Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Terra Centre Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 537 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

It's improving. The mood of the place, like the building, is flat though, so don't go looking for a tremendous amount of enthusiasm. The front office "greeters" need coffee or sunshine. Maybe they've been underground too long. A smile and an offer of assistance or navigation through the construction labyrinth goes a very long way. I've been a longtime parent there. The new administration is a far improvement over the previous *regime.* The principal is pleasant and youthful, but a little stiff, slow to act, unsure of what to do at times. It seems as though the physical renovation is the biggest concern instead of the camaraderie of the children and spirit of education. While a sense of humor is showing itself, the renovation does hamper a little of that. Some entrenched legacy teachers are good for places with new leadership, they can light the path; others are too enmeshed in their old ways to raise their own bars and challenge themselves. We will see what the new leadership is interested in doing: keeping things familiar, or really changing things for the better, in spite of "tenure" and "labor unions." After all, this is an elementary school. It's about kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

We absolutely love Terra Centre. The experience that we have had with the teachers, the administration and the office staff have been beyond our expectations. Everyone we have come into contact with has been friendly, highly responsive and helpful. My son's teachers are phenomenal and clearly have a passion for working with children, and I cannot believe how much he has learned this year...not to mention...he absolutely loves school! The new principal is a wonderful new addition to the TC, and has been a tremendous leader thus far. This school embodies a true community, with a great sense of pride and the parent involvement is overwhelming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2013

This is a great school! My daughter loves her teacher and is quickly learning. I am highly impressed with Fairfax County Public Schools and especially Terra Centre. My husband and I were worried about our daughter starting kindergarten and the school is under construction, but the school has a done a great job with handling this. I volunteer at the school and the construction is not a big deal. Once it is complete the school is going to be so nice. (I think it should be complete in a year or so.) The new principle and vice principle are doing great. The PTA is awesome and it is easy to volunteer and be involved as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

My daughter has attended Terra Centre for the past two years and I have been more than impressed with what Terra Centre has to offer. Every teach she has, has been top notch. My mother is a child welfare social worker and my grandmother was a teacher. They share my review. I only want the best for my children and Terra Centre has it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

Hi .. I started to get weekly communication concerning my son via email directly from the teacher ..but getting a daily communication its not the case for my me ...I receive the works he did some other documents ... But really now I feel a change after some meetings ... ..I heard about the eminent extension of the school facilities ...the administration is serious in dealing with students issues ..but still some smiles at the entrance are needed ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

My daughter is in K in TC, and I was surprised by the 1/14 review. We receive daily communication from our teacher, and she is very responsive to us via email (my preference for communicating). We had an incident in the fall, with an older student bullying, which was resolved nearly instantly. They take things very seriously. We do have 25 in the class, but it seems to be okay. I think that class size is inevitable in today's economic environment. We have been pleased thus far with the school. My only reservation is the facilities, but they will begin a renovation to be completed by 2014, so that will resolve itself soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

Hi all .. Burke can be the best place for students ..but maybe not terra center .. The major problem is the huge lack of communication between parents and teachers ..I as father I am not receiving daily or weekly communication regarding my kid ..I send letters with my kid ..nobody see them ...I call the teacher ..rarely I reach the teacher ...When I go to the school ..believe me ..you maybe you have to pay to get a small smile from the lady in the front desk of the administration ...then there is a dramatic other problem which is the number of student in a class ..my kid`s class contain 25 ..and its a Kinder garden .!!!! for this year its enough ... The hope is pended on the next year !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

We moved to Burke Centre to find a better FCPS for my daughter. She came to Terra Centre halfway through grade 1 and her teacher was wonderful about helping her to become a part of the class. She went on to complete second and third grade at the school, and I was very pleased with our experience. The atmosphere there is welcoming and the staff is accessible. Parent participation is welcomed in many areas. My daughter struggles with executive skills, and her 1st and 2nd grade teachers were very disorganized, so that didn't help much, but her third grade teacher was very organized and helped her to improve in that area. Each year she was academically challenged, and I like the character program the school uses to promote citizenship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

Terra Centre is an amazing school with complete dedication to making the students' experiences meaningful and rich. Having taught in four states myself, I am impressed with the professional and caring members of the TC Team. My son's first two years have been wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

We are extremely happy at Terra Centre. The administration and teachers are professional and approachable. Communication between teacher and parent is open and encouraged. Parent involvment in the classroom is welcomed. Our PTA is active and successful at Terra Centre. The K-1 Program is a wonderful resource. Terra Centre Tigers Roar with Pride! Diana C. Bharucha
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

Terra Centre is a awesome school to be in. I graduated from there in 6th grade and all my teachers there where very helpful and supportive. All my brothers and sisters graduated there, and we were all very happy there. This is a great school to be in, so consider if you want your child to be here, or not. Terra Centre is always open for new students, like they were open to my brothers, my sisters and me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 27, 2006

Excellent school. Involved teachers and staff, good curriculum and support for students. Involved parents and active PTA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

My son has had a tremendous experience in Kindergarten. His teacher is amazing and I have been impressed with her devotion to her students. I like the many opportunities I have had to volunteer at this school so that I could be an active part of my child's education. Terra Centre is equal to all other schools in Fairfax County -- which means it is terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

We were very dissapointed with terra centre. The lack of teacher/parent communication is unacceptable. The leadership qualities of the administration is poor. Our experience so far has been very frustrating, the quality of education is certainly not up to standard. I would not recommend this school. There are far better schools in Fairfax county to choose from, if you are making a choice, stay away from Terra centre.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

All three of my children attended Terra Centre and I can not speak highly enough about it. Outstanding atmosphere for children and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2004

Two of my three children 'graduated' from Terra Centre and my youngest is now in kindergarten there. Terra Centre is a great school with a great staff. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students97%
Male students68%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students70%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students72%
Female students72%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students80%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students59%
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students92%
Female students93%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students89%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students91%
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students68%
Female students75%
Male students63%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students92%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English92%

English: Writing

All Students91%
Female students97%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students79%
Female students68%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students73%
Female students61%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students40%
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students90%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students80%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students40%
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students79%
Female students79%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6000 Burke Centre Pkwy
Burke, VA 22015
Phone: (703) 249-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fairfax Baptist Temple Academy
Fairfax Station, VA






Fairview Elementary School
Fairfax Station, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT