Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westfield High School

Public | 9-12 | 2830 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2014

I highly recommend Westfield High School. My son graduated this year and entered college with 27 AP credits! He scored a 5 in all but one of the tests - he received a 4. His teachers in the AP classes prepared him fully and thanks to them he exceeded expectations. I credit his teachers at Virginia Run Elementary for setting such a solid foundation. He was accepted to every college that he applied for. The school has SO much to offer. There are so many sports, clubs, and activities to join. He remained friends with many of his Virginia Run neighbors as well as developed a lot of new friends through all of the school sports and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2014

I highly recommend Westfield High School. This is my first year in Virginia. I was worried that my 14 year old freshman would have set backs from moving so far away from Missouri. However, his experience was excellent. The counselor challenged him to take advanced classes and he excelled. His coaches challenged him academically also. The coaches talked to the players, keeping up with their grades and home life. My son did not want to take any days off from school to visit Missouri. He was excited about school. I was very impressed with the teachers, coaches and the staff. This was a great first year experience. Westfield made our move much easier than expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2014

All four of my daughters have attended this school so I have experience with most of the teachers and the administration. I have found them to be caring, professional and truly exceptional. I have always been extremely pleased with the teachers and staff. Westfield is a large school but there is so much to do that it seems small for the kids. School spirit is tremendous, the facilities are without peer and they are award winning in each category! It was a wonderful experience for my children and they were well prepared for college. Communication was frequent and we always felt that our children's best interest were a priority. We are very happy with the education they received and delighted that they had the opportunity to attend this school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Overall, we are quite satisfied with our child s experience at Westfield. Some great teachers, some good teachers and some mediocre teachers. The school building itself is obviously still relatively new and due to rezoning is no longer over capacity so overcrowding is not the issue that it was a few years ago. The athletic programs are second to none with the largest and most modern sports complex of the Fairfax County Public Schools. Westfield s Performing Arts departments are outstanding - led by their award winning Theatre and Band programs. Westfield has been recognized as a Virginia Honor Band 9 times in their 13 year history and their Marching Band was selected to march in the 2014 Tournament of Roses Parade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

Very impressed with this school especially Mr. Thomas won best principal in Fairfax County. He is a fantastic, engaging, communicative and honest administrator that does the right thing. I have never been disappointed about how he has handled the challenges during his tenure, many not of his making. The school has had some controversial & scary events associated with it but Mr. Thomas has stood tall and positive while acknowledging the issues. The guidance staff is outstanding & the process to bring the teachers, pupil & parents together to address issues is fantastic. The teaching staff is very solid although we have had some sub par teachers during our 5 years experience. Not terribly impressed with any Fairfax County school in how they manage poor teachers but we did see one completely out of touch teacher exit the year after we voiced our concerns to many administrators. Overall, very happy with the education, clearly communicated expectations of the students & their behavior as well as band/sports offered. Class size is improving but our first child had a class of close to 800 now it's down to 700 or so making it very competitive for extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

My son graduated from Westfield and had a great experience. However, my daughter found it to be a very stressful academic environment. Both are top students. We moved out of state, and my daughter found her new school to be more relaxed and pleasant. Though she took honors and AP courses here too, she didn't have hours and hours of homework every night. She had time for other activities and work. Many of Westfield's teachers are good, particularly in English and the arts, but the science teachers are either not prepared or unable to impart their knowledge to the students. The math department has the attitude that top students should be able to teach themselves, so they test them on material they haven't even gone over in class. A meeting with concerned parents confirmed that yes, this is their policy. In my daughter's new school the teachers actually taught the class and asked if anyone had questions, etc., as it should be. Students from both schools are admitted to the nation's top colleges, including my two children. Part of the problem is the parents in the area Westfield serves, who naively believe a school must be that stressful for their children to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

Great School with emphasis on Academics and Extra Cirricular activities. Teachers are motivated and push the students to do their best. Great Athletic Booster club that helps keep the sports teams funded while raising school spirit. This is a great school and any student is lucky to attend Westfield High School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

My two sons graduated from Westfield HS and I have only good things to say about this school. They had a wonderful experience and were admitted to great colleges in VA.


Posted January 24, 2011

Did this school really publish a policy that said kids would fail a class if they discussed their assignments with their own parents? If that is true - this school needs to reevaluate their policies and/or staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

This school has mediocre to bad teachers, especially in the science and math departments. I think they should all be fired and replaced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

Omg, i hate this school so much, only good thing about it is that a lot of the things (desk, chair, wall) is still in very fine condition and nice air conditioning Teachers are TERRIBLE, the finance department is rubbish blame you for stuff you didnt do, is a very competitive school, and students have no spirit whatsoever, the school is not big enough for 3000+ of students, hallway so tiny, there is ALWAYS traffic jams in between classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2010

Westfield is a great school despite its size. Principal is very involved with students as well as very responsive to parents concerns. Teachers are among the best in their discipline, and I cannot praise them enough. Excellent extra curricular activities and offers a very competitve environment for all. As a parent, I am a strongly supporter of Westfield. Go Bulldogs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I had attended private school all my life from kindergarden threw middle school upon attending Westfield High School i was intimidated at fist by the large number of students but upon attending the school for a few weeks i easily felt like i belonged the teachers ability to remember individual students names was impecable i am ashamed to say that some teachers knew my name before i knew there's I am a bulldog supporter for life. WE ARE WESTFIELD.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Westfield has such a great faculty/staff. The teachers are always there for you when you need help and always have a positive attitude everyday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Great teachers, curriculum, activities/sports and team spirit
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Westfield is a big school that offers something for everyone and they make a big school feel small by getting kids involved. Staff members are energetic.


Posted March 20, 2009

Guys! don't go by rating. It's the best among the best schools. Teachers are excellent, students are very helpful and caring. If you want to suceed there is always someone there to help you. ' We are the westfield'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

I only attended this school one year (freshman) before moving to California. Comparing this school (like most Fairfax schools) to the public schools in CA is like comparing Harvard to a community college. This school was fantastic, I was definitely pushed academically when I was there and I am saddened that I had to leave for a poorer quality education. Be thankful you live in Fairfax County, VA if you attend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2008

I believe WHS is overrated. The school is pretentious and wasteful with plasma tv screens hanging randomly in the hallway and recently the school raised over $50,000 for an electronic marquee...which is, UNDOUBTABLEY, completley necessary. Just as any place, there is a mix of teachers. Ive had a range from horrid to wonderful teachers in my 4 years spent here. Honestly, a student will be able to succeed at any school when they are willing to apply themselves.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2007

Westfield is a great school, I graduated in 2007. Despite some over-crowding our academics and extra-curricular activities are some of the best in the state of VA. I can't imagine going to a better high school. The teachers I had and friends I made are people that I still keep in contact even today while I'm off at college. 'We are Westfield High School'


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

674 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

718 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

680 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

708 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

711 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

647 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

669 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

712 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

693 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students61%
Female students59%
Male students63%
Black students57%
Asian students76%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial64%
White students62%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English62%

Algebra II

All Students81%
Female students81%
Male students80%
Black students64%
Asian students96%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial79%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students76%
Proficient in English81%

Biology

All Students87%
Female students87%
Male students88%
Black students81%
Asian students92%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial90%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English94%

Chemistry

All Students84%
Female students83%
Male students85%
Black students58%
Asian students95%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial89%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English88%

Earth Science

All Students85%
Female students79%
Male students90%
Black students67%
Asian students95%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial92%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English89%

English: Reading

All Students93%
Female students93%
Male students94%
Black students91%
Asian students94%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial97%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students78%
Proficient in English95%

English: Writing

All Students96%
Female students95%
Male students96%
Black students89%
Asian students97%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students86%
Proficient in English97%

Geometry

All Students83%
Female students84%
Male students83%
Black students64%
Asian students95%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial96%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English87%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students93%
Female students91%
Male students94%
Black students86%
Asian students96%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial100%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English95%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students90%
Female students89%
Male students91%
Black students83%
Asian students95%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial88%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English94%

World History II

All Students87%
Female students84%
Male students90%
Black students69%
Asian students93%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial100%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Tim Thomas

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4700 Stonecroft Bv
Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone: (703) 488-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Different Drum
Chantilly, VA



Chantilly High School
Chantilly, VA



Alc At Mountain View
Centreville, VA


Ad Fontes Academy
Centreville, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT