Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bristow Run Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 745 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2013

I'm excited that Bristow Run is now part of the Global Schools Initiative. Only 3 schools in Prince William County were chosen for the program. My first grader is learning about the geography and culture of countries around the world, and she loves it! The principal and assistant principal are very caring and dedicated to the students and staff. Three of our kids have gone to Bristow Run, and we've been very happy with the wonderful teachers, the curriculum and level of academic challenge, communication with parents, and the leadership team. We also have enjoyed the great PTO activities. The school has always been terrific, but it's even better now that it's not overcrowded anymore, like it was until 2011.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

BRES is not quite what it used to be as many of the better teachers followed the previous principal to form a new school elsewhere in the county in 2011. All in all, it is still a good school. It is just not quite as good as it used to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Fantastic school! Great teachers, fantastic Principal and Assistant Principal. Top notch programs along with wonderful volunteers, admin staff, etc. This is a very friendly school with outstanding staff at all levels. I could not ask for a better school for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

Truly one of the BEST. Teacher communication is wonderful, and Mrs. Werle takes the time to address parent concerns. Parent volunteers are extraordinary, and we couldn't be happier sending our kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

The principal addresses individual concerns with amazing patience and understanding! Not mentioning his devotion in all the activities...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

This school is awesome. I moved to my house because of this school. They are warm and welcoming and the staff si caring and pro-active
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

This is the friendliest school I have ever been involved with. The teachers are knowledgable and obviously doing what they love...teaching our children. I couldn't ask for any more for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I moved my 2nd grader to this school from out of state and I am amazed with the teacher involvement both inside and outside of the classroom. Everyday my child's teacher communicates through notes or emails about what is going on in the classroom and with my child personally. The school has a weekly newsletter and constant extracurricular activities and functions. This is the most involved public school! We couldn't ask for a more nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

My son attended BRE from K-4 - until a job relocation took us out of state. This school is EXCELLENT. The entire staff is wonderful -- you have to love a school where the principal takes the time to learn all of the student's names! We were really impressed with the anti-bulling campain. The guidance staff is attentive and quick to assist in any way they can. The teachers are all top-notch and really listen to the kids! We were really sad to leave this school. We have not been successful in finding a school as good as BRE. My son comments everyday about how disorganized his new school is...and is NOTHING like BRE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

My daughter is a student at Bristow Run and we love it! She is very happy there and the teachers have been really great. The principal and admin staff are all very approachable and the kids really love them. I can't say enough great things about the teachers. I'm so glad my kids are in this school district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

My two children go the Bristow Run and love it! The teachers are all top notch and wonderful. They truly care about the children. The Principal and Assistant Principal are strong leaders and very involved in the school! They have numerous educational programs to enhance their curriculum. I could not ask for a better education than the one they are receving now. I can't say enough about this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

We as well as my daughter love Bristow Run. They offer numerous extracuricular activities and programs after school. They also offer music, art, foreign language, computer, science during the school day. There are always many parents volunteering at the school everyday, all with smiles on their faces. Our daughter is now in 4th grade and we have loved every teacher and she has not had one bad experience. The principal is excellent, he is very involved and active with the children. Overall, I'd give Bristow Run an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

My kids loved this school. they loved the school song and all of their teachers were excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

My 2 sons have attended this school for 5 yrs. We love it! We have always felt welcome, the school is full of parent volunteers all the time! We think the teachers are awesome, and are very pleased with the level of instruction our boys have received. We won't move so we can finish our children's elementary education here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2003

Bristow Run Elementary School far exceeds my expectations. The quality of the teachers is the highest I've seen in any school and the leadership under Mr. Andrew Buchheit and Ms. Jo Linda Toth is the best in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

116 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students89%
Male students73%
Black students73%
Asian students76%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial83%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students76%
Female students82%
Male students70%
Black students53%
Asian students88%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial67%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students90%
Female students87%
Male students92%
Black students73%
Asian students94%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial92%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students86%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students91%
Female students89%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities88%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students85%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial85%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

English: Writing

All Students82%
Female students85%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracial69%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students92%
Female students93%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial85%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

Science

All Students85%
Female students82%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracial100%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8990 Worthington Dr
Bristow, VA 20136
Phone: (703) 753-7741

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Linton Hall School
Bristow, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT