Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Colonial Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 476 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

My school is Colonial Elementary School. My great-granddaughter is a 3rd grade student there. She seems happy at school and with her teachers. She is a good student. I have seen their curriculum on line and have seen some of my great-granddaughters school work. It seems extremely well presented and able to teach the children to achieve high levels of learning. I am glad my "little girl" is going to this charter school


Posted May 13, 2010

Wonderful school! My granddaughter has had a great year.


Posted April 16, 2010

The staff is very caring and my daughter's teacher's make learning fun! There is a sense of community within the building:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Learning at Colonial is fun. The teachers and staff are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Great teachers and staff. Extremely helpful and care a great deal for the education and well being of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I went to this school as a child and I currently have two children attending. The building is well maintained and the staff is professional and very caring to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Teachers and staff are the BEST anyone could ever ask for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Because the staff care about the kids. They educate them far more than I was when we went there. The community at the school pull together when there is a need. Example deaths, and house fires, children in need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

The teachers truly care about each and every student in the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

The most caring and organized principal I have ever been associated with. That caring definitely filters down to the teachers and in return to the children. My son has never enjoyed school until attending Colonial Elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The teachers and staff are wonderful and you know that they care about the kids. My kids love school! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I love Colonial because the staff is great and they all do thier best. There are many opportunities for children to learn in different ways. My children have loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Colonial Elementary has the best staff there ever could be!! I am so glad my son goes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Great teachers and a wonderful community!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Staff is very friendly, & loving towards the children. Kids love their school and their staff. Very well organized and has the absolute best communication between the staff and the parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

We have a great school because of the wonderful Principals & Teachers we have. They truly love their jobs and it shows through our children's success and love of school!! We truly do have the best school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

It's a great school because of the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The staff is very caring and goes out of their way for the students. Very good school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Colonial has been like a second home to my kids for the last 10 years. I have met some incredible, caring teachers there. They are very personal and friendly. I'm proud to be the parent of a Colonial student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The special ed preschool program is wonderful!!! Great teachers, aids, staff...love the school and so does my daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students66%
Male students69%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students70%
Female students68%
Male students72%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

Science

All Students82%
Female students82%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students71%
Male students60%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Math

All Students64%
Female students71%
Male students59%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students73%
Male students76%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

English: Writing

All Students72%
Female students85%
Male students54%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students52%
Female students54%
Male students50%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students52%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English52%

Science

All Students69%
Female students66%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2941 Webster Rd
Blue Ridge, VA 24064
Phone: (540) 977-6773

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT