Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Christian School

Private | PK-6 | 96 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chesapeake

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

We feel so lucky to have found Cornerstone Christian School!! Each teacher truly has a calling to teach and nurture the children. They all love the kids and know every single one by name! The curriculum and academics are outstanding. The tuition price is very affordable and the teachers go above and beyond each and every day with a smile. What I love most of all, is the way my children feel at home here. Cornerstone Christian has our heart for sure. I only wish they offered a program up through middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

I'm sorry for the review below...I have had an opposite experience! My daughter LOVES Cornerstone!! She had an excellent teacher this year and always came home with stories of her "super fun" day. As far as the P.E. teachers, one moved and one left to take a full time job. The principal stepped in to teach P.E. while they were looking to fill the position. That's how the staff is there...they help each other and I really love that most of them know my child by name! If you want to send your child to a school where they are not overlooked or in a class with 25 other kids, then you should look into Cornerstone! It's a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

My kids went here for two years and it has gone down hill. Their is too much turnover of staff. There has been 4 gym teachers this year and the year isnt even half over. The school use to be so much better! Big dissappointment. I like that its a small school, but when you have an issue no one seems to care or take accountability to help! Dont waste your money!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2012

Cornerstone has a wonderful new principal this school year! There is a great "family" atmosphere! My child has been at the school for 3 years and we are so very happy that she is in a place where she is loved, nurtured and taught about the Lord as well as academics. She has great friends and loves coming to school! Cornerstone is small in size, but huge on caring for kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

We left this school after 8 years. The school aquired a new principal and though we feel God has a Hand in all He does, we feel the administration has chosen their own way of doing things. This, in turn, as changed the spirit that is inside to that of a very impersonable, irrational and uninterested one. Ask plenty of questions and don't be afraid to question other parents for their opinions as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

This was a great school and I would have recommended it up until the current leadership took over. The enrollment has dropped tremendously due to this and once the problem is taken care of, then I'm sure the school will be great again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

This school has it all! Great class room sizes, great teachers, great staff, great administration. This administration met my child's needs above and beyond. Other parents where with the old administration are not happy with the change for one reason or another but my family is truly blessed. We did public school last year and Cornerstone trumps public school and the high priced private schools. They truly care about their students and families. I would not trade Cornerstone for anything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2011

My kids have attended Cornerstone for 5 years. There is a strong sense of community between the engaged students, excellent staff/teachers and involved parents. Not only do they have a strong academic program, but they teach the children how to be hard-working, honest and loving people, something public schools are completely missing in their curriculum. I only wish they had an upper school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

This is a wonderful school with a small teacher student ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

My daughter has attended this school since pre-school and has done so well. We love the small school atmosphere and the personable teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1212 Willow Avenue
Chesapeake, VA 23325
Phone: (757) 424-7230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Daniels Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


St Matthew's School
Virginia Beach, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT