Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Linton Hall School

Private | PK-8 | 306 students

Our school is best know for helping children reach their fullest potential.

 

Living in Bristow

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $335,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,450.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 28 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2014

Our family moved to the area from out of state and have found Linton Hall School to be an inclusive, welcoming environment. Our child has thrived socially and emotionally, and as an upper school student, is showing an unprecedented enthusiasm for learning. Our child continues to rank in the top 5% nationally on standardized tests, and has meaningful dialogue with engaged, well-qualified, dedicated teachers. If you're looking for a caring environment with smaller classes and academic rigor, come take a tour and experience this gem of a school for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

Linton Hall School is a wonderful school that prepares students for high achievement in high school. The teachers are well-qualified and always have the best interest of the students at heart. My children are learning well and thriving at Linton Hall School! The school has a great curriculum and a beautiful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

Private School can get away with hiring many unqualified & unlicensed teachers, which is easily seen in the low standardized test scores. Great school for stay at home moms, you can literally stay at the school all day with no questions asked. Grades are assigned not for merit, but to placate the parents. Standardized scores say all. My daughter went from 99th percentile and then to 50% in one year due to an unqualified teacher. My complaints were ignored, and worst of all, my daughter was discriminated against due to my actions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

I am an alumnus of Linton Hall and have so many great memories at this school. The education and values I recieved here have without a doubt made me who am I today. This school and community not only prepares you for high school, it also prepares you for college and beyond. The faculty and staff at Linton Hall truly care about each and every student. The school community is very loving and welcomes you back long after you have graduated 8th grade.


Posted October 30, 2013

Linton Hall School was 'home' to our family for 14 wonderful years. During this time our children were nurtured academically, socially, and spiritually. The Benedictine traditions, which are the basis for the love and compassion shown to all who pass through Linton Hall's doors, are a wonderful foundation in which to teach academics and life skills. My children left Linton Hall well prepared to excel in high school, and attend academically challenging colleges. Linton Hall is not just a particular teacher, class or program - it is the combined experience of all of these, which develop our children to go out and become successful adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Great school. Both of my children will remain at LHS for the full 8 years. The teachers all have their best interests at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

I attended Linton Hall School from K - 8 and can honestly say I was thoroughly prepared for high school. The academics at Linton Hall obviously surpass those of the local public schools, as I found the advanced freshman and sophomore classes to be easier than some classes I took at Linton Hall. I loved the personal attention afforded to the students due to the small class size, the sense of community, the involvement with the Sisters and their other ministries, and knowing that there was always someone there who i could turn to if I needed anything.


Posted October 30, 2013

Linton Hall School has been a wonderful experience for our children. It provides a small family atmosphere where there is no question that the learning process will not be disrupted by bullying, unruly children, etc. They celebrate the children striving for excellence, so that the children want to succeed in the classroom and in their activities and are not made to feel embarrassed by doing well. Additionally, having the sisters involved is a unique element to the school. It provides the children with another perspective of service by seeing the sisters minister to the children and to others in the community who need their help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

I am a student at Linton Hall, and we have a great school community. Linton Hall has a supportive staff, and we are all a family. I play sports for the school, and the coaches are very friendly and have helped me become a better athlete and a better person.


Posted October 30, 2013

I have four children who attended and graduated from Linton Hall School. They all have very different personalities, but each of them thrived academically and socially in the nurturing environment of Linton Hall. Two have already graduated from high school and college with honors and are now doing well in the work force. The younger two are still in high school where they are at the top of their respective classes. They all have very fond memories of their years at Linton Hall and all of their teachers, some of which are still their "favorite". We as parents, as well as the children, have continued to stay involved with the community we spent so many years a part of. It is like "home" for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Linton Hall is an excellent academic school for our kids - it is a place where the kids can learn without disruption. Many kids start high school a grade ahead in reading and math. The school is able to provide challenges to kids who need it in certain subjects while helping others who need support. There is a sense that learning and achievement is something to be celebrated. There are also plenty of options for extracurricular activities that take into account varied interests like athletics, art club, chess club, music, Fife and Drum, etc. Our child has really enjoyed the Fife and Drum corps. He has learned musical skills, performance skills, discipline, and patriotism. They perform at school functions, but they also perform at outside functions sometimes performing for our military veterans. I have been to many events for the Fife and Drum corps, and without fail, the kids are always complimented on their skill, their behavior and for their love of country. All of the students at Linton Hall are a wonderful reflection of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

My daughter attended Linton Hall School for 9 years starting in Kindergarten. It was the best investment I could have made in her education. She learned not only the "ABC's" but also a great foundation for her high school education. She learned alot about respect for others and how important it is to be a part of the community. My daughter is now 16 and credits alot of her successes with the foundation Linton Hall provided. She often says she wishes Linton Hall had a high school- she would be first to sign up. Linton Hall is more than a brick and mortar building that provides and education. Linton Hall is a special place where memories, friendships and values are developed and fostered. I made a great decision on my daughter's behalf by sending her to Linton Hall. We will both treasure every minute we walked through the arches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Linton Hall School provides excellent academics & caters to each child as an individual - they help the advanced child excel & give additional help to those kids who need it. LHS is an amazing "family" environment. The children are taught more than academics - they are taught to love one another & treat everyone with respect. We love the small class sizes & the teachers truly care about our kids & their success. Choosing LHS is one of the BEST decisions we've made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Linton Hall School is a major treasure in the Northern Virginia area and our family encourages everyone to explore the school and to talk to parents of current students. The academics are top notch, and students are given constant opportunities to develop critical thinking skills. The faculty and staff help shape students in to organized, poised, confident and responsible individuals. The sense of community is another strong element of the school. Parents are engaged and truly work together to develop top-notch events that either raise funds or provide a wonderful opportunity for the school community to get together and enjoy an experience. The Benedictine Sisters are warm, loving and proud of their ministries. LHS works to incorporate the Benedictine principles in to the learning experience so that students understand and experience the Benedictine philosophies. We have thoroughly enjoyed our years at LHS, look forward to the years ahead, and strongly recommend the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Linton Hall is a school where everyone knows your child, and protects and guides them as though they were their own. They also strive to bring out the best in each child. We have been at LHS for 6 years and my children are thriving and love school. They are respected and loved by all of the teachers and staff. They are encouraged to be well rounded, and do their best in all aspects of their lives. Academics are strong, and there are plenty of extra-circular activities for the children to participate in. Our kids are not only becoming good students, but good citizens and kind individuals as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Linton Hall was the perfect school for my two kids. Both have now graduated and I am so pleased to see how incredibly well prepared they were for High School. Both have commented that they were easily ahead of their peers in virtually all subject areas and they had the background and skills to complete their classwork and projects. I credit the amazing faculty for pushing the kids, but at the same time, knowing each of them and truly caring about how they were doing both inside and outside the classroom. LHS is a uniquely caring place, where everyone is welcome and encouraged to thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Linton Hall is an amazing school! Our children are embraced by the faculty, staff and other parents. They are provided with a traditional faith-based education - we celebrate HOLYDAYS - by teachers who truly care. Parents who've written negative reviews are well known and, in many cases left for reasons unrelated to the quality of the education (e.g., finances). When you invest in the school - being supportive and connected - you will reap the benefits. Have friends at other private schools in the area, we're Linton Hall all the way! An awesome education and children who are polite and well mannered. Lynx Love!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

As an out of town Grandparent, I have only visited Linton Hall a few times, but my Granddaughter seems to thrive there and her parents are quite please with the school. That is recommendation enough for me. Dianne Gutting


Posted September 29, 2013

Linton Hall School is centrally located and students come from many areas as well as different faiths. All are welcome. My kids have done extremely well academically at Linton Hall , making President's Honors and Honor Roll. They have had the opportunity to participate in many family night events within the school -it is a community. The grading system is higher than the public schools so your child has to adjust to the higher expectation and work. Linton Hall is an ideal place for your kids because they aren't packed into a classroom ; they have top notch technology for smart boards and chrome books ( new addition). I agree it takes a village and your students, just like mine are well cared for and fully challenged academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

I am a graduate of LHS as well as a current parent and staff member. I think that pretty much says it all! I appreciate the love and support offered to both of my children on a daily basis. The faculty and staff has offered so much to my girls - I couldn't imagine not having them in our village because after all, it takes a village!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Elizabeth Poole
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (703) 368-3036

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Arlington
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Leo Club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
90
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
110

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9535 Linton Hall Rd
Bristow, VA 20136
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 368-3157

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Youth for Tomorrow
Bristow, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT