Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blacksburg High School

Public | 9-12 | 1090 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended programs

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

I'm a student at blacksburg high and i love it. the teachers are incredibly awesome and dont make students want to shoot up the place. they try hard to motivate students and the students all try to include everyone which they suceeded at. Im so glad i was able to go to this school. and they teach a ton of electives and languages not just what it says under extracurricular activities so check us out! GO BRUINS!


Posted November 1, 2010

BHS is a wonderful school - high academic standards, close knit community, diverse and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

the teachers, coaches and academic standards are amazing! but we have no school building . . . we need a new high school ASAP!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

The cross country team is awesome...a no cut sport that exemplifies true team spirit and personal best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

Blacksburg Highschool has wonderful, devoted teachers, great spirit, and aspiring diligent students. But we do not have a roof over our head since the gym collapsed in February. Parents, community leaders, students, and concerned citizens fight now for a new school to be built.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Our gym collapsed and our school has been closed. The local politicians cannot agree what to do next. We need financial help to build a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

BHS has had a difficult time over the years, however, the students, faculty, staff and BHS community have overcome the hardships with spirit and pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The excellent teaching in less than perfect conditions. The sense of community spirit and bonding in the face of tragedy ie the 4/16/06 VT shooting and the 2/13/10 gym collpse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Blacksburg only has 1 high school and is in great need of a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

My husband and I went to Blacksburg High School, and both of our kids are BHS students. A large section of the school collapsed last February, and our county is reluctant to pay for a new school. Please help us replace our school!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

BHS is a high school with a dedicated, hard working staff of teachers and administration along with an involved parent community. Our kids have a challenging and diverse academic curriculum at their fingertips. Success is theirs if they choose it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

It has always been a top-notch school in providing an excellent education for kids who tend to do very well when moving on to college. They recently had their gym collapse and are in some turmoil in deciding how to proceed (renovate vs. build a neew school)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I love Blacksburg High School, because my daughter goes there, my older daughter went there and I have 2 other children that will be going there in the near future. Also Blacksburg High School is in need of a new school, since the gym fell down in February 2010 and the rest of the school is not safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

BHS rocks and as an alumni, and parent of a 9th grader i would like very much to see construction of a new building~ ours collapsed 8 months ago and funding is not forthcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The children and teachers have such great respect for each other. They work together through the great times and through the really rough times (such as when the gym collapsed in the winter of 2010 and the rest of the high school building has been closed since). The county has been working, but struggling, to come up with the money to build a new high school. The students and teachers have shown enourmous courage as they focus on learning and character building during this very difficult time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Blacksburg is a wonderfull community! Unfortunately our school gym collapsed in Feb. 2010 due to the large amount of snow on the roof. We were lucky no one was injured. Our high school students and teachers had to finish out the year going to school in the evening at the middle school facility, which is not large enough. This fall our community has decided to place the high school students in the middle school, which again is not large enough, and the middle school students are attending school in Christiansburg. An old middle school was quickly up fitted for the middle schoolers. Unfortunately this school is not large enough either. The students are riding the bus for an hour each way to get to and from a school that is not in our town. Our teachers and students have been very adaptable, and are working hard to make the best of things, but we need help!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

BHS needs to be rebuilt after the gym roof collapsed in Feb. 2010. We are in dire need of assistance, as our rural county is in southwest Virginia. Currently students are housed in the middle school and the middle school students attend school in another town..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Lots of great memories and friendships formed there. A shame our children are being shuffled around because the schools roof fell in. Help them with their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

It's a vital part of my community, and my son and two stepdaughters went there. Unfortunately it was built upon karst out of substandard materials which resulted in its partial collapse. Consequently we need to either make extensive repairs or build a new one on a more suitable site.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Our community has been struggling to create an appopriate environment for 2200 hundred kids and their teachers since our high school gym collapsed 8 months ago. It has negatively impacted kids of all ages, families, and teachers. We are in the middle of a political mess and a power struggle to find the solution to our problems. Winning the money can only help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
75%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students68%
Female students70%
Male students67%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Algebra II

All Students67%
Female students62%
Male students72%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Biology

All Students91%
Female students90%
Male students91%
Black students67%
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Chemistry

All Students89%
Female students82%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Earth Science

All Students89%
Female students89%
Male students89%
Black students60%
Asian students91%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

English: Reading

All Students92%
Female students90%
Male students94%
Black students86%
Asian students94%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial95%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

English: Writing

All Students91%
Female students92%
Male students89%
Black students94%
Asian students94%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial95%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Geometry

All Students86%
Female students93%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students92%
Female students88%
Male students95%
Black students94%
Asian students94%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial100%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students89%
Female students92%
Male students87%
Black students55%
Asian students95%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students92%
Proficient in English89%

World History II

All Students93%
Female students90%
Male students96%
Black students86%
Asian students92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brian Kitts

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3109 Prices Fork Rd.
Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone: (540) 951-5706

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Christiansburg High School
Christiansburg, VA



Tekoa Community School
Christiansburg, VA


Independence Secondary
Christiansburg, VA


Pathway Christian Academy
Christiansburg, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT