Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hargrave Military Academy

Private | 7-12 | 214 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chatham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

Be careful before sending your son to this school. The structure was good during the week, but the boys have very little supervision or structure on the weekends. There are few adults supervising on the weekends and they rely on cadets reporting on each other. This is a problem as many of the students were troubled teens who negatively influenced others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

Hargrave Military Academy - Hargrave has really turned my son around. He started there in September 2013 after a dismal failing year in an otherwise excellent public school. Each quarter he improved his grades and we credit that with Hargrave's focus on discipline, academics and structure. The class sizes are very small, teachers are very responsive as is the entire Hargrave staff - infirmary, counselors, and administrative staff. It is run like a military school which is exactly what my son needed. He adapted very quickly to the environment and continues to improve each quarter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2013

This school is not for bad kids, it's for kids who are average. This school brings out the best or worst in people . From experience this school is not for the weak minded it is harder than any other school and it has excellent academics if your kid is not learning it's his fault not the teachers this school teaches real leadership without hazing or discipline this is the best school if your kid can be molded and I'd open to change its changed me I was not confident and I was weak now. I'm now strong and confident. this school is best if your kid wants to go into the military or business. The school is working towards reforming the barracks it is not poor but not rich for a school either It is what your kid makes of it remember it gears him towards the real world through hardship. Remember the true pheonix rises from the ashes. - submitted by a cadet senior and leader


Posted October 23, 2013

This school is absoulutely ridiculous, i get abused everyday by teachers, coaches, staff, and students as well. Coming to this school was the worst decision i have made in my entire life.


Posted September 15, 2013

This school has no standards for the children. Over thirty two thousand dollars are paid per year and the walls are falling apart. The cadets wonder where all the money is going to. They unfairly treat the cadets and I know this because I was a teacher here for 8 years now. The only reason I stayed was because the education was horrible when I got here. I want to help these children get an education for college. The teachers are not certified in my opinion because some of the teachers are college dropouts that graduated at the age of 40. This is ridiculous
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 4, 2013

The barracks are DEPLORABLE. We understand the age of the buildings, but parents should at least expect cleanliness. When we moved our son, the room was filthy. We had to scrub the floor/baseboards, empty the desk drawers of food/garbage and clean/disinfect the sink. The mattresses were stained, and the furniture was worn with scratches/scribbles. The oversight by the TAC during the year was minimal at best. Boys run the halls screaming and carrying on in the evening while we were trying to talk to our son on the phone. When we visited, clothes in some rooms were strewn about in a mess definitely not in compliance with the strict inspections that Hargrave claims to make regularly. The communal bathroom was disgusting. Two of the four showers did not have curtains for the first 5 weeks, the urinal was frequently broken, doors on the toilet stalls were removed, and towels were on the floor. (Too bad we can t post pictures!) We spoke multiple times to the TAC and school officials who promised results, but we saw no improvements. Be sure to bring cleaning materials and your elbow grease during move-in and for each visit because your complaints will land on deaf ears.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

HARGRAVE DID NOT DELIVER ON ANY OF ITS PROMISES IN MIDDLE SCHOOL! During supervised study hall each night, Hargrave promises that a faculty member will visit the student s room to check on homework completion and organization of notes/notebooks. We were horrified to learn after the first 6 weeks that our son s notebook binders for two core classes were empty!! Neither the study hall faculty nor the instructors themselves checked or asked about his notebooks or provided assistance with organizational skills. In fact, the faculty advisor assigned to our son failed to meet with him or provide us any feedback. We had discussions with teachers and school leaders, but they did NOTHING. Our confidence in Hargrave was totally shattered, and we seriously considered transferring our son to another school in early fall. However, a move would have been even more disruptive, so we stuck it out. The remainder of the year was equally as frustrating as Hargrave continually neglected its promises to parents. We hope we can prevent other parents from having a similar gut-wrenching experience and wasting hard-earned funds by deciding not to send your son to Hargrave in the first place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

my son attended HMA for 2 yrs. we sent a kid with mostly Cs, lacking in confidence with respect to school work and willing to find an excuse for failure. We got back a confident kid with high self-esteem , member of the honor roll society and also a recipient of the Colin Powell Leadership Award for excellence & discipline. Thanks HMA & Thanks Dr. Wheeler Baker wherever you are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

My son asked me to send him to a military academy his freshman year...it took him a whole year to convince me that it was the best thing for him. He is now in his senior year at Hargrave, he has grown into a thoughtful, motivated, outstanding leader! I am so proud of him, and eternally grateful to the tac officers and faculty members who have invested so much of themselves into their cadets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2010

Excellent school choice! Our son is in his first year there and it was the best decision we ever made! The leadership is excellent, from the teachers to the tactical officers, the coaches, and staff. They REALLY care about your son, unlike public high schools that are overcrowded. Small class sizes, a large number of varsity sports to get involved in, 100% college acceptance rate the past few years, etc. If you have a good kid he will be very successful at Hargrave. There are lots of good kids at Hargrave. It is definitely NOT for lazy parents as one person suggested. It is for parents who want the best for their son and are willing to make the financial and emotional sacrifice to give it to him. I love this school and even though my son does say he gets homesick, he, too, really loves it there. Excellent and highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

I went there one year and I still cant believe I went to that school. Worst year of my childhood. Now I'm a father of 2 beatiful kids, I dont know why any parent would not want to spend as much time as they could with there children. Hargrave is a easy out for bad and lazy parents. 85
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

Our son has attended HMA for the past 4 years (since 7th grade). We believe that it has been an excellent experience for him because of the structure, expectations, discipline, and small class size. He has not required any medication for his ADHD since enrolling due to the environment. Furthermore, occasionally he has struggled with subjects (math and Spanish) and has received additional help in the afternoons without missing his activities because the schedule is adapted for this type of situation. HMA's focus is development of the mind, body, and spirit, and they strive to mold their cadets into caring responsible young men.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

My son attended Hargrave for all 4 years of high school. He has thanked us for sending him! He played lacrosse and football the last several years, but he played soccer and tennis early on. He was in a downhill spiral with grades and was bullied at our public middle school. At Hargrave he EARNED his ranks and we saw his confidence soar. He is attending Auburn University in Alabama on an academic scholarship and teaching sailing at a YMCA camp this summer. Best money we've ever spent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

This school has been the world to me it has helped me succeed academically and athletically. I need the dicipline that HMA provided me with and as a result have become a very responsible and well rounded youg man. I have had the opportunity to play 8 or 9 different sports and the involvment and things to do outside of the classroom have expanded tramendously in the past 4 years that I have been there. I would recommend this school to anyone and also warn that you have to stick it out through the 9th and 10th grade. These are tough years because of the maturity of students at this age. HMA gives you what you need even if you don't particularly love it at a younger age. Class of '09
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

my son is now attending fall of 2008. He loves the experience and the structure. His grades have also improved drasticly over his grades in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

we sent our child there he was bullied made fun of and did not get the greatest grades. the teachers there seem to be well educated but do not stay on top of the students like they should the public school he went to stayed on top of there students more then hargrave did over all not a good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

My son went last year and hated it. It had poor staf, a bad headmaster, and lots of bullies. Just a bad place to send a child even if he needs diciplen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

This is a great school! If you are considering the military when you grow up, this is the place for you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2007

My son attended last year and we had multiple bad experiences. He was bullied by older students unhappy with their overcrowded schedule, and was harrassed repeatedly by one of his teachers outside of class for matters having nothing to do with class. The leadership lies repeatedly, telling parents what they think they want to hear and chases shamelessly after tuition money. There has been a huge, continuous turnover in faculty and staff due to the headmaster's poor leadership. The administration has discouraged local involvement, and has alienated the community. There have been many disciplinary irregularities where some kids have been allowed to stay after having committed worse offenses than others who have been dismissed. Stay away from this school. It has become a reform school tetering on the edge of bankruptcy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Our son just graduated from Hargrave. It was a wonderful experience for both him and us, his parents. This school is definitely a college prep school. My son was in the school's advanced diploma program, graduated with honors, did excellent on his SATs and was accepted to all of the colleges he applied to. In addition, he played varsity sports and participated in several extra-curricular activities. I can't say enough about the outstanding staff and teachers. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for an exceptional education experience for their son.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Military Drive
Chatham, VA 24531
Phone: (434) 432-2481

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Woodlawn Academy
Chatham, VA





White Oak School
Blairs, VA


Cassels School
Danville, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT