Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Norfolk Highlands Primary School 2

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
This school has changed so much from what many may remember it as. There are some truly truly wonderful teachers in this school. However the school seems very closed off and the staff is very put off when you ask any questions in the office. The new principal as well as the assistant principal seem to really agree with you in a matter but only in the instant you are speaking to them! The lunch aid needs to be let go. She is extremely nasty with the children. The only thing I regret about leaving the school district is that my other children will not get to experience the wonderful kindergarten team. All the wonderful past experiences with the prior principal Beasley really is going to be missed. Also the PTA is pretty closed off as well, I was hopeful to be part of them but when I approached them at multiple open houses multiple years I realized it was best to stay away. Such a shame how much this school has changed. Please consider this when looking to send your children to this school.

Norfolk Highlands Primary School 5

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
Great staff, great school. Safe learning environment. Love that my kids can walk to school.


Norfolk Highlands Primary School 1

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
MUST READ! I'll make this short and sweet. I've had nothing but trouble with this school. Everytime a parent wants to speak to the ascendant priciple the so called dr. Is always in a meeting. Yeah well that's not true because she went running by me while I was signing in just to pretend she was In her office. She didn't know I saw her. She ended up walking up from behind me 30 seconds later. Be honest that what we need. Attention parents watch out for your child being tardy and some one signing off on it. Note. My name was forged and they said my child was tardy. My child was not tarty and we the parents didnt sign anything. To make it worse they wont show you you signature because there said there are other names on it. Really?! Grow up. Ive had one more instance where they lied to me and other parents. We really need change. Someone should investigate this school and make it right. I urge the other parents to post there troubles on here or somewhere online also so others that dont know will know. I know I will share my experiences. So far all negative. Good day.

Norfolk Highlands Primary School 2

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
Norfolk Highlands Primary is the most disorganized school. They switched my sons teacher and did not tell me. They lost his school pictures and acted like it was nothing and they told me I had to find out where they were. His jacket got misplaced I don't know how many times in both kindergarten and first grade. His pants got ripped they don't how it happend. He got hit in the face and they don't how that happened. He also had a special education teacher that was in his class to help him and other students. She left and now they have substitute teacher and they did not notify the parents about this change. When he started kindergarten they did not send us anything to let us know when there would be orientation. So we missed that. This year they sent us a letter stating he was starting kindergarten, but he was starting first. The principal needs to take a class on how to relate to children with austism because she just does not get it.

Norfolk Highlands Primary School 4

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Aside from an issue with the previous principal and gifted teacher, I would have to say the years my children have been at this school have been good. I have found that many of the other parents can be a bit exclusionary though. This will be the 5th year for me as an NHP parent, Mrs. Beasley as principal left quite a bit to be desired, especially following after Dr. Hutchens, who was well loved. I have high hopes for the new principal, Mrs. Smiley. We've been quite pleased with just about every member of staff we have encountered at this school, and some can be overlooked (like the horrible woman in the lobby).


Norfolk Highlands Primary School 5

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
Great Teachers and really care. My daughter loves it and I do also. The staff knows me by name and are great with the kids.

Norfolk Highlands Primary School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
Great School. If all schools could be this helpful, this caring, and this intelligent about their educational programs, this country would be so much better off.

Norfolk Highlands Primary School
no rating

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
Our family has been associated with Norfolk Highlands for 7 years. We have had three boys go through NHS and have 1st grader this year. Office staff truly cares about the students. The teachers sincerly desire for the students to succeed and become good citizens. The PTA is small but active. The one thing I am disappointed in is the level of involement from parents and it only gets worst the older the kids get. Great job Dr. Hutchens and staff. Wish I had a few more boys to start at Norfolk Highlands; we will have to wait for my Granddkids!!


Norfolk Highlands Primary School 1

Posted July 22, 2009
- a parent
Norfolk Highlands has always been a good small town school. The atmosphere has changed so much that I could not wait to get my son out of there. I would not send any child I care about to Norfolk Highlands.

Norfolk Highlands Primary School 5

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
my son dalton filmer started hos kindergarden here and he had a very enjoble time with this school ..they are very well mannerd and polite scjool i have seen thus far..i as a parent have had a pleaure being involved with the school funtions and pta ..thank you N H P for the great care and learning you and staff have givin my son hope that he is in the 1st grade as well ,,sincerly your flora

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norfolk Highlands Primary School
1115 Myrtle Ave, Chesapeake, VA  23325
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (757) 578-7092
Last modified Norfolk Highlands Primary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top