Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ashburn Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 679 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2013

AES has really started to decline since a new principal came on board. There is a lack of a sense of community now. The teacher morale is at an all time low evidenced by the mass exodus of staff this past year. We used to be rated a 9 out of 10 and was a wonderful environment for my children to be educated in. Now the school is run more like a business and less like an educational institution. The focus is more on the image and less on the character of the students being educated. The teachers are doing the best they can but get little to no support from the administration. There is definite tension felt between staff and the administration and makes for a very uncomfortable learning environment. The lack of genuineness and no real sense of caring from the administration and this alienates a lot of families and their overall willingness to participate in school activities. I hope the school board wakes up and steps in soon before this school continues its downward spiral. As more teachers leave you will be left with an uncaring administration and beaten down or equally apathetic teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

AES is an awesome school. My son moved in from CT during the mid-year and we have had no anxious moments at all as he had such a smooth transition. Principal, Teachers and the rest of the staff are amazing. The students are also equally excellent. Totally AES can be graded as great elementary school in Ashburn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

We just completed our first year at Ashburn Elementary School. We are a military family so this is not our first elementary school. AES had a new principle last year and is going through a few growing pains, as to be expected, but over all it's still a wonderful school with caring and gifted teachers. There is a lot of parent involvement, which is wonderful, though you do deal with the cliques that can be difficult to break into. Families who live in Ashburn are friendly but tend to be very busy so it's difficult being new and making true friends. I feel this bleeds over into the atmosphere of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

My daughter came from Costa Rica speaking no English. The teachers welcomed her and created a comfortable learning environment for her. Soon she started learning English and making friends with her new classmates. Loudoun county schools rank best in the United States and now I can see why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

This is one of the best elementary school. After so much of analysis, we moved to Ashburn from Herndon. My son started his 1st grade here and is in end of 2nd grade doing extremely excellent. From Principal to Teachers, they are an awesome bunch. Whatever he is now and will be in future, I am sure, these teachers are the foundation. I really appreciate the way the classes are designed with all levels of kids. The balance the teachers do is really amazing. I have seen some kids transition from the lowest level in the beginning and one of the best at the end of the year. I would always recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

I loooove Ashburn Elem. The teachers and principal are wonderful. We moved here from Vienna(Oakton) in Fairfax County and we've never looked back. My son is doing so much better than he was in Fairfax.The Staff is very supportive and really care.There's so much to do here. I recommend this school to anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

This is a wonderful school. We are relocating this summer and can only hope our children's next school is as good as Ashburn has been. It is academically sound and offers many extracurrical and other activities for the children and their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

My son transferred from Fairfax County to Ashburn Elementary in mid-year, so we were afraid of how he would adjust to the new school, and how that would affect his grades. However, upon visiting it and meeting some of the staff, we immediately felt really good about the new school . And now that my son has been there for the past year and we got to know some of the parents and teachers, I can tell you Ashburn is a great school, with a principal and staff who really care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students85%
Male students73%
Black students23%
Asian students83%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students79%
Female students83%
Male students76%
Black students31%
Asian students100%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students88%
Female students90%
Male students87%
Black students40%
Asian students100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students81%
Male students69%
Black students30%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students84%
Female students81%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students84%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students83%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

English: Writing

All Students87%
Female students93%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students84%
Female students86%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students89%
Female students86%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

44062 Fincastle Dr
Ashburn, VA 20147
Phone: (571) 252-2350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Virginia Academy
Ashburn, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT