Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Boyd School

Private | PK-4 | 157 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Broadlands

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $525,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 21, 2011

We started our oldest daughter at The Boyd School Broadlands Campus the Fall of 2006 in their Toddler program. Six years and four kids later we can say it was by far the "best" decision we have ever made. We currently have our oldest daughter in Lower Elementary 2nd grade, our oldest son in Primary, youngest daughter in Toddler and our youngest son although only 6 months already itching to go and start his experience at The Boyd School. We cannot imagine what our lives would be like without this amazing Montessori school right in our backyard. As parents we could not dream of a more enriching, challenging, self motivating and loving environment. The number one thing when my husband and I hear someone is having a baby is, " have you thought about a Montessori education for them down the road?, you will not be disappointed!" I know our children are being given the tools to achieve anything in life with this type of education. The Boyd School will be a part of our family for years to come! Thank you for all that you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

The teacher at the school understands my child's needs precisely and is able to motivate her by giving her the right level of Montessori while ensuring that the child learns upto her potential. Parents are very involved in the school and the principals office is always open for comments and ideas. School has great interest in connecting students with nature and I love that. Overall, I am very pleased with the school. I just wish it was more affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

My two children attend (toddler program and kindergarten) and this is my fourth year as a Boyd Broadlands mother. This school is amazing- there is such a sense of community between the parents, teachers and office (Dave and Debbie). I read the other review about not receiving enough info from the staff and I agree with that statement with respect to past years. This year has been completely different- weekly emails about upcoming events have been the norm since the beginning of the school year. I have always felt welcome to come to the classroom and watch for myself or meet with the teachers for a more thorough update. And Dave, the "new" director has great ideas and is open to new ones from parents - hence the "Coffee with the Director" he hosts. In a nutshell- I am so pleased with Boyd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

The Boyd school has transformed my son. He is now in second grade and is just thriving! The Montessori tools, their support for the child as an individual with individual learning needs and the level of caring that has been shown this year towards my child's development has really made a difference in our lives. When we started at Boyd my son read 15 words per minute....in a couple of months he was reading 115 words per minute! When the public schools told us he couldn't learn because he wasn't sitting still at his desk, the Boyd school channeled his energy. Now my son is at the top of his game, loves to go to school and sometimes, literally won't leave until he finishes a project he's working on. Every school has challenges, but I feel that Boyd does try to work on them, whether it is communication or meeting your educational needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

As a parent of a current student, I've been extremely disappointed in the level of communication between the school and parents. There should be more transparency on how a child is progressing than just quarterly updates, especially with younger children. Often, emails to the new Campus Director and the teachers go unanswered for days or are not acknowledged at all. Campus communications is often late or last minute, making it difficult for working parents to readjust their schedules to volunteer or join field trips. It's a shame, the school and the program seems to have great potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

This is great school and my kid is going there currently; But I think (this is my opinion) , for the money we are paying School should have more activities so that kids can think differently and learn more with not much stress...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

We've had our 3 kids there starting in 2005. We've had fantastic teachers, they've made great friends, and the school has a very nice environment. I would definitely recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

My child had been in a standard preschool environment up until this year. I am floored by how much she has learned in 5 months! Whether it's a segment on geography, the human body, learning letter sounds, etc. she is now far advanced from here peer group. She is at the Broadlands campus. The best decision we ever made for her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Whichever the school, teacher plays the biggest role for it to be good or bad for a child. First 2 years of preschool we had very bad experience but after some research we found very good teacher. We continued their for kindergarten (3rd year).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

42945 Waxpool Road
Broadlands, VA 20148
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 723-3364

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Theresa School
Ashburn, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT