Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Chesapeake, VA
Students enrolled: 801

5 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cedar Road Elementary School 4

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
For whatever reason, my previous post was deleted or reported. I agree with the March 2014 parent regarding struggling child. Last year our experience was horrible, but this year the complete opposite. So, I guess it all goes back to the personality or effectiveness of the teacher. This school acts like its a magnet school and the majority of emphasis is placed on exceeding other schools in SOL testing and less emphasis on children developing and being kids.

Cedar Road Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Cedar Road Elementary is a wonderful school with caring staff and teachers that go above-and-beyond everyday. My first-grader started school at a beginning first grade reading level and is now ending the year reading at a third grade level! All of the teachers we know in the school have been at CRE for years and love what they do. The PTA is very active and regularly provides additional scholastic and recreational programs for the students. We also appreciate the overall feeling of community in the school between all the students from Kindergarten through 5th grade.


Cedar Road Elementary School 3

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
Overall friendly teachers and staff. However, If you have a child that struggles sometime in their learning experience, don't expect the appropriate help, nor detailed communication. The teacher will take serious action without involving the parents. A frustrated teacher means a bad experiences for the child and parents. disappointed.

Cedar Road Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. My kids especially love this school which makes me happy. They have had wonderful teachers and the parent involvement is amazing! I'd pay extra for a home in this area for the school.

Cedar Road Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
We moved to this area 10 years ago so our oldest could start kindergarten at Cedar Road Elementary. She had the best teachers and was very prepared for Middle school. Our youngest is now in fourth grade and I'm as happy with his education as I was with hers!! I highly recommend this school if you are trying to decide where to live in order for your child a great public school experience and education!!


Cedar Road Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
I love CRE! The school surpassed my expectations of public school. I am glad that they have not conformed into the isolated model of schools today. The employees are happy, sincere, and still care. God is still touching this schools heart! I was surprised that for Kindergarten my 5 year old was behind because he couldn't read site words and such starting out. By the end of the year he was fine, but I had only taught him letters, numbers, how to spell his name, colors, and shapes. I apparently was delusional about the requirements of todays youth. I do not like that the primary focus is on SOL scores and not learning for the long run. That is more of a state wide problem than a school specific issue. We had no problems with violence or unruly children. This school rocks!

Cedar Road Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
Ms Powell remains to be an amzing teacher. She was my daughters teacher in 2007-2008 school year. She is now my sons teacher and she is simply one of the greatest teachers of all! Great asset to Cedar Road Elementary!

Cedar Road Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2011
- a parent
Great school with a small-town feel. VERY active parents and PTA. I have three children attending school at CRE and I couldn't be happier.


Cedar Road Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2010
- a parent
Great school love the teacher's and staff they really go above and beyond to help your children in their learning experience great programs for the kids to learn very family oreinted school

Cedar Road Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
This school is great! My daughter started Kindergarten there this year and I am amazed how at how far she has come along. Mrs. Harrington and her assistant, Mrs. Russell are fantastic. They really care about each individual student and getting any extra help they may need. I feel like my daughter was challenged; however, never left behind even when she was having a difficult time. Great communication with parents and the school offers SO much extra for the kids to do. We've had a great year! Thank you. Great teachers make a world of difference!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cedar Road Elementary School
1605 Cedar Rd, Chesapeake, VA  23322
(757) 547-0166
Last modified Cedar Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cedar Road Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top