Advertisement
Advertisement

Montessori Academy of Virginia

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chesapeake

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $214,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2013

The staff at MAV is loving, and has taken the time to know my personally know my child. Everyone from the director to Ms. Michelle at the front desk to various TAs and even the custodian knows my child by name, and takes the time to speak to her when she approaches them. The school is clean, welcoming, and bright. The education my daughter receives is excellent. She has higher level thinking skills that surpass children years older than her. The class structure and rigor are good for her, and are balanced by the free activity time she has at the end of the school day. I strongly recommend MAV -- not just for the early education years, but for beyond as well. Teaching a child to LOVE to learn is challenging, and somehow this method taps into the motivation aspect behind learning. I only wish there were also a MAV secondary school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Didn't get right answer about fees. Different people telling me deffrent-different every time .get everything on writing before you pay for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

This is our fifth year attending MAV. I have two kids (2nd grade and pre-k). The teachers they have had are the best I can ask for. The lower elementary teacher, in particular, is just the best there is and it'd be in MAV's best interest to hang on to and never let her go. My youngest's teacher is a warm, caring person who loves her students. Both my kids are well above grade level and love every minute of going to school. I love that everything is at their pace and there is freedom of movement around the classroom. It has been a fantastic learning environment for my girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

My child attended this school during the summer program and I wasn't pleased. For the price you pay, you aren't getting what you are promised during the tour or pay for. There is no refrigerator or microwave for the mandatory lunches that the children must bring daily. The teachers really don't have much of a personality and seem to care less about the whole child. I believe that they hire just about anyone who says they've heard of Montessori to "teach" during the summer. My child and others in the youngest class of the center were often intimidated and lost amongst the oldest children in the center during free play in the gym during after care. Overall, this school gets an 'E' for effort. By the way, where is the Montessori certification for this place??? I found nothing legit for them under the AMI or AMS...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

My child has gone to this school for 3 years. It is an excellent education! Contrary to popular belief about Montessori, the teachers are very structured in the classroom. She has learned so much at this school, but that is because she loves to learn and enjoys what the world has to offer! Although the staff I have encountered the most is not as friendly and conducive to adults, they treat my child well and she loves them! It is incredible to see what and how the children learn here- and not just academics but socializing and life skills are important here too! I am very impressed with the school and how it treats my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

I was not aware about the review my wife posted. So yesterday, the director pulled us into the office after we picked up our son to ask my wife about the review she posted online.I was a bit flabbergasted.I couldn t believe that he wanted to speak to her about a review.He wanted to defend what my wife stated about the child who threw his socks and shoes off, then was punished by sitting on the floor by the front desk.Honestly, he still could not justify their actions.1st, I did not choose this school for my son, my wife did.If I did, my son wouldn't have gone there. The tuition is too high.The tuition does not include lunch, snacks, or a refrigerator.According to the director, he does not consider the Flu a reason to notify parents. He said that it is like the common cold.We should've been notified. Children have died from this year s strand.When my son caught the flu, he had a fever that did not break until 2 weeks later & he was out of school for 3 weeks. Soon after, my wife & I caught it causing a financial strain from being out of work.I don t see a significant improvement in my son. My wife also teaches our son quite a few things at home. My son is NEVER eager to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

My child attended this school for their summer camp and regular school year. I wish that I observed other schools before sending my child to this school. The teachers and staff are very cold and they do not have much of a personality which also reflects on the children. I decided on this school because I have heard good things about the teachings in a Montessori school. My son learned more at home than at this school. I did not see a difference in his education/knowledge. I was very disapointed. In addition, the way they disapline is very disturbing. I went to the school to drop of my child's lunch box and there was a 2 or 3 year old boy sitting on the floor by the front desk with no socks and shoes on. I was told by the woman who works the front desk, Michelle, that he threw them off in class and now he is being punished. Why didn't they put on his shoes and socks? In addition, my son was sick more times than I can count because of this school. I was never notified about other children with the flu before my son became ill. Also, they do not have a refrigerator. I think every school should at least have a refrigerator. My child tells me that he hates going to school. :-(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

All 3 of my children attend MAV and it is truly wonderful. The staff are amazing, loving, and take the time to know my children personally. I always know they are safe and in good hands. The school is clean, bright, and welcoming. The education they receive is excellent- my 2 year old can even sing in Japanese- and is definitely a school I recommend to everyone. I think some people think the Montessori method allows your child too much free reign but the choosing of activities by your child is only a small part of the day. The classes and staff are actually very structured yet they still nurture creativity and personal growth. Definitely take a tour to see the school for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

My daughter went to MAV from ages 2-6 and absolutely LOVED it. And so did I. Teachers are warm, kind, and truly knowledgeable. She got an amazing academic education, as well as lessons on compassion, kindness and respect. Thank you MAV. You're truly the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

My daughter has attended this school for three years. It is FANTASTIC. Principal, teachers, aftercare...all staff is to notch. If you want you child to learn AND learn to love learning, this is the place to send them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1468 Kempsville Rd
Chesapeake, VA 23320
Phone: (757) 436-3995

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tallwood Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA



Centerville Elementary
Virginia Beach, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT