Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Greenbrier Primary School

Public | PK-2 | 682 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

Greenbrier Primary school is a terrific school. My three children attended this school and it was a wonderful experience for each of them. The staff and teachers work closely together to give their students a great learning environment. The school has up to date books for the Accelerated Reading program, a nice fenced in play ground, and plenty of opportunities for parent involvement. We love GRP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

Extremely disappointed with the PTA - They don't act on input from parents, they are disorganized and they set up the class concerts terribly. Most parents couldn't even see their child. This school has no gym and their cafeteria acts as their auditorium... Certain teachers are good, but others are terrible and do not want parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

The teacher my daughter has at this school is wonderful. If the administrative staff wasn't so rude the overall experience would be much better. There is no need for top administration to talk down to parents. Very discouraging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

My child has been in K and 1st grade at this school. The student teacher ratio is abysmal. This school has no idea how to properly run a fundraiser. No matter the event (fall festival, breakfast with Santa, etc.) you are forced to pay $5 a ticket for each person in your family, or $20 max for a family larger than four. Because it was ridiculous to pay $20 to have a cheap breakfast with Santa, we didn't even go. However, I would have paid for $10 for just my two children to participate while my husband and I sat with them. I was told this was not an option. There was no description of activities at the Fall Festival, and you're forced to buy tickets in advance, so we decided not to go to that either. They also have a ridiculous amount of products for the children to sell during the year (candles, entertainment books, etc.) I understand the school needs money, but when the children don't go on field trips, teachers are CONSTANTLY asking for basic supplys like soap and paper towels, and the school doesn't hold very many family centric activities, parents become jaded on constantly donating money. I would love to donate my time, but the school doesn't seem to use volunteers too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

My son entered 1st grade at this school after 4 years in an excellent private school. After the 1st semester, all my worries vanished. GP is a great school and takes academics seriously, reading in particular. Dedicated staff and teachers. I only wish that their playground would be fenced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

My son attended a supposed top rated school in Virginia Beach where they did nothing for him except send home nasty grams his kindergarten and first half of first grade. Within 3 weeks of transferring to GPS, he was implemented into the Child Study Committee where he was diagnosed as being autistic. The staff went through a great deal with my son with outside social workers, EVMS Dr's, guidance counselors, prinicpal was involved, etc. Without the staff at GPS, my son would still be struggling at that highly rated VBPS. His teachers in first grade and second grade at GPS, have been very involved, and played a huge role in obtaining his diagnosis and implementing the IEP he needed. Moving to Chesapeake and transferring my son was the BEST possible thing I could have ever done for him!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

I would not recommend my child to this school!!!! The parent to teacher communication is very poor and if your child has problems in school then they say that it is a learnig disablity. They are very rude and short with parents who have concerns or options about their teaching methods. I agree with the other parents they are not warm and fuzzy. Also it all depends on the teacher.... pray that you can find a good one or get out as soon as you can!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2010

I have a child in 2nd grade and one in kindergarten here. In a time when many programs are being cut, this school offers so much. They have art, music, computer, and P.E. classes. The library is great and the A.R. program is encouraged. The guidance counselor has workshops for kids of divorced parents, deployed family members, etc. There is a speech therapist and school nurse on staff. Children are recognized for being star students and for good character. Their names are announced over the intercom on birthdays. Parental involvement in the classrooms is encouraged and appreciated. The PTA is active and offers numerous activities throughout the year. I can not say enough about this school! Children are encouraged to become well rounded individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

I agree with the comment about not being warm and fuzzy. The academics are dependent upon the teacher. The principal and some staff, unfortunately, do not act appreciative of volunteer support. The seem to forget that volunteers are not getting paid and are only trying to make the school better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

The staff and curriculum are above average and very involved. I worked with a contract program and had the honor of working with the teachers in this school with a special ed program.


Posted February 24, 2009

I have not been very impressed with the reading program at this school. I have often been surprised by the constant negative tone of letters that are sent home by the teachers. Not a big warm fuzzy school, but Ok on academics as long as you end up with the right teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

Mrs. Hannah is the very best! Mr. Barnes, the principal always has a warm greeting for the students and parents. There is a receptionist in the front who always has a smile on her face. I can't say enough about GPS...great great school! One of the best public schools around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

My daughter is now in 2nd grade and again this year, loves to go to school. She learned to love reading and was upset that AR didn't begin until October! Thank you to everyone at GPS for all of your hard work and time and attention to give on a daily basis to our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:14 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Elizabeth S. Stublen
Fax number
  • (757) 436-0208
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1551 Eden Way South
Chesapeake, VA 23320
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 436-3428

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT