Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Bristol, VA
Students enrolled: 248

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sullins Academy 2

Posted January 20, 2014
- a parent
About three or four years ago the headmaster and leadership began a technology initiative that has become an obsession to the point where the education of the children suffered. It is essentially on-line education and job-training for the masses. Although Sullins has many wonderful teachers, their hands are tied and the curriculum has been steadily dumbed down. By the end of third grade our child did not know the multiplication tables, still used their fingers, and was struggling with Every Day Math, a math curriculum from the University of Chicago, a central component for Common Core math. There are discipline problems because some unscrupulous parents are unwilling to do the work of parenting their children. They demand sunshine and roses be pumped into every classroom, every day. It seems that's what they paid for. Teachers are forced to teach to the tests, which are not timed. And reviews for tests are the actual tests themselves. Everyone gets and A, and everyone is a winner. The children are not being well served, and the teachers are not respected. We have pulled our children out after five years.

Sullins Academy 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
I have been very satisfied with the education that my boys received at Sullins Academy. All the reasons that you consider paying for private education are here. Small class size ensures that your child gets personalized attention. The teachers are highly qualified and enjoy their work. Good character is much more likely to be learned when it is instilled by men and women who already have it and you are surrounded by peers that come from families where it is an expectation. I appreciate that there are several male teachers to be role models for my boys. Parent involvement is high. Communication between teachers and parents is routine. The head of school is visible, accessible, and very caring. The facilities are impressive and are well maintained.


Sullins Academy 5

Posted January 16, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sullins Academy 2

Posted September 11, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sullins Academy 5

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
I have one child who recently graduated from Sullins, one in their lower school program and one in pre-school. My children have attended other schools before we found Sullins. It's by far the best we have ever been involved with. S.A. has exceeded all expectations!


Sullins Academy 1

Posted May 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sullins Academy 5

Posted November 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sullins Academy 5

Posted April 25, 2007
- a parent
My son has been a student at S.A. for almost 6 years. The teaching staff at Sullins is great and you are encouraged to get involved in all aspects of your childs education. Their are plenty extra-curricular activities to round everything out. Sullins has a family atmosphere and school spirit that is rare in most schools. Also, the students are deeply involved in giving back and volunteering their time in the surrounding community. The dress code is fair and the students stick to a strict honor code-we don't even have locks on our lockers! I highly recommend Sullins without hesitation.


Sullins Academy 5

Posted February 11, 2007
- a parent
We have been with the Sullins family for 5 years now. Everyone is so close parents,faculty, and students that is just like a family environment. The teachers, faculty, and staff know your children and the parents on a personal life. The circulum is above and beyond what you get from a public school.

Sullins Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2006
- a parent
My child has had a very positive experience at Sullins. She has excelled in the small classes & with the individual attention given by caring teachers. There are plenty of enrichment activities to be involved in which foster self-esteem.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sullins Academy
22218 Sullins Academy Dr, Bristol, VA  24202
(276) 669-4101
Last modified Sullins Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Sullins Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top