Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rocky Run Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 1022 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

Just putting this out there, Rocky Run Middle School is the BEST SCHOOL EVER!!!!!!!!! I'm a 7th grader there, and the curriculum is full of challenging material. To all the people who think Rocky Run is not a great school, we outnumber you 5 to 1.


Posted December 1, 2013

Great teachers and love the new principal. School counselors are very nice. Great teachers, especially math and civics. They stay after school for help. History dept. is very creative. Overall, Rocky Run is a great school and a great learning facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

Great energy, teachers, extra-curricular programs and culture. Teachers are allowed flexibility in how they present students information and they are top-notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

is ok is ok is ok is ok is ok is ok is ok is ok
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

I am i student here at Rocky run and I'll say this, it is the best school I've ever been in. I haven't heard of any drama going on yet and everyone is already halfway through the school year. The history department at Rocky Run is the best because of their teaching styles and the interactive activities they make us do. The only bad part about it may be the science department, I feel like the teachers just give us busy work and sit at his desk all day.


Posted January 18, 2013

I am sorry the most recent post from the parent before this is so hostile. I am writing this to counter their arrogance and note about "TJ" (Thomas Jefferson High School). I am assuming they moved to the area JUST to push for their child to garner acceptance at TJ, and may have RRMS as their scapegoat if their son/daughter does not get accepted. Our child is in the GT (now "AAP") program and doing outstanding. The school, teachers, and principal have a great, caring, and academically challenging team. Our student is in 7th grade algebra honors -- all of his courses are interesting -- and the teachers are incredibly supportive on all fronts. Our student's history teacher was the school district's teacher of the year last year. 'Hope this helps offset some of the previous post's negativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

Rocky Run is a big disappointment, it tauts itself as the "junior TJ", we have been there two years and yet to have one challenging or even interesting project or assignment, and teachers are mediocre at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

I'll be graduating from Rocky Run in about two weeks, and I can say from the bottom of my heart that it is the Best. School. Ever. It has amazing teachers, who are soooo understanding and ALWAYS there for you no matter what, the principal is really nice as well as the administration, and the academic department is both challenging and fun, and very beneficial. Rocky Run is very diverse, and there is a place for everyone. I'm so glad I went to Rocky Run!


Posted December 20, 2011

My son had the choice of middle schools to attend because he is in the AAP program .... he chose Rocky Run. We are only in the first 3 months of 7th grade, but choosing RRMS was the best decision ever made!! The school is well run by the principal; the teachers are fantastic and really challenge their students. My son is really living up to his potential - he has made Honor Roll, and really likes going to school. The teachers really encourage and inspire their studients. The school itself is clean, updated, and fosters an excellent learning environment! So glad we are part of the RRMS community!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

This school has horrible teacher turn over rate. The principal is rude. My daughter got hurt at school and the staff refused to let her call home and get help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

RR teachers and staff care about the education and well-being of our kids and their community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

Wonderful school with caring involved leadership, excellent teachers, motivated students who are also great kids from great families - everything you could wish for in a great school! In six years in the community I've never heard anything negative said about this school, feel fortunate that my son can attend here - he loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Both our children went to this school and later on to Thomas Jefferson High School. The grounding and basic training at Rocky Run has helped them withstand the academic stress of TJ - 4 years for my son and three for my daughter who is currently enrolled - my daughter's grounding in drama and theater at Rocky Run has helped her acting career at TJ. Both my children were able to maintain their grades and secure high SAT scores because Rocky Run gave them a foundation for self-study, committment to achievement and an excellent group of friends who have stayed around for many years and reinforced each other through the tough times. To the teachers at Rocky Run, Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

I attended a private school before I first came to Rocky Run, and I thought I wouldn't fit in. I love it here! The teachers are amazing and the curriculum is very strong.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2008

This school has a rigorous curriculum. The principal is a forward thinking leader who is grounded in reality. The teachers are energetic and love their jobs. This is a safe environment to which you are happy to send your blooming teenagers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

Rocky Run Middle is an overall great school. There have been no incidents of major bullying, violence, or drugs that I have heard of since I have started attending there. Most of the teachers are well trained and there are a variety of after school activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2008

Rocky Run is a really great middle school. Teachers are fun and friendly, almost always upbeat and happy (unless they're sick). The kids there are good people, and in my two years here I've never seen a single bullying incident, or any of those kind of things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

I was reluctant to send my daughter to this schools as all her siblings had attended Franklin Middle but I was pleasantly surprised at the welcoming nature nad high academics.So far I am happy to say it has been a great expeince with the teacher responses and help with homwork. I would suggest this school to others in the future.Keep up the good work and try to hold more outdoor activities in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

Rocky Run Rocks! All the kids are very happy there. It is a very wealthy school and the teachers are great. All the kids are awesome and everyone gets a great education.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

496 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

504 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students97%
Female students97%
Male students97%
Black students85%
Asian students99%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English98%

Math

All Students77%
Female students75%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students76%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students97%
Female students97%
Male students96%
Black students100%
Asian students98%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English98%

English: Writing

All Students95%
Female students97%
Male students94%
Black students85%
Asian students98%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial97%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English97%

Math

All Students94%
Female students92%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students99%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial100%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities77%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English95%

Science

All Students98%
Female students97%
Male students98%
Black students90%
Asian students99%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial97%
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students99%
Female students99%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian students99%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Anthony Terrell

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4400 Stringfellow Rd
Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone: (703) 802-7700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Timothy School
Chantilly, VA





Stone Middle School
Centreville, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT