Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenbrier Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 324 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 14, 2014

This is a fine school! !! Everyone is lovely. My son started the school year late because we moved. His teacher welcomed him with opened arms.His desk had his name, they were waiting for my son!! The whole class knew he was coming because the teacher told them!! I love that!!! Best choice I ever made!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

I have had three very different children at Greenbrier and I marvel at what a comprehensive, professional and talented staff they have. The principle is devoted to the community and leads the teachers in setting the highest of standards. He also uses his authority to hire only the best educators who make up a cohesive team. We have a diverse population with English as the second language for many. However, all children are given comprehensive supports to reach these high expectations and the results are amazing. I have not met a teacher I would not want my child with. I have not wished for my children to have access to any resource that was not provided. I have one child who receives daily special ed services as well as gifted education. Another child who is in Kindergarten and an advanced reader. Both of my children, and all those I have seen in between have been attended to individually with the goal of seeing growth no matter where they start. The front office staff is efficient and welcoming. The library circulates an amazing number of books daily, children are safe, our guidance counselor is truly effective, we have various resource specialists and the PTO is active!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2013

This school should be a model for all the schools in VA. I have relocated to the NOVA area and if it was not for my career, I would come back home for my children to contiue the family tradition of excellent education. I remember more from my 4 years there then my 4 years in undergrad. The teachers actually taught and showed me what I was learning for it stay with me unitl now. I show my children my teaching methods for science, social studies and math that I was taught at this school. Even though the administration has changed a few times since the early 80's I know that passion for teaching in the teachers/instructors have not changed. The facilty wants to see each and every child succeed. A true No Child Left Behind. Compassion, Compassion, compassion. Thank you Greenbrier Elementary for a Great start to my future. GO FROGS!!!!!


Posted February 8, 2011

We have 2 children that attend Greenbrier Elementary. The principle and assistant principle are very supportive. The principle gets quality teachers in the school. We have loved our experience here. I would recommend this school to anyone and I do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

I have two children, both very different, attending Greenbrier. We couldn't be happier. The teachers are excellent and the principal is smart, caring and a great leader. The school has a very active PTO. The parents obviously care a lot about the school. My experience is the teachers have high expectations for every child in the classroom. My children have learned so much academically as well as socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

My child has attended Greenbrier for the past three years, and we have been extremely happy with everything about the school. His teachers have been so caring, professional, and knowledgeable. We have also been pleased with the administration, particularly the principal. She runs the school with a real sense of pride and professionalism, and it shows in the people around her. She truly believes in every one of her students, and her positive outlook reflects in the successes of her staff and students. We love this school and look forward to the rest of our family benifitting from the gifts inside it's doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2005

This school is rated very high, but in my observations, the children in need of additional help are ostracized and retained more than any school I've ever seen. As the principal is very on top of things, her dictatorship style of leadership is very intimidating to staff, children and parents. I believe there would be more parental involvement if the atmosphere was more warm and welcoming to all in this very diverse population of families. Parents are not allowed to walk children to the classrooms, even if she is sad, scared or sick. There would be more parental involvement with encouragement and not intimidation or belittlement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2005

I felt so welcomed when we were choosing Greenbrier to be our school after our move to C'Ville. It was the best choice. You walk in and everyone knows your name and make you feel welcomed. You can be as active as you wish and if you don'thave time, you will know that your children still are having a great educational experience. The teachers are wonderful and they want to do what is best for each child individually. This is a great school and we will be sad to leave it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Parent Involvement at the school is amazing to me because they care unlike some other schools i have seen. academic programs really challenge the students to use their minds and think creativly. the music department at the school is like no other. the kids learn to play the recorder and the spoons!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students85%
Male students82%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English90%

Math

All Students72%
Female students68%
Male students79%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students33%
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students89%
Female students88%
Male students90%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students83%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students94%
Female students96%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. James E. Kyner

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2228 Greenbrier Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone: (434) 245-2415

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Walker Upper Elementary School
Charlottesville, VA


Einstein School
Charlottesville, VA


Woodbrook Elementary School
Charlottesville, VA


Agnor-Hurt Elementary School
Charlottesville, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT