Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


J Michael Lunsford Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Thank you goes out to ALL the staff at J Michael Lunsford Middle School. I love this school and so does my daughter. Moving from another school district this school staff and all is superior.

J Michael Lunsford Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
They care and will do what it takes for the kids to succeed and learn.


J Michael Lunsford Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
My daughter rarely complains and she is independent and she gets it done and straight A's.

J Michael Lunsford Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
There are no problems that I am aware of in the school. They kids are happy and love the school. The education is above and beyond and yet they do great because the staff cares. They are on HS levels on some things, yet it doesn't faze them because they have the backing of a great staff.

J Michael Lunsford Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
They care about all students. They have had support for students that have had parents pass away suddenly or from illness and that touched me as a parent. They care about the education and kids that are new. They go out of their way to make sure the kids are happy and succeed. Many reasons why I feel this way.


J Michael Lunsford Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
They care about our kids. If they don't understand something, they will work with the kids. If they need to retake a test, they will make sure they understand the material and didn't miss something the first time around and work with them during their breaks. Before and after schools too.

J Michael Lunsford Middle School 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Since moving to J Michael Lunsford Middle School my daughter has soared in Academic, her overall drive to do her best and she is a straight A student now. The newer school is a happy environment and the staff is top notch. They are always welcoming and nice to great you. They care about out kids. If your child does bad on a test.......they care! They will work with them and give you the opportunity to better your grade. I can't say enough great things about this school. The best decision and glad we are a part of it. I can't say enough wonderful things about this school.

J Michael Lunsford Middle School 3

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
Schools on hyperdrive now and has lost the fun learning environment it had under previous admin. Too much testing and projects...parents get frequent emails from principal chastising us for whatever she thinks we aren't doing right - bringing in instruments and homework, picking up kids wrong, questioning the amount of homework, etc., etc. She was in charge of discipline at her last school and enjoys seeing students get in trouble - she also thinks it's too easy to get As. Why doesn't she try studying for 4-6 exams a week? Too bad - it used to be better. She and her admin staff need to relax and stop ruining our school!


J Michael Lunsford Middle School 4

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
Until recently we really loved Lunsford. The principal was fantastic and the staff he hired was very enthusiastic - they challenged the students while making it a fun environment to learn in. This year there's a new principal and she's established some new procedures that are questionable. The first is what she calls "rigorous" projects. Within a 2 week period recently, our son had 10 of these rigorous projects that caused many late nights (up until midnight) due to the short deadlines and the fact that he also had to keep up with his regular studying for tests and homework. This new and unjustifiable amount of work caused a lot of anxiety for him and many of his friends. These kids are used to a heavy workload in this area but throwing all of these complex projects into the mix is just ramping it up too much. The students are already in school 7 hours a day and spend a good amount of time on regular quiz and test prep and homework. The new principal and her staff have just taken this to a whole new level that is completely unreasonable. She should have taken the time to gauge the school environment first before implementing all these projects on students this year. No kid in middle school should ever be up that late doing homework. Thank goodness my last child will be out of Lunsford soon.

J Michael Lunsford Middle School 4

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
My daughter will have spent 6th and 7th here at the end of the year. She has LOVED middle school, felt challenged by her teachers, and made amazing friends. We will be moving this summer and she is so sad to leave! The band program has been a fabulous experience for her and she has loved most of her teachers. If you are moving to the area, you will not be disappointed with this school.

Nearby schools

J Michael Lunsford Middle School
26020 Ticonderoga Rd, Chantilly, VA  20152
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (703) 722-2660
Last modified J Michael Lunsford Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top