Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
594 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Greenbrier Christian Academy 2

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
This school was not good for my son we have moved him to public school this year. His teacher said that she did not have time to look at his planner, but she only had 16 students in the class. When we asked about testing for 504 or IEP the principal said that they did not do that.

Greenbrier Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
My son is now having to catch up on things at public school. Because this school makes their own curriculum thy do not teach to any kind of standard.


Greenbrier Christian Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
This school develops conformity. And does not want students that stand out or show determination. If you don't follow the norm then they don't want you.

Greenbrier Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
This school will take care of it's athlete's and the people that donate the most. But as a divorced father the school only wanted to listen with the mother and said that she had final say on all matters pertaining to school.

Greenbrier Christian Academy 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year at GCA. We wanted a Christian school where our children would get a great education but also be in an environment where their emotional and spiritual growth were important as well. We are so glad we found GCA! Both higher school divisions are wonderful, with the Directors and teachers always going above and beyond. The kids also love the after school program and never want to be picked up early because they are having so much fun!


Greenbrier Christian Academy 5

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
Our experience with GCA has been wonderful. We have seen a focus on academic excellence and preparing students in each phase of their development, on teaching students of God's love and truth, and on "partnering" with us as parents in raising a daughter well-prepared to folhigh whatever path God leads her to. In our experience attending and looking at different schools, GCA is different in that it seems like they are more concerned with staying true to their core values than in building a huge school, in terms of enrollment numbers. It feels like a family. My daughter loves it there and we have been very happy to see her academic and social growth! We highly recommend GCA!

Greenbrier Christian Academy 2

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
Nepotism at its finest "My way or Leave" administration mentality "Daddy Ball" sports programs combined with a lack organization Severe Lack of communication between departments and with families/students Lack of interest by teachers regarding a student's academic success Lack of college preparedness The good: a FEW teachers actually care... and pray with and for your student.

Greenbrier Christian Academy 1

Posted January 18, 2014
- a community member
the playground has safety hazard for the ground is covered with non rubber material. Also, the security level is low, teacher to student is ok, but just one teacher in one classroom, so no one oversees it. The best should be one teacher with one assistant.


Greenbrier Christian Academy 2

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
After having been associated with GCA for many years, I am so disappointed with the Administration. They definately have the my way or the highway mentality. How sad and just like the pharisees profess one thing but don't live it...forgiveness is not on their agenda. How sad that they would rather nit pick at issues than show the Christ-like spirit. Read their principles...Matthew 18 principle is far from the basis of how to handle problems. There are a handful of dedicated, loving, concerned teachers and administdative staff, but if you have a problem with a teacher, GCA will always side with them. Their board and most office staff are all related or inter-married...nepotism at its finest. How very sad to see all this done under the umbrella of "christianity".

Greenbrier Christian Academy 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
GCA is spiritually and academically minded. They encourage the families to partner with the teachers/staff in the training of the students to be godly role models while developing their talents to honor God with their lives.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenbrier Christian Academy
311 Kempsville Road, Chesapeake, VA  23320
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (757) 547-9595
Last modified Greenbrier Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top