Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stone Bridge High School

Public | 9-12 | 1851 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

My child attended SBHS for 2 years. She excelled academically, she had a nice group of friends, and actively participated in clubs, sports and music. I was pleased with the administration and teaching staff. She never had a problem with registration or getting into any if the classes she needed or wanted to take. The parent involvement was obvious. Sometimes I would see the same parents doing a lot of volunteering, but there seemed to be many willing to volunteer. Curriculum or Back to School night was really well attended, which makes me believe there are many parents at SBHS invested in their child's academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

I am currently a junior and have been pretty happy with Stone Bridge. Some of my teachers could do a lot better, I have friends with similar gpa in the same classes with a different teacher who are doing much better than me. It sucks to get an iffy teacher because the guidance dept makes switching classes very hard. Unfortunately, I have had to get a tutor just to keep up in two of my classes. I have only had this problem with math/science and language, the history and English teachers are top notch, especially history. I have loved history class all three years. I have thoroughly enjoyed the majority of my teachers, so don't get the wrong idea, it's just really difficult to have inadequate teacher junior year and I'm frustrated because I know I can do better. I am heavily involved in theater and consider the auditorium area my second home. Getting involved with something really helped me fit in, so if you're having trouble with the "clique" system it's a good idea. Stone Bridge has excellent extracurriculars all around, not just sports. We have award winning music and art depts, several great service clubs like Key Club, and all kinds of honor societies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2011

We have been nothing but pleased with Stone Bridge over the past four years! We believe our daughter received the best high school education in Loudoun County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Stone Bridge is an excellent school We loved it!! Although my children only attended the school for 2 years, I'd have to say, they had a wonderful high school experience there. The academics are top-notch, teachers and guidance counselors are extremely helpful and honestly care about the success of your child. There is a ton of school spirit and lots of extracurricular activities. Stone Bridge is filled 'happiness' and it provides a positive, fun environment. We hated to leave. I'd have to agree with an earlier post, 'Its the best school under the sun.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

Three of my children have attended Stone Bridge, and each has had a very positive experience. The teachers are all helpful, and seem to take an active interest in the students. A very welcoming environment, with some of the best academics I've seen. Community-oriented school, everyone is proud to be a Bulldog!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Stone Bridge exceeds the standard in education, athletics, school spirit, and interaction with its community and parents! It believes the future begins with our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

As a Stone Bridge alumna and aspiring educator, I'm saddened at the idea that I will not be able to perpetually attend or teach at SBHS! I have not encountered a single school like it in my rounds of subbing (in completely different districts) or practicum/student teaching. I truly wish all schools could measure up to the caliber of Stone Bridge. The teachers were amazing, the students actually took pride in achieving (yes, it was quite 'cool' to be in AP classes), the extracurricular activities were stellar, and the community really rallied around the school. I received an unmatchable education and lifelong friends (both peers and former teachers!) that I will cherish forever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2009

Good school but lacks diversity coming from a larger city it is quite an adjusment but the people are friendly just wish the student body had many other differnt races rather than just one dominant one with a few others it kinda makes things seem one sided.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

I think this is a first class high school. The facilities are amazing and most importantly every teacher is enthusiastic and determined to help your child succeed. It is so much easier to learn from inspired, happy teachers in a clean and well equipped environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

I graduated from SB in 2007 and I'm so proud to have been a bulldog! The staff is dedicated and everyone is very helpful. I loved how Mr. Person came to just about every after school activity! You'd see him at softball games, baseball games, soccer, football, and even band and choir concerts! He's definitely a very dedicated principle and really really cares about everyone at the school. There's definitely not fights everyday! There have been a few incidents but not often! And teachers really do care about the students success :) And athletics are great.... as you can probably tell from the recent football state championship :) I cannot say enough good things about this school! I loved it and if you go here, you'll be glad :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2008

SBHS is a great school i went here my freshman and sophomore yea and it was great! yeah, there are cliques but not to an extreme. Whoever said there are fights everyday is wrong because the 2 years i went there there were only 2 and made by the same groups. They offer great clases and the best teachers..Go Bulldogs~
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2007

I have taught here for five years and I reject completely the earlier post about 'fights every day'--utterly ridiculous. Our 1700 students are very well behaved, have good manners, fine parents, and really care about each other. There is no tolerance for any pushing or even loud behavior in the halls. We teachers stand outside our doors between classes and I see a great bunch of kids. Come and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 5, 2007

This school is a wonderful place to work, with a great deal of parental support and wonderful students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 30, 2007

This school is positively horrible, their is a new fight everyday If you have any other choice do not let your child come here Shaquana Williams
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

SBHS is an amazing place. Although a relatively new school, a large number of AP classes are offered, many athletic teams (cheerleading, football, soccer, volleyball, baseball, softball, +) have made it to states in their short history, and the fine arts program is superior (the most Cappie nominations of any school last year for the spring musical)! The principal has hired coaches and teachers that have the same vision he does in placing academics first. If you need help - it's there. If you want to start a club, it's easy enough to do. I loved this school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 7, 2006

I attended this school my junior year and it was awesome. They have the ultimate high school experience that everyone wishes they could have. The football , cheerleading and soccer are the backbones of the school besides it's one of the best academically.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 20, 2006

This school is the best under the sun! They offer a great, safe, and respectful learning environment and the teachers and administration is awesome! If anyone disagrees, they are out of their mind and retarded! Stone Bridge High School is the best high school ever built and I would not have it any other way!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2006

This is a large and reasonably diverse school. The cliques, i hear, are prevalent but hey its high school. There are some really great teachers that are dediceaed to their work. THis school is one of the best in the area academically and also when it comes to sports (football and cheerleading especially). Go bulldogs!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2005

An over all good school. My child started attending the school this year and her grades have improved dramaticly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2005

SBHS is a good school considering it's still fairly new. Like others have said, the guidance dept could do a lot better (mine knew almost nothing about me besides my file and wasn't too helpful). The sports are focused on more than other things, but everything else doesn't necessarily take the backseat to sports. Academics are really recognized too, with awards and ceremonies. The teachers are overall great, helpful and caring about you on a level beyond just student. Lots of AP classes, though preparing for the AP exams could use a little work. Sbhs seems to be mostly your typical high school, maybe not as clique-ish as I have seen, but mostly pretty typical. Really pretty friendly, I moved after 10th grade and found friends and fit in pretty easily.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

527 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

480 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
99%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students83%
Female students85%
Male students80%
Black students83%
Asian students89%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Algebra II

All Students82%
Female students84%
Male students80%
Black students65%
Asian students90%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial70%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English82%

Biology

All Students98%
Female students98%
Male students98%
Black students100%
Asian students98%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial100%
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities86%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%

Chemistry

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students87%
Black students82%
Asian students88%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial83%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Earth Science

All Students94%
Female students94%
Male students94%
Black students81%
Asian students90%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial94%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

English: Reading

All Students97%
Female students98%
Male students97%
Black students96%
Asian students100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial93%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities84%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

English: Writing

All Students96%
Female students97%
Male students96%
Black students100%
Asian students95%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial96%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities86%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

Geometry

All Students86%
Female students85%
Male students87%
Black students73%
Asian students93%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial76%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English86%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students96%
Female students95%
Male students97%
Black students96%
Asian students95%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial93%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities88%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students94%
Female students93%
Male students95%
Black students83%
Asian students98%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

World History II

All Students93%
Female students90%
Male students96%
Black students83%
Asian students92%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial85%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. James E. Person

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43100 Hay Road
Ashburn, VA 20147
Phone: (571) 252-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT