Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Charlottesville, VA

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monticello High School 1

Posted August 09, 2014
- a community member
Worst school I've gone too all they care about it the sports they just tell all the seniors turning 18 or Juniors to drop out because they can and then they act like they didn't know what happened . needs a new principal a new coaching staff and new teachers any other school in albemarle would be better.

Monticello High School 4

Posted February 25, 2012
- a parent
One of the best High schools I've enrolled my kids in, excellent Academic choices, great staff, good values. Wonderful environment, overall the best Hight School to deal with as a parent.


Monticello High School 4

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
Great school! It has matured and really developed in a positive way since it was first established just 10 years ago. My child is in all advanced honors and AP courses. An excellent choice if a parent wants a school that values its diverse population, with a strong emphasis on academic excellence, welcoming environment, excellent facilities a nd values engaging the community. compliments from parents. It has a good athletics dept but uneven in its commitment to athletics. Some sports heavily supported, others not as much. Overall, a great school.

Monticello High School 3

Posted July 27, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Monticello High School 5

Posted June 23, 2008
- a parent
Monticello Public High School has a grate educational program and a grate faculty that cares about the student. MHS has grate academic standings in almost all of the courses offered at the school. MHS has one of the best athletic standing in all of Virginia. Winning a State Football championship in 2007-2008 season the first championship title in the 10 year history of the school (founded in 1998). MHS has the highest SOL passing rate in Jefferson district and is one of the top in academics


Monticello High School 5

Posted July 24, 2007
- a parent
When Haun came to MHS I was ELATED. He does a wonderful job and should not have to run interference with unruly, unparented kids. He is a principal, not a warden. Two of mine have passed thru with Billy and I could not have been more pleased. My Sr. carries a 4.50 weighed GPA and has only met 1 or 2 teachers not worth her time. Sports are top notch too.

Monticello High School 5

Posted June 30, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Monticello High School 4

Posted October 30, 2006
- a parent
I can only compare my students activity here at MHS, to his previous school experiences. My son has blossomed here and is achieving his goals. The staff and ancillary personnel lead by the principal are doing what is necessary to give our students the education they deserve and are entitled to in America. We need to stand behind them in their efforts to provide for this generation of citizens. Concerned parents need to work with instead of critizing MHS.


Monticello High School 3

Posted October 27, 2006
- a parent
My child turned 18 during the school year and they basically told my child they were free to drop out since they were 18 years old! I was so upset from the coaching staff, to the counselor, to the principal, to the superintendent's office, if I could have done somthing to them I would have! They got to live out thier lives and then just tell a new 18 year old, 'hey you can drop out if you want to'! My child had good grades and was well liked, I could see if they were a problem student, but even if they were a bad child, the overall comments and lack of concern was too much to bear!

Monticello High School 5

Posted September 15, 2006
- a parent
These comments sound like they were written by students! We have our 3rd student at MHS and have found teachers and principals extremely concerned and willing to go the extra mile to work with willing students who show initiative to help themselves. Don't blame teachers/principals for students who don't take initiative to work, improve, seek help and accept help. Several times we have met with teachers who have bent over backwards to show our students how to improve with study habits, writing assignments, accuracy, etc. These other comments are too vague to allow a poor conception of our school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monticello High School
1400 Independence Way, Charlottesville, VA  22902
(434) 244-3100
Last modified Monticello High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monticello High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top