Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cedar Lee Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 28, 2016
- a teacher
The administration and my team members in the eighth grade are amazing and I am glad to be a member of Cedar Lee.

Cedar Lee Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 28, 2016
- a teacher
Depending on the teacher and level of class will determine the amount of work each student is given nightly/weekly.


Cedar Lee Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a teacher
High level classes along with teachers who are determined to require students to move through difficult material with mastery.

Cedar Lee Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a teacher
Cedar Lee has a high percentage of students who are LD, ID, and other expectatalities. The culture at the school focuses on respect and compassion for all.

Cedar Lee Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a teacher
Students are held accountable. The administration does not allow bullying behavior to go undisciplined. (as long as they know it is happening).


Cedar Lee Middle School 5

Posted March 28, 2016
- a teacher
I could not feel any more welcomed and encouraged as a new teacher at Cedar Lee. I previously taught at public schools and I love how Cedar Lee has a similar style. Teachers are not micromanaged, we are given time to plan, meetings are reasonable, and we are encouraged to do our job rather than teach to a test. The students are great with the occasional problem. This is a school you want to work for.

Cedar Lee Middle School 2

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Unfortunately this school is as bad as everyone says. Most teachers don't seem to discipline so most classes are out of control. Very disruptive students continue their terror. There is a lot of bullying that doesn't get addressed. Overall if you can avoid sending your child here do it.

Cedar Lee Middle School 2

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
I came in knowing the reputation for this school. Although it isnt as bad as I had originally heard (fights, drugs were not as rampant as I had heard) the communication is lacking. Its nearly impossible to keep up with what work your children have due, guidance doesnt respond to correspondence. Children are not able to retrieve things from their lockers more than twice a day, forget your lunch? Either buy or dont eat because you can't go get it. Like many schools these days classes are split up between quiet, well behaved and everyone else not actual tests scores for gifted classes. I gave them two stars because there are some very caring teachers there doing the best they can with the situation and homework levels are more appropriate than some schools I've seen. Dont expect any real sports here, the county decided these weren't necessary (even after someone stepped forward offering to donate the money to keep them going). The school board here is useless but the new superintendent seems better than the last so far. Really wish I had another option.


Cedar Lee Middle School 1

Posted November 13, 2011
- a parent
My youngest son attended Cedar Lee Middile school and simply put, it was a very disappointing and frustrating experience for him and his parents. Mr. Parker as a principal seems to be fairly oblivious to what goes on in his building as he has teachers (6th grade math) who do not follow county pacing guides allowing for poor results on SOL's test. Unprofessional e mails have been sent by teachers (7th grade Civics) along with grading practices that do not accurately reflect what the student is doing in class. My oldest son attended Taylor Middle school and there is simply no comparison. Cedar Lee was a major disappointment

Cedar Lee Middle School 3

Posted July 15, 2011
- a community member
I didn't like the principal very much, but the teachers were amazing when I was there. Sure I came to school later into the year, the teachers helped me catch up. The elective teachers are just as amazing as the core teachers.

Nearby schools

Cedar Lee Middle School
11138 Marsh Rd, Bealeton, VA  22712
(540) 439-3207
Last modified Cedar Lee Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top