Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Legacy Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
The very best! A great balance of teachers with lots of experience and some newer teachers with lots of enthusiasm and great new ideas!

Legacy Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
Depending on the grade, the amount is appropriately assigned. Having experienced about 15 different teachers in this school, every single one of them has said that "Homework should never cause tears!" and will encourage you to modify, if needed. They will also understand if you have an unusual night, and need to do it the next day.


Legacy Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
The school does an amazing job of incorporating all of it's students into one big happy family. There is a pre-school for special needs in the school and many of the main stream students go out of their way to be inclusive and supportive. Helping them with the pledge, in the hallway, being reading buddies etc.

Legacy Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
The school works hard to encourage a positive school environment. The kids feel proud of the work they accomplish.

Legacy Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
I have had three boys go through Legacy Elementary School and can not say enough good things about it. Administration, teachers, staff and volunteers. Everyone comes together to make this the best school! We were moving from our original house in Brambleton and I was VERY specific about not looking at any homes outside of what we considered "safe" Legacy boundaries. Can't imagine my boys going anywhere else. We were worried when Mr. Duckworth retired that the school would change, but the transition has been almost seamless. Mr. Dickersheid is equally as wonderful at leading this great group of students and families!


Legacy Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
Both of our children went to this school and they both had a great experience. The school is very well managed.

Legacy Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
We have two boys in this school and could not be happier with the dedication and support the staff show at every turn. The sense of community is carried through in the school and the principal is approachable and very open to suggestions/recommendations. When the PTO was in danger of not having a president this year he reached out personally to the parents to fill the position. Yes, the school is over-crowded and our oldest has struggled, but his teacher has communicated every step of the way and the support we have received has been outstanding. The staff has come up with creative ways to help both of our children learn and I am particularly impressed with the different levels of teaching material offered based on individual student ability. Brambleton is very fortunate to have such a wonderful school.

Legacy Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2012
- a parent
I love this school. There is a strong emphasis for parental involvement by volunteering. The principal is ever present throughout the school, not sitting behind the desk all day. He knows the kids and the kids know him. He is highly regarded throughout the county and it shows in his staff. The only downside is that it is currently the largest elementary school in the county with grade overflow every year. But, that is due to the tremendous amount of community growth in the Brambleton area. The school still manages to run efficiently and effectively. I can only say positive things about Legacy ES.


Legacy Elementary School 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
We love this school! Great teachers that seem to love what they do. Our children feel challenged and enjoy going to school each day.

Legacy Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2012
- a parent
Great school, arguably one of the best principal, nice curteous supporting staff as well. My son had really great teachers all the way till 4th grade; 4th grade teacher is a little new; no correction of papers, etc, put us a little anxious some times to see how good our son is doing. Do not get me wrong, she is equally competent and well qualified, just that less feedback compared to other grades.

Nearby schools

Legacy Elementary School
22995 Minerva Dr, Ashburn, VA  20148
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (703) 957-4425
Last modified Legacy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top