but Cedar Lane is more than that. The school is a very special environment of tolerance and inclusion which is important for all students - from special ed to the gifted. The culture starts with the amazing administration and is pervasive throughout the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cedar Lane Elementary School
43700 Tolamac Dr, Ashburn, VA  20147
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (571) 252-2120
Last modified Cedar Lane Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top