Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chantilly High School

Public | 9-12 | 2649 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2014

I am a former Chantilly student and am now the parent of a Chantilly freshman. My years at Chantilly were good ones. I had wonderful teachers, a few are still there! Some of my former classmates are now teaching here. I received a great education that helped me when I continued on to college. I don't felt like I was ever ignored by teachers and I was an average student (graduated with a 3.0 GPA). I had many good friends who I am still close with to this day. I hope my daughter enjoys Chantilly as much as I did. So far, so good. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

Chantilly is a great school. I moved to Virginia before my sophmore year, the teachers were great with helping me catch up on all of the things I would need to know. Also, the large majority of Chantilly High School is accepting of diversity. It is a great school academically, athletically, and socially.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2013

Worst school ever. Academically, is it fine, but if your child is not white then watch out. This school has a huge racism problem, and the administration is extremely rude.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2011

Chantilly HS is a great school for all their populations. They have an AP program that readies students for top colleges. Their general ed program is as good as many private schools and their special education program helps students with disabilities to succeed in the general education curriculum. The new prinicipal is a personable leader who is well liked by the student population. I feel very lucky to be able to send my child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

Prepares you for college well with APs, I was able to get into a top 30 college and got 35 credits from AP testing. Great extracurriculars and I loved most of my teachers (exception being AP science classes...). Still go back and visit them every year. There is an opportunity for every kid here, from sports to drama to music. I also took classes in Chantilly Academy -- enjoyed meeting kids from other high schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2010

This is a great school. Great athletics and academics. Wish that I went to Chantilly High School when I was a teenager.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Gret teaching staff, great athletic program and lots of advanced classes available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

FromAcademy classes to full selection of sports. There is something for everyone but let your voice be heard and you will be directed to your dreams
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son attended the Chantilly Center & I thought it was a very good program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

I fell through the cracks at thi school, the teachers are for the most part to busy with the hundred or so other students that they have to take care of. If I hadnt transferred I would not be in College today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2006

I am a Junior at 'tilly. Great teachers. Has many classes that will prepare you for college. Academically, it's great but socially it's not. Kids are nice, but there's too many cliques. This school can get very boring. It depends, some people like chantilly, and some find it lonesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2006

I'm a 'tilly grad (04'). I now attend virginia tech. The quality of education i received in this school is obvious now that i am in classes with students that went to other schools. This is really a great college-prep school. The ap and even non ap courses really helped. I love mr clement. Regular government all the way!! :) go hokies!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2006

In spite of it's large student body, this school provides diverse opportunities for all it's students. The teaching staff is first rate and their are many quality coaches and a top of the line music department. The school could stand to improve it's diversity but even that is improving with time. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

One of the top schools in the country for good reason. Great opportunities here and an environment where students are encouraged to take advantage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

I just graduated from Chantilly two years ago and I miss every bit of my high school experience. The environment, faculty and staff, fellow students all helped make my experience at Chantilly a memorable one. They offer a various amount of extra curricular activities that rang from sports, the fine arts, music, theatre, clubs, and student government. I am now in college studying to become a teacher and I would love to go back and teach at Chantilly High in the future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 28, 2004

I attended Chantilly High School in the late 80's and have learned that many of the same teachers are still there today. Any student attending Chantilly will receive a top notch education and will have all of the resources needed to succeed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

My son attended Chantilly all four years. He received an excellent education both in the classroom as well as in extra curricular activities. His teachers were responsive to his needs and my questions. He is now a sophomore studying Civil Engineering at one of the top colleges in the nation. His high school preparation is serving him well, thanks to the wonderful Chantilly community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

713 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

666 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

660 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

669 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

671 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

550 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

665 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

667 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
99%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

662 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students84%
Female students85%
Male students83%
Black students82%
Asian students98%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial64%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students89%
Proficient in English82%

Algebra II

All Students84%
Female students85%
Male students84%
Black students68%
Asian students94%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial84%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students66%
Proficient in English87%

Biology

All Students92%
Female students94%
Male students90%
Black students87%
Asian students96%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial91%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English95%

Chemistry

All Students92%
Female students93%
Male students92%
Black students86%
Asian students96%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial83%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English95%

Earth Science

All Students92%
Female students88%
Male students96%
Black students88%
Asian students94%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students72%
Proficient in English94%

English: Reading

All Students95%
Female students96%
Male students95%
Black students94%
Asian students95%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial85%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students78%
Proficient in English98%

English: Writing

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students93%
Black students89%
Asian students97%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial81%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students76%
Proficient in English96%

Geometry

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students87%
Black students71%
Asian students96%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial91%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English91%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students95%
Female students93%
Male students97%
Black students97%
Asian students96%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial92%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities79%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English97%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students93%
Female students93%
Male students93%
Black students84%
Asian students98%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial91%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English96%

World History II

All Students93%
Female students93%
Male students94%
Black students88%
Asian students96%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial89%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities66%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Korean

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Teresa L Johnson

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Korean

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4201 Stringfellow Rd
Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone: (703) 222-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Different Drum
Chantilly, VA



Westfield High School
Chantilly, VA


Alc At Mountain View
Centreville, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT