Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Baker-Butler Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 566 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2012

FANTASTIC elementary school!! I am surprised by this ranking, Baker-Butler is just as good as Hollymead and not nearly as crowded! Plus it's the newest elementary facility in the area! If you're new to the area, this is the elementary school you should select!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

I'd say this is one of the best schools around Charlottesville. My daughter has been there for 3 years and I can't say enough good things about it. The low student teacher ratio makes a huge difference in the classroooms, although it will change next year with the redistricting and having more kids from Hollymead - which is totally overrated. This school is new, fresh, innovative and diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

We love Baker-Butler Elementary! Two of our children currently attend, The teachers care about the students learning and helping them at their level. The volunteering is awesome and I love that not only do I get to be involved in my child's class, but I also get to meet other parents who are there. My sister recently visited from another state and couldn't believe how many parents were in the school volunteering. I am impressed by the way the students treat each other and the way the teachers and administration work with them. The school is bright, cheery, and innovative. I am amazed at what they are learning at such young ages and how they thrive on the challenge. When my first grader came home talking about vertices a few weeks into the school year I was blown away. Each grade puts on a show each year. It was a graet experience last year to watch the Kindergarteners singing and delivering their speaking parts with poise and confidence. The teachers are top notch and in our experience great about communicating with you about what is going on and what is next. We will be moving soon and we are so sad, this school is tops!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

This is THE elementary school for your children. Our first home selection criteria was that it had to be in Baker-Butler school district. It's the newest school in Albemarle County and, as such, attracts the best administration and teachers. We had 3 of our children attend this school and have been thrilled with the administrative leadership and support staff, impressed by the teachers' enthusiasm, teaching abilities and compassion and grateful for the encouragment and acceptance of parental involvement. This is a wonderful school for your little ones to start their academic lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

This is a fantastic school with great leadership, an awsome office staff and teachers who really care. My child has had problems with reading and the school has a very specific personalized program that includes one-on-one 'tutoring' to help get him on track. Also, the music and arts program is fantastic and the best I have ever seen in an elementary school, along with gym teachers that encourage physical fitness through old fashion fun activities. My family moved to this school district just to attend this school; it is one of the best decisions we have ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We moved to Charlottesville, last summer, so this is the first year my children have attended Baker-Butler. It has been a great year. My husband and I have been impressed, and extremely pleased with the quality of the teachers, the responsiveness of the administration to our issues, and the effectiveness of the PTO. Most importantly, my children are engaged, challenged and continue to thrive. Baker-Butler has been a great experience for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

This school has a great location and facility. The students come from very supportive parent communities. The teachers and admin. however do not support the ideals of the community. There are many diverse learners and their is little insight into how to support these within the school. The admin. does their job to defend the staff and their goals but the schools does not support the students. The school has a signifiant issue with girl bulling and cliques. The bulling program or the admin. can not/or does not address these issues


Posted April 19, 2009

I have had two children in this school from kindergarten through fifth grade. I am extremely pleased with how my children have been challenged, the creative ways they are taught and the many community resources which are incoporated. I have been very pleased with how the school has adapted to meet the varying needs of my children. I can say definitively that they DO divide the children into reading groups. They test the children throughout the year and adjust them as needed. I know this because I volunteer for the literacy time. My children have been continually challenged. I have also found that they have responded quickly to any questions or concerns I may have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

I have found this school to be less than responsive to our concerns. The school facilitates 'bullying by exclusion' in organized activities. No matter what you're concern, there is almost always something wrong with your child. As far as the parents who are 'supportive' of the schools, well those are probably the parents of the 'cool' kids and the bullies doing that talking. Those of us with normal, average children and not arrogant, self centered, egotistical superstar wannabes have to put up with a total lack of attention at this school. The 'disdavantaged' and the 'gifted' are catered to, normal kids - well the school just wants them to shut up and get with their 'program.' Some of the individual teachers are fantastic - but they are crippled by an adminstration that is weak and reactive. Where is the previous principal when we need him?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I'm the parent of a child that goes to this school. The administrative staff does in deed deal with problems with a hands off approach. If you have a problem they seem to sweet talk you until you just give up. I feel that they talk the big talk of no bulling is tolerated but they don't follow it. They know there are children that are always in trouble with bulling, hitting and name calling other children but they do nothing. What they do is 'talk' to the 'troubled' child and then expect the victim to accept a half hearted apology. Then all is forgiven. Not!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

I'm a parent with two children at the school. A new principal and a new vice principal have taken over the school this academic year (07-08) and it has been a rough year. I get the impression that the administration is putting the wishes of the teachers over the needs of the students. Their clear goal is to bring the lower achieving students up to the state minimum standards at the expense of the higher achieving students. I also do not think they are using the input of the parents in making decisions that should be in the best interest of the students. It's a shame to see all of the great work done by the previous principal at such a nice school is being driven to mediocracy by what I perceive as bureaucrats.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

I am not a parent, but a teacher working in another school system nearby. I completed my student teaching at Baker-Butler. Everything I know about skilled teaching I learned from the wonderful staff at Baker-Butler. My time there was so valuable and I find myself using many of the effective teaching strategies I learned there in my current classroom. I applaud their efforts for excellence in education and their principal was a joy to work with! I wish every school could be that lucky!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 25, 2004

Baker-Butler is one of Albemarle shinning stars as far as elementary schools go. The staff was hand picked by a very experienced principal and there seems to be very good moral. The school is state of the art with equipment and facalty. The parent envolment is extremely good. A great school for any parent to concider. Absolultly a fine elementary. My only concern is that there seems to be an assumtion that all parents seem to be in a med-high income bracket. That does put pressure on lower income families when it comes to extra expences that occur during the school year, like field trips, extra school supplies, and many fundraising events . Even though money may be available, I think the school has an up-scale image that makes it difficult for some parents to reveil they need assistance. These things may become more evident as the school matures.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students82%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial60%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students63%
Female students61%
Male students64%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial47%
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English64%

Science

All Students86%
Female students86%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial73%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students74%
Male students75%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students82%
Female students81%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students82%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students74%
Female students74%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Science

All Students80%
Female students82%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2740 Proffit Road
Charlottesville, VA 22911
Phone: (434) 974-7777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hollymead Elementary School
Charlottesville, VA



Woodbrook Elementary School
Charlottesville, VA


Agnor-Hurt Elementary School
Charlottesville, VA



Greenbrier Elementary School
Charlottesville, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT