Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centre Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 828 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

I have two girls currently in 2nd grade. The teachers are great. Both homeroom teachers from last year and the two homeroom teachers from this year are caring, dedicated and really want the best for their students. When I've e-mailed them with questions/comments, they would get back to me with thoughtful responses. The parent/teacher conferences were very specific was it was obvious they spent a lot of time evaluating each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

The downhill slide started about 5 years ago but has accelerated with the recent principal. This review is written from a parental standpoint as well as the spouse of a staff member. Neither perspective receives glowing remarks. The current administration has alienated staff to the point where this year, close to a 3rd of the staff are escaping & many of the remaining want out. The principal/administration does not understand how to manage, are unprofessional, aloof & micromanage to the point where the principal is in the weeds in areas she has ZERO proficiency or knowledge. Rely on the professional staff to execute the work but no, she tells them what to do, when to do it and how to do it. What an exciting work environment to be in if you are a robot! Most of the staff are outstanding professionals & are doing exemplary work (sometimes in spite of the principal). Our child was placed with a 1st year teacher & the results were a complete disaster & no meeting or discussion ever resolved it. This school will get worse before it gets better. My spouse doesn't work here any more & my child is flourishing in a new school. This school needs professional leadership badly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Could disagree more with the post submitted on September 4th, 2012! Centre Ridge is a great school - orientation was held in the library where the both the Principal and her assistants introduced themselves. My daughter is in the 2nd grade at Centre Ridge and has attended the school for two years. So far she has had great teachers and the staff is friendly and welcoming. Every orientation they were shirts that say Centre Ridge - the greatest school on earth - I believe that they live that creed through their dedication to the school and the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

This is my daughter first year at Centre Ridge. She went a private school and Freedom Hill before. These are excellent schools. So we were very disappointed with orientation day and the first day of school at Centre Ridge. On Orientation Day it was a free for all. No presentation from the principal or teachers. I still dont know who the principal is!! Just a table set up to receive lunch numbers and something. people and kids walking around looking lost. It was a disaster and The first day of school was worse. This school lacks leadership. No planning ahead, organization and structure. I'm looking forward to moving to a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

The school has gone from good to bad in the past three years alone it seems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

Ms Brady is Awesome!!! Ms young has been retired but there is no match for her. My daughter had her in 4th grade and I wish if she could be there for her in 6th grade too. Ms Roeske 1st grade teacher.. Great teacher.. very loving and encouraging and she helped my daughter learning to read... My son has Ms Cruzan in kindergarten and he loves her.She makes kids involve in their work and do the best they can. New principal Mrs Dias-pareja is Awesome, she is so personally involved in children activities and visits classrooms more often.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

My son goes to Centre Ridge. He's in 2nd Grade now. He loves this school. He was in Centreville last year. He hates that school. His teacher is Mrs.Brady! When I had a confrence with her she was kind,and helpful! Come to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

Centre Ridge is an excellent school with caring teachers, talented administrators, and fabulous staff. We have had nothing but excellent experiences with them, whether in the new student orientations, the student assessment and IEP process, or more informally at various events. They welcome parent participation and promote an educational climate that embraces all students and all their strengths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

This school is terrible. I am very displeased with the acadimics and plan on moving my children to a diferent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

We have been at this school for 6 years, since kindergarten. While the lower grade teachers are excellent and exceed expectations I have to mention that there are a couple in one of the higher grades that leave you questioning disipline tactics, teaching styles and administrator involvement. This year has been the first for us to question the quality of teachers and advocacy for the students. With only one year left I hope to see changes in staff and improvement in the areas of communication with parents. Be warned that while the principal is very visible in the school and outside functions he is a very nonengaging in areas of concern and/or parent questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

My son is in kindergarten at this school. We are absolutely thrilled with everything we have encountered. His teachers are fantastic(Ms. Arora/Ms. Cassara). We were apprehensive of putting him in public school because we feared he would land in a class with a poor teacher, but that hasn't even been close to the truth. His teachers are so kind, so warm, so engaging for him. Our son is ahead in most areas, so the teachers have found activities to supplement the regular curriculum and keep him interested. We have no complaints about the school itself. We have had minimal dealings with anyone outside of his classroom, but the GT teacher was very attentive, and the office staff has always been helpful. We had been planning on moving prior to our son entering 1st grade in the 2008-09 school year, but have decided against it based on this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

My son attends kindergarten. I was at first apprehensive about him attending public school (he attended Montessori), but with all of the information, open houses, and meeting with his teacher (Ms. Cagle/Mr. Stallworth are fantastic) I felt comfortable with my decision. There is a feeling of success balanced with community and teamwork at this school. They are always rewarding good behavior (Ram program) and have many educational and fun events from holiday faculty revues, bingo, firefighter/police visits, Pocahontas, etc. What I also appreciate is that you are in the know. Newsletters are sent home weekly and offer what they learned that week, what to expect for homework, etc. I'm hands-on, & I like that I can arrange time to spend reading to the class or just having lunch with my boy. I only hope that this school will soon be part of the foreign language immersion program. Other than that--A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

This is our second year at Centre Ridge - both under the new principal. I have been extremely pleased with the talent, professionalism and availability of the teachers, especially our first grade teacher. We were given extra help in reading when I requested it. The office is staff is generally friendly, but a little distant as I am a working parent and not 'known' widely around the school outside of our teacher. I am pleased with the school wide respect program. For second grade we have 20 min of reading a night plus a weekly packet that for us works out to be about another 20-30 mins a night - more if we have a week night activity that prevents us from doing more than reading on that night. Homework is math worksheets, and spelling activities. Music, Art and PE in curriculum as well. I am pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

The teachers are wonderful and utilize various means to teach their subjects. Band is taught once a week and my son has really enjoyed learning to play an instrument. After school sports are provided by SYA, but many children participate so weekends can be very busy. Parents volunteer in many ways around the school and teachers are always happy for the extra help or the kind thought.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

My son attended this school before our ove within Ffx County. If you are not a part of the 'click' your child will suffer. Also, if you are a working mother be prepared to feel excluded from updates, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

My son is finishing first grade at Centre Ridge. I find that their disciplinary tactics can be extreme and insensitive. Many times my son has complained that his class gets in trouble as a whole, when he has done nothing wrong. Another reviewer states something to the effect that 'You get in trouble no matter what you do.' So true. The bright side of this approach is that they don't seem to have the problem with bullies that other schools have; I respect them for taking bullying very seriously. Also, my son is a bright kid, and I feel that their curriculum is 'one size fits all' and that they don't do a lot of differentiation for kids with different abilities. There seems to be a real focus on worksheets, not so much on developmentally appropriate and engaging projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

Centre Ridge is a safe, wonderful learning environment that set high academic and social expectations. I've had extremely positive interactions with the administration, office staff and teachers. I'm proud to be a part of such a wonderful learning community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

My daughters attended Centre Ridge '02-'03 and '03-'04 school year before moving out of state. Great teachers; Ms. Cruzan(K), Miss Mock(1st), Mrs. Brady(2nd) and Mrs. MatthewsWall(3rd). The only down side, SOL testing which is mandated by the state so it regulates the lesson plans from time to time. (Thank our President for that). The Administration is wonderful too. No complaints, except my girls didn't want to leave when we had to move to Austin, TX.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My son is begining 2 grade,the principals and the teachers are great, especially in kindergarten. They have a great ideas and activities in the classroom. There are fun and great activities, and the parents and their families can share. I happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

I'm very unhappy with this school, the teachers and the principals. My 3rd grader comes home with 2 hours of homework a night, some of the homework is ridiculous, Economics, a little much. Recently my Son has been put in special ed, this was supposed to ease his schedule a little and help him, instead this is creating more work, he's being pulled out of his normal class during math and missing it, his teacher then makes him stay in for recess or miss other fun activities to make up what he's missed. He's very upset which is very understandable and really starting to hate school. My oldest child is in 6th grade, he's really learned a lot this year, he's learned that doing the right thing, such as telling on someone for hitting him and not hitting him back gets him in trouble anyway, he's also learned that there is no such thing as self defense, when someone one is beating you up and you defend yourself you get in trouble too. This school has really done a lot for my children and taught them so much, no matter what you do you get in trouble and when you're having problems and receive extra help you're punished for missing class and miss recess and other fun activities to make up the work. I rated parent involvement so high because the homework is so extreme you have to pretty much do it for your children. The teachers, principals and county should be ashamed of themselves. Be talking to you soon School Board.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students85%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students81%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students65%
Female students62%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students81%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English61%

Science

All Students85%
Female students80%
Male students93%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students90%
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students72%
Male students67%
Black students80%
Asian students64%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students78%
Female students80%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students79%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students72%
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students79%
Male students68%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students74%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students57%
Proficient in English81%

English: Writing

All Students69%
Female students71%
Male students66%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students79%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students69%
Female students71%
Male students68%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students59%
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students68%
Female students66%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students77%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students84%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students82%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students85%
Female students86%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14400 New Braddock Rd
Centreville, VA 20121
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 227-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Alc At Mountain View
Centreville, VA






Powell Elementary School
Centreville, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT