Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-12
Private
Charlottesville, VA
Students enrolled: 205
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tandem Friends School 3

Posted May 31, 2014
- a community member
for theatre, arts and language only Great staff, happy environment, best for struggling kids socially or those with learning disabilities or behavior problems. Average or gifted students will be fine in public school or other private schools with structured courses and rigorous academic standards (example- Tandem students may retake failed exams over and over until they get a good grade so as not to hurt the student's feelings). Gifted students are considered challenging. The math and science department is minimal. Graduates go to liberal arts colleges or have wealthy parents to carry them through life in other ways.

Tandem Friends School 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a community member
Tandem is an amazing school, I am currently a student there and I LOVE it. The teachers really get to know and understand the students and vice versa. I have many friends here and I would recommend it to anyone who can afford the tuition


Tandem Friends School 4

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
Tandem is a special school, with a culture that reflects its Quaker values and an emphasis on independent exploration. It offers a sufficiently broad curriculum to challenge the academically gifted and motivate those who have learning difficulties. The teachers love their jobs and their students and the care they bring to their profession makes a personal difference in students' lives. It is a small school (200 plus) which has pros and cons. Financially, the school finds it hard to make ends meet, especially as it must compete with its much better endowed neighbor, St. Anne's. It is going through a growth transition where it must be careful not to lose its culture, values, and supportive, creative environment. If your child would flourish in a place where everyone knows his name and 12th graders are buddies with 5th graders, consider Tandem. If your child wants a football team and marching band and 40 different AP courses to choose from, this is the wrong place.

Tandem Friends School 5

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
TFS is an academically rigorous school with a heart. The outstanding faculty nurtures the best in the students in a supportive, cooperative community. The new head brings great ideas and passion to 21st century education that is inspiring to the students, faculty and parents. In addition to the academics, the school places importance on community service and a student's life in his or her community. We are very pleased with the well rounded education that our child is receiving.

Tandem Friends School 5

Posted September 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughter started here in 5th grade, and is now in 11th. She has had a fabulous education, and a great human experience as well. The community provides kids with valuable experience of understanding other people's needs as well as your own. The excellent new principal who started in July 2011 brings a new energy to the school, while continuing to respect what is already great about it.


Tandem Friends School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
We only have experience with the High School portion at TFS and have been VERY happy with the environment, the education, & the community. They really do try to teach students to think and stretch themselves and it IS academically challenging. The admin & faculty has worked wonderfully with us and our student to ensure he is challenged and has access to excellent instruction in science, math, language, history - you name it. There are plenty of AP classes and excellent college guidance. We are very pleased.

Tandem Friends School 2

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
Much of the faculty works hard to help the students but the administration is an ongoing fiasco interfering with Tandem's functioning as a serious school. The social pressure from above at the school is rigid, and administration behavior is often hasty, unexplained and callous.

Tandem Friends School 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a student
I used to go to Tandem Friends, and it was by far the best school I have ever been to. The environment is great, the classes are engaging, and the teachers really know what they are doing. I will always miss it.


Tandem Friends School 5

Posted October 23, 2007
- a student
The one on one feel with teacher and student is fantastic! The school really prepared me for college and in fact I went to college with a full year ahead of all other students.

Tandem Friends School 5

Posted April 23, 2007
- a parent
We love the spirit of cooperative inquiry that motivates students and teachers to learn together here. Tandem is truly a community--from the classroom, to extracurriculars, to the stellar arts and music department. when my high-achieving middle schooler moved from a small school that bills itself as being for 'intellectually advanced students' to Tandem, it was like someone turned on a light bulb in his brain: he thrives on the independence, the small classes, the nurturing environment we have found at Tandem. We have found it to be a very special place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tandem Friends School
279 Tandem Ln, Charlottesville, VA  22902
(434) 296-1303
Last modified Tandem Friends School is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Tandem Friends School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top