Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Veronica Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 330 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chantilly

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $348,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

St. Veronica's is a school that goes above and beyond teaching children at a higher level than other schools. We moved to Loudoun Co. because of its schools but once we found out that their K is only 3 hours (for working parents this is not easy) we needed a school that was 1. quality. 2. all day 3. taught good morals and values and upon the recommendation of a friend we enrolled our child in St. Veronica's. Our child started in the middle of the school year at St. V's and has been very very happy and is learning tons. 3 hours is just not enough! Teachers/ aftercare communicate with parents on a daily basis to tell you your child's progress or just a simple e-mail on how he or she are doing. Class sizes are very small (15-17) vs 26. Teachers at this school actually love teaching YOU CAN SEE IT and FEEL IT. We are so glad for this great school !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

St. Veronica has been a wonderful school for my children. The Principal is in constant pursuit of providing world class education in a loving and Christian environment. The teachers are both innovative and traditional. They expect a lot from the children, but also take the time to help the children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

Definitely one the best Catholic schools in Northern VA. Principal shows great action in achieving stronger academic goals for the whole school. Teachers and office staff in St Veronica are all wonderful people. People here are super duper nice....and it resonates all the way to the classes/students! It really does! From principal to the faculty and then to the students, everything makes sense in this school and the school atmosphere is fun, loving, warm and harmonious. Everyone gets along really ,really well. I'm very proud of ST Vernoica! The way they run things in this school were thought of carefully by the staff and every things else make real sense at ST Veronica.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

As a former teacher, I took great care in finding a school for our children. St. Veronica's was one of the last schools I looked at, mostly out of curiosity, because we are not Catholic. Now, we have had our children here for three years. Early elementary academics are what you would expect, but from 4th grade on, academics are at a entirely different level. Teachers are happy and REALLY seem to love their jobs - which is rare these days. The principal is wonderfully supportive to her staff and students, yet manages to run a tight ship. There is no messing around here. Students learn good morals and develop an understanding that there are consequences for their actions. Thanks to this school, my children love learning. They feel good about themselves because they are supported and encouraged to do their best. They are developing strong study habits and time-management skills. My husband and I have been very impressed. I often see the public school kids playing outside -- after school on the weekdays. Why aren't they studying? Don't they have homework? I know we made the right decision to go to private. We strongly support this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

The school is excellent - As a parent of K and 2nd Grade students, I am very impressed by the attitude and performance of the staff. Parents are fully involved and informed, and there is a real community feeling to the school. Our children have made great progress at this school and are always happy to go. The kids at the school are always smiling and while they don't have a gym, the PE instructor is excellent as can be seen from all the presidential fitness awards the pupils achieve each year. pupil to teacher ratios are quite low and the kids seem to get plenty of individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

As a parent of several children that attend/have attended Saint Veronica School (since K), I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for low student:teacher ratios, solid curriculum, excellent staff, and a strong sense of community. The school was established only 7 years ago and has made tremendous strides in its programs and activities as well as facilities. The only real knock against the school is there is not a gym. However, PE is a main part of the curriculum and offered multiple times a week for most ages. The teachers use edline to communicate with parents online and we have never had an issue in scheduling time with teachers/staff. There are many after school clubs/activities as well as social events for families to attend each academic year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

As a parent of two students at St. Veronica School (both there since Kindergarten) I would highly recommend this school. My children are treated with respect and kindness and have been, and continue to be, provided with structured, disciplined classrooms. There are a number of after school activities and programs for the children to participate in, including Student Government, Girls on the Run, Math Club, Scratch Programming, Certamen (Latin) club, choir, beginning and advanced band, among others. It has been my experience that when discipline issues do arise (as they do at any school), they have been handled quickly and fairly. Parent involvement is encouraged and welcomed at the school. There are also fun family activities throughout the year like mother-son bowling and the father-daughter dance. Perhaps the best aspect of the school is that they are focused on teaching the "whole child", to include academics, and a strong moral and religious development. My husband and I would recommend this school to our friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

Bad teachers, bullying, and limited resources are problems at this school. Some teachers lack patience and don't communicate regularly with the parents. There is no gymnasium. Almost no resources outside of basic instruction. No music program with instruments and almost no other extra activities. Religous education is vasilates between lackluster or draconian. Better off in Fairfax County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2011

Our children have attended this school for five years. We choose this school for the God-centered education, and have been so happy with both the spiritual and educational growth that the faculty and staff have provided. As a transfer from a public school, St. Veronica feels more like home and an extension of family life in growing our children in the faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2010

challenging academic curriculum, great teachers, strong principal leadership, strong faith, wonderful activites throughout the year
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • First Place - Arlington Diocese Science Fair (2009)
  • First Place - Arlington Diocese Science Fair (2008)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Arlington
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Paul VI High School
Bishop O'Connell High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3460 Centreville Road
Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone: (703) 773-2020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Paladin Academy
Chantilly, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT