Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Blacksburg, VA
Students enrolled: 27

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gateway Christian School 5

Posted January 16, 2010
- a parent
So thankful to all the teachers and staff for their hardwork and dedication in making Gateway such an awesome place. I have seen so many improvements over the past few years. The traditional classes were a much needed change. I am so happy to see this school continue to move forward in excellence while keeping God first.

Gateway Christian School 5

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
As a graduate of Gateway, and a parent of two current students, I must strongly disagree with the April 29, 2008 review. The 2008/2009 school year may prove to be the best year yet at Gateway. The school has moved away from the ACE curriculum and is back to a traditional classroom format using the ABEKA curriculum. They have a larger, more qualified staff than ever before. In past years, there was too much 'free time' for the students. The school now has far more structure and students are learning the importance of good study habits. The dress code, which had been slipping for several years, has been much improved. Most importantly, I am thrilled with the increased emphasis on the spiritual growth of my children. I think it's important to remember that negative reviews often come from disgruntled former church members or parents who did not fully support the school.


Gateway Christian School 5

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
Excellent learning environment.

Gateway Christian School 5

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Gateway Christian School 1

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
My personal rule has always been to say nothing rather than be negative in any situation, but I'm breaking my own rule in the hopes that I may keep someone from making the same mistake as I did. Gateway is not the school that it once was. My child spent his last year of High School being homeschooled in order to complete grades 11 & 12 and graduate on time with a diploma that meant more than simply, I went to school for 13 years! Instead of having a senior year to remember with lifelong friends and celebration, my child began school in July and worked long days including several weekends, with only his family for support and encouragement. Parents, take an interest in your child's schoolwork beyond grades and parent/teacher conferences. Be aware of the knowledge required for each grade level and make certain that your child acquires it.


Gateway Christian School 1

Posted February 06, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Gateway Christian School 5

Posted May 30, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gateway Christian School
2196 Harding Road, Blacksburg, VA  24060
(540) 951-0681
Last modified Gateway Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Gateway Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top