Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Centreville, VA
Students enrolled: 828
 

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Centre Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted December 28, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. The principal and all administration are involved and friendly. Sometimes the front desk secretaries are a bit dry but that's the worst of it. Our sons teacher is excellent and supports him learning at his own pace. School activities involving parents have been plentiful and fun! Highly recommend!

Centre Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
I am very pleased with Centre Ridge Elem. My Kindergartener has a very difficult time transitioning to leaving mom and going to school everyday. The school counselor, her multi-age teacher and other school staff have done a fabulous job of helping her adjust. Her teacher is very attentive and does a great job at teaching each child what they need to learn. I am so impressed!


Centre Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
I have two girls currently in 2nd grade. The teachers are great. Both homeroom teachers from last year and the two homeroom teachers from this year are caring, dedicated and really want the best for their students. When I've e-mailed them with questions/comments, they would get back to me with thoughtful responses. The parent/teacher conferences were very specific was it was obvious they spent a lot of time evaluating each student.

Centre Ridge Elementary School 2

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
The downhill slide started about 5 years ago but has accelerated with the recent principal. This review is written from a parental standpoint as well as the spouse of a staff member. Neither perspective receives glowing remarks. The current administration has alienated staff to the point where this year, close to a 3rd of the staff are escaping & many of the remaining want out. The principal/administration does not understand how to manage, are unprofessional, aloof & micromanage to the point where the principal is in the weeds in areas she has ZERO proficiency or knowledge. Rely on the professional staff to execute the work but no, she tells them what to do, when to do it and how to do it. What an exciting work environment to be in if you are a robot! Most of the staff are outstanding professionals & are doing exemplary work (sometimes in spite of the principal). Our child was placed with a 1st year teacher & the results were a complete disaster & no meeting or discussion ever resolved it. This school will get worse before it gets better. My spouse doesn't work here any more & my child is flourishing in a new school. This school needs professional leadership badly.

Centre Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
Could disagree more with the post submitted on September 4th, 2012! Centre Ridge is a great school - orientation was held in the library where the both the Principal and her assistants introduced themselves. My daughter is in the 2nd grade at Centre Ridge and has attended the school for two years. So far she has had great teachers and the staff is friendly and welcoming. Every orientation they were shirts that say Centre Ridge - the greatest school on earth - I believe that they live that creed through their dedication to the school and the children.


Centre Ridge Elementary School 1

Posted September 04, 2012
- a parent
This is my daughter first year at Centre Ridge. She went a private school and Freedom Hill before. These are excellent schools. So we were very disappointed with orientation day and the first day of school at Centre Ridge. On Orientation Day it was a free for all. No presentation from the principal or teachers. I still dont know who the principal is!! Just a table set up to receive lunch numbers and something. people and kids walking around looking lost. It was a disaster and The first day of school was worse. This school lacks leadership. No planning ahead, organization and structure. I'm looking forward to moving to a better school.

Centre Ridge Elementary School 1

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
The school has gone from good to bad in the past three years alone it seems.

Centre Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2011
- a parent
Ms Brady is Awesome!!! Ms young has been retired but there is no match for her. My daughter had her in 4th grade and I wish if she could be there for her in 6th grade too. Ms Roeske 1st grade teacher.. Great teacher.. very loving and encouraging and she helped my daughter learning to read... My son has Ms Cruzan in kindergarten and he loves her.She makes kids involve in their work and do the best they can. New principal Mrs Dias-pareja is Awesome, she is so personally involved in children activities and visits classrooms more often.


Centre Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Centre Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2009
- a parent
My son goes to Centre Ridge. He's in 2nd Grade now. He loves this school. He was in Centreville last year. He hates that school. His teacher is Mrs.Brady! When I had a confrence with her she was kind,and helpful! Come to this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centre Ridge Elementary School
14400 New Braddock Rd, Centreville, VA  20121
(703) 227-2600
Last modified Centre Ridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centre Ridge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top