Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Charlottesville, VA
Students enrolled: 200
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 77 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


80 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Peabody School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Peabody School is one of the best around. Both of my children have had such positive experiences, and the school has nurturing and kind teachers who care about the whole child. Administration is supportive and involved. The turnover that has happened is needed and the school is stronger because of it. Peabody is in high demand because it is doing things right. We couldn't be happier.

Peabody School 5

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
#1 choice in the region: The Best: Does not require a particular religion in order to be part of the community. As result you get the brightest kids, happiest families, most productive teachers and the broadest range of educational experiences. By watching the others, a child understands their place in the world. Peabody families are winners including business owners, professionals, artists, teachers, coaches and so on. Some are wealthy, many are not. Wealth is not the measure of success results are and the kid s pick up on that. The Good: The kids are not bored. The administrators move fast when facing a problem. Inappropriate behavior is immediately counseled and monitored. The school expects intelligence in the kids and does not praise it. Praise is reserved for effort and it shows. The Bad: Old guard teachers and supporters set the agenda. Some teacher turnover is the result. New teachers take time to buy in to the program. Space is limited and there is a lack of big school amenities. The new gym will help but not enough. The Worst: The geographic range is wide due to the nature of admissions. Communal experience suffers when your child s buddy lives 10 miles away.


Peabody School 2

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
Being 1 year removed from the school, i have to think our 4 years at Peabody were not a great investment. The school is academically very rigorous, and I think my kid lost some youth grinding out homework. Teacher turn over is pretty high, but there is an entrenched old guard that stays in place. The leadership is non existent with a principle that reactionary and lacks vision. Field trips cancelled due to poor planning, student teacher conferences that never happen, constant fund raising, teachers hired with metal illness to be discovered later and let go, or worse. Very sad and a far step from the original vision of the school. We are much happier in a private school that looks at the beauty of the whole child.

Peabody School 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
Peabody is an exceptional school for kids who love to learn and teachers who love to teach. Our family has been with the school for 6 years now and Peabody continues to knock our socks off on a routine basis. Where else would you find a first grade teacher who uses Oreos to teach the phases of the moon, or will happily jump up onto a table to make a lesson fun and memorable? Where else would you find a head of school who will give up her Saturday night for a middle school girls sleepover to build sisterhood and respect at a time when tweens in other schools are perfecting their mean girl skills? Where else would you find an all-school talent show where a kid can get up and sing a solo without fear of being laughed at AND to thunderous applause from his peers (no matter how good the actual singing). And where else will you find kids who are as uniquely curious, kind, original and, unabashedly, themselves? If Peabody has any shortcoming, it is only that it has to end after eighth grade.

Peabody School 1

Posted March 18, 2014
- a community member
Obviously all these positive reviews are fake, probably written by a school administrator -notice the dates? Several of them are posted on the same date, others a few days apart, with no logical intervals. Unless a bunch of parents collectively decided one day to hit the reviews, the school is desperately trying to address what everyone knows is a horrible reputation -especially in regards to the administrators.


Peabody School 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a community member
I love Peabody. I do not know why the school has been getting such bad reviews, because I have been here for 7 years, since Kindergarten. The school has much improved and growed in the past few years. We got a new, nicer receptionist, we have new teachers that love to teach (and learn from us, the students) and we have a lot that will be done next year. The school is building a new middle school and gym, and more space for playing sports. They are also offering lots of extracurricular activities after school. I have some problems with social skills, so the school noticed that and now I have a meeting with a teacher every Tuesday at lunch, that is very informative and helpful. The teachers have a lot of excitement for learning, and offer help when ever you need it. I love Peabody in every way. -Submitted by a current student

Peabody School 1

Posted December 08, 2013
- a community member
This is one of the worst schools I've ever been too. I was bullied constantly and made fun of for no reason at all. Their bullying to me has made me and 5 other kids leave the school. I know this because I was a student! Its your choice if you choose to send your kids, but I recommend a second thought for sure.

Peabody School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
Peabody is an awesome place that encourages its students to think independently, be kind, contribute to their class & community and overall just be better, more inquisitive kids. we had high expectations and it has far exceeded those.


Peabody School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
This school and its wonderful staff have provided a warm and nurturing experience for two of our children over many years. The classes are small and the children become as siblings, developing bonds that will last a lifetime. Classes encourage enthusiasm for learning and accomplishment, and allow the children to progress at their own - generally accelerated - pace. Homework is minimal (but allows the student to explore further what s/he learned in class) which allows for family time and age-appropriate adventures and work. This school became our family's community, a diverse group of friends equally enthusiastic about learning and conscious living. Not the best match for all children (no school is), but worth visiting and seeing for yourself if it might be a good match for your child. It was the best match for ours.

Peabody School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
We relocated to the area this year and our two kids love the school. A great place for smart kids to learn, with challenging work but not being overly competitive with each other. The students seem to be supportive of each other. The athletics have an emphasis on everyone playing and kids having fun. if you see everyone's being dropped off in the morning you can see that they are all happy to be there. Not the fanciest facilities in the area, but the teachers are top notch.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peabody School
1232 Stoney Ridge Rd., Charlottesville, VA  22902
(434) 296-6901
Last modified Peabody School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Peabody School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 80 reviews. Top