Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Lee Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 665 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

I came in knowing the reputation for this school. Although it isnt as bad as I had originally heard (fights, drugs were not as rampant as I had heard) the communication is lacking. Its nearly impossible to keep up with what work your children have due, guidance doesnt respond to correspondence. Children are not able to retrieve things from their lockers more than twice a day, forget your lunch? Either buy or dont eat because you can't go get it. Like many schools these days classes are split up between quiet, well behaved and everyone else not actual tests scores for gifted classes. I gave them two stars because there are some very caring teachers there doing the best they can with the situation and homework levels are more appropriate than some schools I've seen. Dont expect any real sports here, the county decided these weren't necessary (even after someone stepped forward offering to donate the money to keep them going). The school board here is useless but the new superintendent seems better than the last so far. Really wish I had another option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

My youngest son attended Cedar Lee Middile school and simply put, it was a very disappointing and frustrating experience for him and his parents. Mr. Parker as a principal seems to be fairly oblivious to what goes on in his building as he has teachers (6th grade math) who do not follow county pacing guides allowing for poor results on SOL's test. Unprofessional e mails have been sent by teachers (7th grade Civics) along with grading practices that do not accurately reflect what the student is doing in class. My oldest son attended Taylor Middle school and there is simply no comparison. Cedar Lee was a major disappointment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

I didn't like the principal very much, but the teachers were amazing when I was there. Sure I came to school later into the year, the teachers helped me catch up. The elective teachers are just as amazing as the core teachers.


Posted May 28, 2010

As a parent of a child who has attended Cedar Lee for 2 years I can honestly say my husband and I are both are disappointed in the school. Our original impression of the Principal was a good one, but after walking in hearing him yelling at the front of the cafeteria one day that has changed. There are some wonderful teachers at this school who truly care about the children, but there are some who do the bare minimum, don't respond to calls and yell at the children. The site is not updated and often calls and emails are not responded to. My son, who is smaller then the other children, has been beaten up repeatedly (on the record). On the advice of his psychologist we will be homeschooling our son next school year or 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

I love my school. Even though I do not like the principal that much... I love the teachers like Mr. Almarode, Mrs. Davis, Mr. Bern, Mrs. Woods, Mrs. McCluskey, Mr. Harris, Mrs. Rossell, Mrs. Harvel & Mr. Lee (The assistant principal.) Our school is really fun & our teachers are amazing, but we still learn. I wouldn't want our school any other way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2006

CLMS is a great school! No only in the classroom but in other activities as well! The kids have coaches that not only give them confidence but help them as players too. Also other activities like the NJHS the SCA and the FFA are a great way to get the students involved! The number of activities to do after school grows every year! it really gives the students some thing to look forward too!! Cedar Lee Middle School is a great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

Cedar Lee has been nothing but Grrrrreat!!! I love my sons teachers, The Principal, and especially Mr.Harris and Mr.Dodson, the football coaches... They have built his self-esteem and taught him to stay driven... I am sooooo happy with the level of discipline that is expected in Cedar Lees Football program. What a spirited school!! The principal is just #1. Soooo enthusiastic about all of the children, and it was great to see him after school at the football game and supporting the NJHS. So far I absolutely LOVE Cedar Lee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

Cedar Lee was a big disappointment for my family. My son was GT and placed in remedial classes. I had to come in and push for my son to get into GT courses where he should have been from the beginning. Acadmenics should be #1, not sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

Maybe a bit crowded, but Mr. Parker maintains his school well! He keeps the children interested in school, he goes above and beyond most principals by becomming involved with the children's extra curricular activities and by maintaining some form of an appropriate principal/student relationship with all students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

Cedar Lee is the most overcrowded school in the county. It contains close 700 students while the other county schools have 350 or less. A lot of special education classrooms are located at Cedar Lee which makes the test scores look lower but the students are coming in to the school at lower levels with lower ability. The teachers work hard and the new principal is promoting a lot of parental involvement. I think that my child is getting as good of an education as he can but the class size is huge (28,29,30 to a classroom)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students81%
Male students70%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students71%
Female students76%
Male students65%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students80%
Male students70%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students30%
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students62%
Female students64%
Male students61%
Black students43%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students70%
Male students62%
Black students44%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

English: Writing

All Students69%
Female students79%
Male students62%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students78%
Female students81%
Male students76%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students81%
Female students79%
Male students83%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students98%
Female students100%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11138 Marsh Road
Bealeton, VA 22712
Phone: (540) 439-3207

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Highland School
Warrenton, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT