Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James River High School

Public | 9-12 | 526 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2014

I am a current senior at James River, and I love it. I started high school at Lord Botetourt, and transferred within three weeks because I could not deal with the teachers and students who didn't care about academics or each other. At James River, everyone is very friendly and wants to help you succeed. The only downside I have for River is that there is obviously not a great selection of teachers since we are located in a rural area, which means that there are not very many upper-level classes such as AP or Dual Enrollment. Other than that, James River is a fantastic school. There is practically no violence or bad situations like there are in other high schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2008

This academic facility is the by far the best I've seen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

My daughter attends James River High School and is extremely happy there. She finds the students to be friendly and negative peer pressure to be virtually non-existent. Her father and I are so impressed with the quality of the administration and the teaching staff. My daughter enjoys school and is receiving a wonderful education. I have nothing but positive statements to make about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

I am a student at James River in my sophmore year. I can not think of any other school I'd rather go to, this has been the best place. My first day of my freshman year I was nervous but when I got there I realized that everyone was welcoming and it felt like I was at a place i've been for a long time, after the first couple of hours I felt familiar with everything. I would highly reccomend this school for anyone looking to move into the district. the sports teams also get a lot of attention and scouts visit most of the games for EVERY sport.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2007

I currently attend JRHS and it is by far the best high school. On my first day I immediately felt welcome and comfortable the people are so friendly. Also, both Academics and Sports meet the best standards. The school feels like home and I love attending there its a wonderful school district to live in through the years of growing up. I would highly recommend this school as a 1st choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2007

As a current student i believe JRHS is one of the best schools in the area. It has an inviting feeling every day. People from different grade levels commonly interact with each other. JR sports teams get amazing turnouts. People in the area come to most of the games or matches. Our student section in the games are fantastic, filled with team spirit. If you are a parent deciding wether to send your child to JRHS or LBHS, JR is definately the right choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

As parents of 2 students who currently attend JRHS,we am pleased with the overall academic and extracurricular activities offered at such a small school.We currently reside in the southern end of the county(Lord Botetourt School District) but chose to send our children to JRHS,driving 27 miles one way to do so.The atmosphere at 'River' is relaxed and inviting.We are impressed by how well the students get along, and genuinely care about one another.Cliques are almost non existent here.The current renovations are a great improvement to the school,and further enhance its appeal.Some may have issue with the location of the school, as it is a bit of a drive over narrow county roads. It is a 'country' school, that has long been overlooked by the more affluent end of Botetourt Co.JRHS is finally getting the attention and positive recognition it deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

I attended LBHS last year for my freshman year and I found it hard to pay attention in class. There were so many children in each class that I found it hard to concentrate and harder to learn than it would be if I had had more one-on-one help. My sophomore year, I switched over to JRHS and it has been wonderful. The teachers give me more help and I find the staff to be more interested in my progress and my grades.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted February 12, 2005

I attended jrhs as well has all my children. The current principal is one of the best i have seen and worked with in 20 years. all the staff take interest in all the children.sometimes smaller schools are the the best that fit your childs needs, even if they are often overlooked by the county that they are in because of the larger more affluent population in the other end of Botetourt County.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
98%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
85%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
100%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students69%
Female students74%
Male students65%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%

Algebra II

All Students80%
Female students80%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Biology

All Students89%
Female students92%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

Chemistry

All Students88%
Female students81%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Earth Science

All Students89%
Female students89%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

English: Reading

All Students93%
Female students96%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

English: Writing

All Students89%
Female students90%
Male students87%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

Geometry

All Students81%
Female students85%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students85%
Female students81%
Male students87%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students91%
Female students91%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

World History II

All Students89%
Female students88%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9906 Springwood Rd
Buchanan, VA 24066
Phone: (540) 254-1121

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Community School
Roanoke, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT