Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paul H Cale Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 623 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2013

We love this school. We actually moved from the city to the county just for the Albemarle County schools, and especially for Cale. My children both have had a just a phenomenal experience at Cale. Every teacher, every staff member and even the school administration are superior in every way. They are friendly, warm and supportive. And, they all really know their stuff. The school does a wonderful job of meeting each student s needs (all levels, whatever they may be). The parent involvement is amazing and the PTO and the school administration make it easy to be active in your child s education. It s truly an amazing place and an exceptional part of the community. We have loved every moment of our children's time at Cale. Both of my children have always been happy there, they have excelled in their academics and they have loved their teachers. Thanks to Mrs. Jones and her staff of dedicated professionals, this is easily the best elementary school in the area. I have never heard even a single parent complain about the school in any way or the experience their child has had at Cale. 10 out of 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

Love, love this school. Both my children struggled with reading and I am proud to say that with the support and guidence they received in their elementary years has helped them achieve straight A's in middle and high school. I also wanted them to go to a school with diversity because treating everybody with equality is very important to me! {real world} Teacher to student ratio (when extra teachers are pulled to help out during literacy/math/special projects) is 1 to 5. The staff is top notch and treat each child as an individual. They teach the students to be responsible, respectful, and ready to learn. Cale was recently expanded and although there are over 500 students, no one would never know because the way the staff cleverly manages the student population. With regards to parent involvement...drive by any event and you'll see for yourself. This is a wonderful school and my advise to you is to observe a classroom, go during dismissal, or attend a school function and see for yourself!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2013

We moved to the area just for the Albemarle County schools, and especially for Cale. My daughter had a phenomenal experience at Cale Elementary. The teachers and administration was warm and supportive. The school does a good job of meeting students needs, whether they need an extra challenge, or need additional support. High parent involvement. A great community of students and parents. We loved our time at Cale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Great school! Love the staff here, teachers are awesome, great class sizes per teacher ratio. Nice inside as well, they really take pride in the school, I have had 3 kids through here so far and loving it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

My girl attended this school for a year and she loved it (1st grade). However, I didn't noticed much progress in her knowledge, especially in math. She never had a homework - just a book to read. I am also concerned with Cale's quite low rating - 6. If it is so great why the rating is so low? I hope the principal can answer my question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

My daughter is a rising first grader at Cale. She had a great kindergarten experience and we expect the same in first grade. The staff at the school and the PTO are extremely welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

My son is in Kindergarten at Cale. I too took him out of private school to attend Cale and at first was concerned about the transition (my son did not want to leave his old school). After the first day my son loved it and he still does. His teacher is excellent and he cannot wait to go to school each day. He is thriving and learning at an excellent rate. The staff is warm and friendly and they really encourage parental participation. The new principal seems to be fitting in just fine and made the new transition seemless. I am at his school three days a week helping out in various capacities. They really have it going on. The new playground and equipment is excellent. As a reading teacher myself I am throughly impressed with the level my child is reading at.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2007

So far I like this school, my 5yr old just started kindergarden there and he loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

We have been extremely pleased with Cale. The principal (Matt Landahl) is bright and energetic, and really cares about the students. (Unfortunately, he's leaving us next year... we'll see who fills his shoes.) The teachers so far have been great. The gifted resource teacher clearly is passionate about working with the children who need extra challenges to keep interested. The diversity of the student body is also wonderful -- it's not the same homogeneous institution as the others that are ranked highly in the area. Cale teachers manage to teach all students, on both ends of the spectrum and everyone in between. Lots of great parent involvement and school pride, and a good sense of community too. It will be nice when the construction is done and the new building wing is open in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I have 2 children who go to this school. At first we were concerned because we had taken our children out of a private montessori school and weren't sure how well they would perform in such a large public school. We are thrilled to report they are both thriving. Cale is a wonderful school. The Principal is warm and receptive and the teachers are top notch. Our daughter is in 3rd grade and we just love her teacher. She is innovative and responsive to our questions and the kids love her! We couldn't be happier! Our son is in kindergarten and is doing very well. All the teachers are enthusiastic and kind. You really cannot go wrong with Cale! Celina Mills
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

I have two daughters that go to Cale. I love this school and so does my girls. Every time there has been a problem the teachers and the principal have responded quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

This is the best school we could have hoped for when we moved to charlottesville. The teachers are all fantastic and the entire staff is friendly and wonderful. The literacy and buddy readers programs work extremely well. Students are grouped with their ability not just their age for reading as well as math. The parents also were very involved, and the school welcomes parent volunteers. I'm sorry that we had had to move away, we will miss Cale Elementary very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students72%
Female students62%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students35%
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students86%
Female students89%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students71%
Male students61%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracial80%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students44%
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students71%
Female students72%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial80%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students64%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students33%
Proficient in English76%

English: Writing

All Students65%
Female students73%
Male students60%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students68%
Female students66%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students33%
Proficient in English74%

Science

All Students60%
Female students52%
Male students66%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students33%
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lisa Jones

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1757 Avon Street Extended
Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone: (434) 293-7455

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tandem Friends School
Charlottesville, VA


Peabody School
Charlottesville, VA



Jackson-Via Elementary School
Charlottesville, VA


The Covenant School
Charlottesville, VA


Johnson Elementary School
Charlottesville, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT