Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brookfield Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 817 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2014

Diverse, Caring, Warm, Friendly, Professional, Welcoming, Supportive...I can go on and on about Brookfield Elementary. I absolutely LOVE this school. The administration, teachers and staff go above and beyond to help the children. Brookfield has a wonderfully diverse community, which is celebrated. There are so many resources available to the children that you cannot find in other schools. My experience as a parent as been extremely positive. My children loves their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2014

I couldn't ask for a more welcoming, supportive environment for my kids. All the teachers and staff that I have encountered go above and beyond. They respond to all our questions and there are so many fun things to do for the kids and families every month.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2014

We love this school! The teachers and staff really care about the success of the students here. They are professional and are highy qualified to deal with all different types of students. It is a very diversely populated school, and there are many oportunities for parental involvement. The PTA plans a number of activities throughout the year and parents are welcome to volunteer in the class room. I can't speak any more highly of Brookfield elementary, it's a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2014

I am raising two citizens of the world, so it's no surprise that this school is our perfect fit. My two boys have lived in many countries and have attended world class schools. We, as parents, believe that this school has surpassed any standard we had for American standards. We have a son with dyslexia and the staff at this school has gone above and beyond the expectations we had for public school. We were open to the idea of our children attending private schools, we were more than willing to incur that expense if needed. This school has proven to be helpful, intuitive, and motivated to learn and accommodate a child with a specific learning difference. The staff are helpful, honest and supportive of all families regardless of their culture, economic status or family dynamic. We believe that this school prepares children to function as citizens in the real world, the world that has diversity and cultural enrichment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2014

I have been exceptionally happy with this school. I have master's and doctoral degrees in education and am trained as an elementary school teacher. All three of my children attend school at Brookfield where we have had amazing teachers with an incredibly supportive administration. The PTA has done a great job supporting the learning environment by offering assemblies, after school activities, and family involvement opportunities. It is a warm and welcoming community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2014

I attended Brookfield as a kid, and I believe the teachers really prepared me for the next levels of education. I think that it can improve on the after school activities. Its kinda funny the bad reviews here all have many spelling mistakes.


Posted April 18, 2014

We have loved our time at Brookfield this year. The peaceful diversity of the school has been inspiring. The SACC program helped make a rough transition easier for our very sensitive kindergartner. The guidance counselors and librarian have welcomed our little guy with open arms as well. His teacher has nourished a love of reading, math and science. She's also encouraged him to attempt difficult fine motor skills and inspired him to practice writing stories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

This is a very bad school, they don't care about the students, Principle is not the leader, administrations are very cold, they never great or say hello. Bullying is a big things, there are many kids saying a lot of bad words, My kids all the time complained how their foods are cold, and sometimes rotting. I'm looking to move in the future soon, because of that. I hope if who ever in charge of FCPS could pay attention to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

The principal is not the strong lieder, the administration doesn't work as a team, they are not really care about compassion and students success. Bullying is terrible, as a parent at Brookfield I got the worse experience over there, my son got ill Physical and emotional there, and not body care about. Teachers need a compliment. No teaching team, unable to correct and motivate students for success, this is very weak, something is wrong, may be demographics of this area, no parents involvement in the education of their kids. There is no pressure for the School administration to be very professional and really care about the education and supportive for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

Brookfield ES is a wonderful school. It celebrates its ethnic diversity and strives to meet the goals of every student. The staff and teachers are some the most friendly that I have ever encountered. The administration is committed to every child's success. Parents are very involved and it is a great community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

My kid started going to this School this year. Excelent teachers and very active PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

A great school has... Excellent teachers Strong principal/school leadership Challenging academic programs A great school has... Excellent teachers Strong principal/school leadership Challenging academic programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

This is a great school. It's ethnically diverse, the teachers are terrific and the administration is fabulous. My son loves going to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

We have been thrilled with our time at Brookfield. Good leadership starts at the top and the principal fosters an environment that tries to meet the needs of every child. 2 of my son's 3 teachers have been superlative and the third was still moderately good. The principal learns the name of every child in her school (nearly 800!) and fosters a community feeling with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

I like this school very much. The staff is very personable and very involved in the extra activities like the PTA events. The principal makes a point to know all the students by name; she is very committed to the students and the teachers' happiness and well being. I am however, very concerned with the test scores. I would like to see more committment to ensuring and encouraging the students to really learn the cirriculum. Although the kids are very well nurtured, personally, it seems as though many of them are slipping through the cracks as concerns their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

I am very pleased with this school...Very friendly oriented staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

This is an amazing school with a highly talented administration. My son loves Brookfield. The PTA is very good and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

I am very happy with this school. It provides the children with a great curricular. It is well funded and it has a good scored.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students76%
Male students61%
Black students50%
Asian students70%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students71%
Female students70%
Male students72%
Black students50%
Asian students65%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students69%
Proficient in English74%

Science

All Students72%
Female students76%
Male students69%
Black students60%
Asian students78%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students59%
Female students65%
Male students51%
Black students60%
Asian students66%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students72%
Female students72%
Male students71%
Black students70%
Asian students83%
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students73%
Male students77%
Black students40%
Asian students90%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English79%

English: Writing

All Students68%
Female students65%
Male students71%
Black students50%
Asian students89%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students73%
Female students73%
Male students74%
Black students30%
Asian students90%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English85%

Science

All Students61%
Female students58%
Male students65%
Black students20%
Asian students87%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students79%
Male students81%
Black students58%
Asian students82%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students85%
Female students87%
Male students83%
Black students77%
Asian students93%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Mary L Miller

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 Lees Corner Rd
Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone: (703) 814-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT