Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hickory Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1456 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

Hickory Middle School's teachers and staff are wonderful. My daughter has been in honor classes 3 years now and she has had the best experience with these great teachers than any other school she has attended. As she leaves HMS, my son will start at HMS and I have no doubt he will also have 3 great years with the excellent staff provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

My daughter was a student here 2012-13 school year. I feel the school lacks responsibility and does not protect its students. My daughter has special needs and her disabilities were not addressed my the staff. Her 504 was rarely followed and the harassment and bullying was so severe that she spent more time out of class than in class. My daughter has trouble communicating on top of other physcial and learning issues and the teachers had no problem accepting blank papers and giving 0`s. How can i send her there again when she is just another # and her best interests are not even looked at?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

We just finished 7th and 8th grade and this school was great! Our daughter was inspired and motivated to reach her full potential academically with the exception of one teacher who I think was encouraged to "retire". Everyone else was amazing. They are completely successful at making sure a quiet student isn't lost in a big school atmosphere. The way they set up their teams really helps. Of course, their band program has nationwide recognition. They also don't seem to have any bullying or big discipline issues. We are thrilled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My son 1st year (6 grade) at Hickory Middle. He has a specific learning disability (dyslexic). Hickory's Middle School Asst. Principal - Mrs. Nancy Parke has been extremely supportive and believe she matched my son with the best group of 6th teachers for our son. My son's teachers are completetly understanding and truly looking out for him and helping him with his studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

This is our first year at HMS, it has been a great school. I have been pleased with the teacher's and coaches at this school. My child spoke favorably of other faculty members that were not a part of the child s curriculum. I would suggest this school to other parents and not to be afraid to meet and greet the faculty and voice any concerns. The faculty I found was open minded and address any of my concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

I have taught at another middle school and a high school, so Hickory is not the only academic atmosphere I know. I love my job! The teachers care about the students as much as, if not more than, the test scores. The students are top notch. Our school runs like a well-oiled piece of machinery which is amazing considering the amount of portable classrooms and number of students we have.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 1, 2007

We were involved in HMS for 2&1/2yrs and loved pretty much every moment there! The educators are top notch and foster a challenging learning environment. In honors classes, there were a lot of projects that really made you think about what you were doing, not simply 'cut&paste' a report of some kind. My son's self esteem shot through the roof while there. Dr. Koonce had a 'quiet control' of the kids while still managing to make you feel welcome. He was very involved in the activities of the school and he knew all the names of the kids(all 1800+!!) & knew a parents name &/or face as well. Overall positive experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2004

My family is very pleased with the Hickory schools. My daughter is in the Honor society and I couldn't be more proud. The school is involved with wonderful community projects for the students to become involved with. We moved to this school district because of its wonderful reputation. Unfortnately the only down side to these schools is the overcrowding. We will stay with these schools but only hope that they can come up with a plan to let all of these students stay in the schools they want to be in. But over all the schools are excellent! Oh one more thing... they need a fieldhockey team in the middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

485 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

12 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

519 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

519 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

559 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

518 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students89%
Male students88%
Black students75%
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial82%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students87%
Female students89%
Male students84%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial83%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students92%
Male students82%
Black students68%
Asian students70%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial88%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students72%
Female students76%
Male students69%
Black students60%
Asian students92%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial78%
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students84%
Male students79%
Black students69%
Asian students82%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial87%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

English: Writing

All Students79%
Female students85%
Male students72%
Black students65%
Asian students82%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial86%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students85%
Female students85%
Male students86%
Black students82%
Asian students100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial88%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Science

All Students91%
Female students89%
Male students93%
Black students81%
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial96%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students99%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female studentsn/a
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 3:28 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Deborah T. Hutchens
Fax number
  • (757) 421-0475

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1997 Hawk Blvd
Chesapeake, VA 23322
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 421-0468

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Moss Meadow School
Chesapeake, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT