Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Victory Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
My son started his elementary education at Victory in 2014 in Kindergarten. He is now in 1st grade. The office staff is ALWAYS courteous and attentive. The PTO is actively engaged in the school, always doing fun and service-oriented activities for the children and their family. The students seem overall happy to be a Westie. The curriculum is progressive. I was a room parent in 2014-2015 and took on the responsibility again in 2015-2016. Parents have been VERY supportive of their classroom(s). I have enjoyed the teacher/parent relationship. The morning / afternoon transportation process is excellent. I am told from friends who put their children in the morning/afternoon School Age Child Care (SACC) Program is top-notch. Your child/children are in good hands at Victory. They did re-align the school boundaries summer 2015, changes took place this year. We'll see if/how this affects parent involvement, funding, etc.

Victory Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
My son's kindergarten teacher was very effective. My son's first grade teacher is a full-time temporary to possible permanent sub, while the primary teacher has been on leave for the school year. This is the teacher's first full year of teaching. The work my son brings home reflects good teaching skills. I'm aware the teacher works with a mentor during this first year.


Victory Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Students have various learning programs that reflect strong values. There is a no bully policy. Children are encouraged to wear a colored shirt representing a specific value that focuses on kindness, etc. during parts of the year.

Victory Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
Victory Elementary School is awesome. I have a rising 4th and 1st grader. We are a military family that moved from the Hawaii public school system. At the beginning of the year my 3rd grader read at 1st grade level. In just one year at Victory, she improved TWO GRADE LEVELS in reading. My Kindergartener started school last year without being able to read and now she can. I can't say enough about this school. Both of my childer are so excited to start another year at VICTORY!!! Mrs. Aanderud and Mrs. Roberts are superb teachers! Update: Another year in the books and my kids are still in love with the school. My daughter is entering 5th grade and will be sad to say good bye to Victory Elementary!

Victory Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
Victory Elementary is truly a school of excellence! All four of my children have attended Victory. I rate this school so high because of the dedicated and extraordinary teachers. Mrs. Clark and Mrs. Staples are the best!


Victory Elementary School 3

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Most of the teachers are very nice and helpful. Some of the office staff could use some work, the attendance line is atrocious. They don't bother to take your child's name down, then the same person calls you a few hours later saying your child is absent. I don't know if this is due to language issue. If your child excellence in PE don't expect them to get any praise, actually just the opposite. I feel the vibe of this school is push down children that are excelling at a high level and praise the children that have behavior issues or functioning a low level. This method robs a motivated child of their desire to push themselves.

Victory Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
The teachers at this school are absolutely amazing! I have 2 children in the school and they absolutely love Victory. School spirit is high here and the teachers are to thank! We have been so lucky to have such warm and caring teachers for my 2 high-energy boys. We couldn't be happier! The PTO and other parent volunteers work so hard to bring fun and new events each year like Movie Night, Family Bingo, and more. Go Westies!

Victory Elementary School 2

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
The principal is doing nothing more than counting her days to retirement(Parents are too). She tends to stay in her office all day and micromanaging from her computer/desk and has no clue to what is actually going on in the building. Web pages aren't always up to date. Some staff members yell. Office staff is great. Discipline is poor in the building and on the bus. Class sizes are large.Trailers! So sad for a newish school. Smaller schools in the county get subjects like, music art and gym more times throughout the year because they have days they can go instead we get stuck with having guidance and math science. Guidance should be available for student needs.The math/science teacher shows videos all the time. STOP videos. The school used to have a great drumming program, but when a new teacher was hired she sold all the instruments to another school?! Why it would be allowed that an inexperienced teacher would be allowed to sell equipment is sad? Songs that she teaches are taught throughout all grade levels from year to year, so students are getting the same lesson every year. Music performances have also gone down hill in recent years. PTO has fab after school programs.


Victory Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
My son went to this school. The facility is very nice and activities are plenty. His teacher is excellent and there is teacher-parent conference every 2-3 months. My daughter will be in the same school after this summer and she is very exciting about going to the same school as his brother for K.

Victory Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
Both of my children have attended this school since kindergarten (one now in high school) and it has been a great experience for the whole family. The only reason I didn't give teacher quality a "5" is because of a very small few. The staff in general is fantastic.This school started out well and has only improved over the years. The principal does a great job of finding quality personnel and runs a tight ship.

Nearby schools

Victory Elementary School
12001 Tygart Lake Dr, Bristow, VA  20136
(703) 257-0356
Last modified Victory Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top